1989 Peugeot 309 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1989 Peugeot 309 GE 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carTalbot Horizon

Summary:

Reliable, spacious workhorse

Faults:

Head gasket blown (40,000 miles).

Driveshaft gaiter split (50,000 miles).

Battery replaced (10 years old!)

General Comments:

This would have been an excellent car if only it was built to a decent standard, but it has been plagued with body rattles and oil leaks virtually from new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th June, 2000

1989 Peugeot 309 GTi 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Escort XR3i

Summary:

One of the best handling cars for the money!

Faults:

Manifold cracked around one branch (a new one was £56 not Peugeot!!!), due to engine torque converter being worn.

Downpipe flange - backbox corroded and replaced (new downpipe - £60); tyres - especially fronts; new discs @ 98'000 and pads, plus a lot of oil!!!

General Comments:

These cars get very thirsty for oil, especially at high mileages. Due to complex and unnecessary breather pipes!!

Power steering is well adjusted and while I have had the car it has outperformed an RS turbo and also the smaller brother of the 309, the 205 GTi!!! 130mph has been known to be achieved and 0-60 in around 8 secs is not unheard of!! Better to go for the Goodwood as they have come down in price - or if a standard is sought, go for the ones with a full compliment of front fogs that work and an earlier type with the old shape (black spoiler), as these will not have a catalytic converter - slightly more frugal and cheaper to run!!! You won't find a cheaper car with the performance and handling as standard!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2000

26th Oct 2001, 14:42

My 309 GTi is very good, I love it but it annoys me how rattly the interior gets even though it is well looked after. It's an E-reg and has done 100,000, I paid £600 for it 2 years ago and although it has little problems here and there, it's been wicked.

One thing, I had shocks and springs changed all round which sorted the handling again, but seemed to ruin the interior (rattle wise). Any ideas? But anyway, great car, would like to get one of the last L-reg 16v ones.

1989 Peugeot 309 SRi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

A wolf in sheeps clothing

Faults:

Head gasket.

General Comments:

Great fast little car with cheap insurance for what it is. Has the ability to pull away from lots of more expensive cars with larger engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2000

29th Jan 2001, 06:53

The handling of this car is amazing as well. I can take local corners the same speed in this with virtually no roll, as I would in my previous car, when losing the rear end.

Stuart

9th Apr 2001, 03:22

Just bought the SRi two days ago. Yesterday I raced an 180BHP P-Reg Escort and I'm sorry to say, I completely blew him into the hedge. This car is VERY quick for what it is, and damn cheap to insure, especially for someone without a no claims bonus and only been driving a year. Wolf in sheeps clothing is an understatement... if you see one for sale, don't dog it 'till you try it.

27th Apr 2001, 04:08

A brilliant car, I ran one for 5 years, managed to exceed the speed limits (where safe) and never got caught!

Am also putting my comments on the site.

1989 Peugeot 309 GLD 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

I bought the car with 134,000 miles, three years and 50,000 miles ago. Since then I've replaced the radiator, the front to rear brake pipe (you have to drop the fuel tank to do this), two sets of brake pads, the whole exhaust, the pulley end seal in the injection pump and then the whole injection pump when the bearings smashed up, one set of injectors, two cam belts and an alternator belt and one head gasket.

Also two track rod ends and one drive shaft gaitor and very soon the offside drive shaft will have to be replaced.

General Comments:

Until I wrote the above list I didn't realise the amount of work I have done on this car in the last three years. I suppose these jobs are to be expected on a car of this age and mileage. I think the diesel is very good and economical but is very expensive if it goes wrong so it probably is no cheaper to run in the long run although they do seem to hold value better than a petrol car.

The car is very comfortable on a long drive but there's a bit of noise from the door seals.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 1998

7th Feb 2001, 10:41

I've also got a 309 GLD and it's a VERY RELIABLE MOTOR. The last year mind I've done 2 wheel bearings, 2 driveshafts, new calipers, new rear brake cylinders, re-wired the engine bay, clutch, driveshaft carry bearing and then the usual stuff like servicing and a new cam belt!!

To top that off I smashed it and replaced the whole front end! I must admit they're good cars and they quite happily run for hours at 80 - 90 mph, but after spending 6k on bodywork with all the Ecosse treats on it, I just can't part with it. Next will be the diesel turbo conversion and perhaps the performance may be similar to a 1.3 petrol!!!

1989 Peugeot 309 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Passenger side door, repeatedly sticks. Small problem but can be annoying.

Front track controls on left side needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

First car owned. Comfortable car over long journeys and good performance for 1.3 engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

1989 Peugeot 309 GL 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

New water pump at 50,000 miles and just about every hose in the cooling system has sprung a leak.

Gets though the outer walls of front tires in less than 10,000 even though I have had the tracking checked. Rear tyres last forever!!!! Evidently common to this model. Otherwise very reliable and cheap to maintain.

General Comments:

A bit too much plastic and sadly no central locking. Otherwise a very comfortable car to drive with fun predictable handling and very good brakes and gearbox. A sound cheap to run family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 1998

1989 Peugeot 309 GLX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing you wouldn't expect of a car this age. Split coolant hose, starter motor replaced, clutch cable replaced, untraceable oil leak.

Main design fault is a water leak into the boot. Apparently a common fault.

General Comments:

The car isn't very accelerative, but the engine is torquey and pulls well from low revs. Mid-range acceleration acceptable. Fifth gear a little low for motorways; 4000 rpm @ 80mph.

Interior attractive, roomy, but build quality mediocre. Plenty of rattles and creaks. Nice seats with GLX trim.

Ride smooth, comfortable. Excellent handling, but can oversteer if you lift off at the limit, particularly in the wet. Fun if you expect it, potentially scary if you don't. Dry grip good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 1997

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 24 reviews