1991 Peugeot 309 Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1991 Peugeot 309 GLD 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115065 miles
Most recent distance115600 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

A good fast standard diesel

Faults:

Nothing yet, but does seem reliable, only have had it 4 days so far.

General Comments:

Seems very quick for a diesel car, driver door has dropped a little, but all rest OK, good condition inside just have to get a speaker casing for driver side and get a aeriel for it, but nothing else wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

1991 Peugeot 309 GLX 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance68520 miles

Summary:

Amazing car for all ages

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

It is amazing.

General Comments:

This car is amazing. I am a new driver, and think that this car is far superior to the Ford Focus in which I learnt. I would recommend this car to everyone. There is a model to suit everyone.

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2002

16th Oct 2002, 11:18

Welcome to the wonderful world of French automotive machinery! :-)

It is a very under-estimated vehicle, excellent handling & willing engines, but just wait until you get to try a Citroen BX16v... quite simply awesome! Even more so when you see how cheap they are.

1991 Peugeot 309 GLD 1.9 diesel from India

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 kilometres
Most recent distance158000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice to look at, practical to run, solid

Faults:

Rubber boots for the drive shaft had to be replaced as they had cracked.

Left side steering tie-rod end broke, replaced.

Front windshield has developed a crack due to flying stone, has to be replaced.

General Comments:

Very sturdy, almost like the Hindustan Ambassador (nee Morris Oxford of 1957) still made in India. I have driven it through slush, mud, dust, crater size potholes etc., in the Indian rural hinterland.

The XUD9 1.9 Diesel engine is still going very strong after 158000 km and pulls away and away each time.

Have touched 130 Kph on a stretch of highway here (very rare occurrence in India, what with cattle, camel carts, wandering villagers, dogs, bicyclists etc. on the best highway).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2002

13th Nov 2003, 06:32

I've had my peugeot 309 gld since 1988 I am the second owner, its done 224.000 thousand miles, let me down twice in that time, i am well pleased.

14th May 2010, 04:07

I own a Peugeot 309 in Goa and I find it a good car to own and drive. It has a torquey engine and gives good economy. I have touched a speed of 160 KMPH on a deserted highway. It makes heads turn in Goa as it is one of the unique cars here and it makes a nice "GRUNT" when it is revved. I feel that the only thing missing in it is a "Turbocharger".

1991 Peugeot 309 GTi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Quick car, but a little boxy to look at

Faults:

The Air Flow Box was faulty when I bought the car. The previous owner had it super chipped and took it out when I bought it. A new one cost £150, second hand, £15.

Don't try and have a go at putting new pedals on (e.g racing pedals) as the original one's are a bugger to drill through.

Paint work was alright although the bonnet was badely faded. The rest buffs up well.

Body kits are poor and not worth the transformation.

General Comments:

It's a fast drive to begin with, but like all cars, you get used to the speed.

Fantastic around corners with little lean.

Seats are comfortable particularly the drivers as it has a lumbar support and interior is fine, still retaining the original black finish on dash etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

1991 Peugeot 309 GLX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

Excellent handling and comfort at half the price!

Faults:

Rusty Exhaust when first purchased.

When the interior heater is turned on full it tends to squeak.

Sometimes have difficulty getting into Reverse gear. I've found this on a few cars I've driven, usually helps to leave the clutch down for a few seconds before selecting the gear.

The valves tend to chatter when under load. After reading an article on the Internet, it seems this is a common problem for 309s built in the early 1990s. Valve clearances can be dealt with at a garage, but can be costly.

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars I've ever driven.

The interior, although slightly dated in colour and design, is extremely hard wearing.

Excellent performance for a 1.3 engine, with good acceleration in all gears, even 5th.

Good fuel economy, although this can change if the car is not well maintained.

I learnt to drive in this car, and although its bigger than the average learner drivers Fiesta or Corsa, the good handling makes it a really easy car to drive. The good cabin and boot space, and affordable price gives it a wide appeal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

26th Aug 2002, 20:15

Are you sure the valve clatter is just under load? It is normal for the 1.1 and 1.3 309's valves to clatter - in fact, the engine was famed for its rattly valve gear!! I've now got my third 309 1.3 and the valves clatter when idling, in all gears, under load or while coasting! The difficulty is distinguishing valve clatter from pinking - not common on this particular engine, but if it clatters while under load it could be worth checking out. I say the valve clatter is the secret to the good economy!

Another trick if you are planning to keep the car is to change the front springs for GTI ones (205 or 309 - the parts are quite interchangeable) as they fit straight in and make the car seem less floaty over bumps and it also helps to combat that horrendous body roll - roundabouts at 30 mph are now actually possible in my car! The only drawback is that you do feel the bumps much more, but I think it is well worth it!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews