1990 Peugeot 309 Style 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Economical, tough, with a bit of power when you need it

Faults:

Sun roof seal has perished.

Exhaust is making noise.

Cassette on the stereo stopped working.

General Comments:

The Peugeot is solid. It hasn't got great electrics (pretty basic even when compared to an older Nissan Micra) but it is solid with a decent engine.

It's got enough power to get you, two mates and a pile of computers to do 92 on the motorway, although the acceleration could be better.

Easy to maintain also, although you do need to do it - neglect is not a good idea!

Seals, particularly sun roof and boot, need maintaining carefully.

Furnishings wear well.

A good car all in all, but don't expect too many fancy extras. (i.e. electric windows, decent stereo, power steering)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

1990 Peugeot 309 Peugeot 1.6 petrol GL from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fair overall, but do get known faults checked if buying one, especially head gasket problems

Faults:

Alternator.

Fuel pump.

Windscreen washer (Electric pump?)

Radiator (radiator block caused head gasket failure, but head gasket failure known 309/Peugeot/Citroen fault)

Hand brake cable seized.

Piston rings (this year 2003) at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

Good handling and ride.

Comfortable seats.

Comfortable driving position.

Quite economic.

Quite roomy.

Nice to drive.

Smooth.

Quiet.

Reasonable insurance (British group 7)

Fairly brisk performance, even carburetor model.

Good all round vision (better than Peugeot 206, I know cos' I've driven a 206)

Spares can be reasonable (but not general electrical gear, for example alternator)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

1990 Peugeot 309 GTi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap and fun a brilliant first car

Faults:

The car needed a new exhaust and was overheating. The overheating was caused by a faulty earth connection which blew the fuse every time the fan tried to come on. It won't start now when it has warmed up. It will jump start though.

General Comments:

Good handling, but not in the wet.

Performance is good and is as quick as most hot hatches don't try and mess with the big boys in M3's they make you look stupid!

Insurance is loads cheaper than a 205.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd September, 2002

1990 Peugeot 309 GTi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap performance car with great handling

Faults:

The Head gasket blew at 125000 miles.

Power Steering pipe split.

New radiator at 129000 miles.

General Comments:

Quite simply the best handling car I've ever owned.

The engine had previously been rebuilt by Skip Brown and the suspension lowered by 30mm so the performance is incredible.

Not the most reliable car and the running costs high, but the price of parts are relatively cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2002

1990 Peugeot 309 GR 1.6 petrol (Gasoline) from France

Summary:

Extremely reliable though not flashy - a true friend

Faults:

Almost nothing. It seems that every three years I have to replace one of the CV joints. Nothing has gone wrong with the motor, however. There are a few annoyances with the interior -- glove box door, which I finally replaced; map light; fuse box door flops down; but, hey, this car costs little or nothing to operate beyond oil changes and fuel fill-ups.

General Comments:

I put seat covers on when I bought it, so the seats still look good as new.

The paint job is still superb.

Always starts, first time, every time.

I've been very faithful with preventive maintenance, particularly oil changes. Still, I have the impression that this little may outlast its owner!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

1990 Peugeot 309 GTi 1.9 fuel injected from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A fast fun car that's big enough for the family

Faults:

Starter motor solenoid was sticking at 55000 miles.

Distributor not fully advancing at 64000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car and will never sell it.

It handles like a dream and is quick enough to have fun without being dangerous.

It has been very reliable, but it is starting to show some problems with wear and tear with a reconditioned rear beam being required last year, and a new radiator this year.

Build quality is not that bad, but they do suffer from minor rattles and brittle plastic parts.

The cabin noise is fairly high, but my K&N induction filter makes things worse. I do not mind the noise as it tells you what the car is doing.

Spares are very expensive, but are good quality in general.

Service charges from a main dealer are high, but my car is serviced by Skip Brown Cars in Cheshire, a superb independent, rally acclaimed dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2001

1990 Peugeot 309 GL 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap way to get wheels

Faults:

Drive-shafts needed replacing just after I bought the car.

Several problems with brakes needing replacement parts.

General Comments:

Cheap to run, cheap to insure, and handles reasonably well. Seats are uncomfortable on long trips, and the car struggles with more than one passenger. Motorway cruising is not impossible though.

Very, very reliable - the car's been in my family for 10 years, and has never broken down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

1990 Peugeot 309 GRDT 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Economical performance car

Faults:

Radiator corroded.

Exhaust @ 250k.

Rear brake cylinders every 125k.

Shock absorbers @ 120k.

Clutch @ 200k.

CV joints @ 170k.

Windscreen easily pitted.

Car well worn at 325k.

General Comments:

Fitted an intercooler to the engine which gave GTI type performance but retained the economy.

Heavier anti-roll bar in the front improved cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2000

5th Dec 2002, 10:11

Could the writer of this review please tell me how he fitted his intercooler to his 309 GRDT as I would like to do the same to mine. Thanks!

1990 Peugeot 309 Look 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A reliable, economic car

Faults:

Clutch.

Front brake pads.

General Comments:

The lighter colour models look much better.

Resistant to rust, reliable and roomy. Only broken down once. Quite economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2000

1990 Peugeot 309 Look (Special Edition) 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Only a broken indicator stalk!!!

And it's never been dealer serviced!!

General Comments:

Very reliable, a bit noisy, good fun to drive even if a little sluggish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

14th Feb 2001, 13:33

Just got one filled it with speakers, sounds cool.

Leigh

4th Jul 2001, 18:21

The Peugeot 309 has got to be one of the best kept secrets about, no rust on my J-reg gray metallic auto GL, superb.

1990 Peugeot 309 GL 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing until it hit 90,001 miles and the clutch cable snapped much to my amusement.

General Comments:

A good motor, reliable and cheap to run, I just love the hot start ignition, but can be a bit sluggish especially with passengers in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 1998