1991 Peugeot 309 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1991 Peugeot 309 GL 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carOpel Monza

Summary:

Cheap, capable, reliable car passed over in favour of more modern-looking designs

Faults:

Glove box catch failed, leaving lid open.

When starting, starter motor does not catch 1 time in 10, probably just a worn tooth.

Looks like car had boot leak before I got it.

Radio aerial fallen off.

Auto choke sometimes cuts off a bit too early, car will then occasionally stall with high when electrical load.

General Comments:

Car has been 100% reliable. Accidentally drove it for almost a year with one HT head off. Thought car was a bit slower, but it never became unreliable.

Non-PAS steering light and responsive. Car has not been serviced for 2+ years (apart from oil changes) but feels as lively as the day I got it.

Doesn't grip the road too well, but I blame cheap tyres for this. Light weight means flimsy feeling, but great performance.

Interior lets the car down, it is tacky and cheap looking, despite it being a face-lifted model. Rear lights modelled on 405's, but too narrow to look good. I've grown quite fond of the styling though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

1991 Peugeot 309 GTi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99800 miles
Most recent distance99900 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Mint condition french tart

Faults:

Faults with the car are ones that I already knew existed when I bought it.

It has needed a new anti-roll bar drop link.

New fan belt and adjustment bracket.

Idle valve faultyish.

General Comments:

Though I have not had this car for very long, I am thoroughly enjoying it. While straight line performance is not brown trouser fast, it is certainly swift. It is on country roads and corners where it really comes good. The handling is excellent, certainly better than the 205 GTi's, and the insurance is lower to boot.

I have been looking for a classic eighties hot hatch for quite some time that is in good condition, full service history and entirely unmodified. Finally I have found it in this lovely car. Hopefully reliability will not be too much of a problem as it has had services every 6000 miles from new. It really is a forgotten classic and a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2001

26th Sep 2001, 18:52

The starter motor solenoid has started sticking and it is right annoying. Also the suspension needs dealing with.

7th May 2003, 13:51

I own a 309 gti goodwood. I bought it about 18 months ago and all work on it has been carried out myself. I have nearly restored it to a real good condition as it seemed the previous owners did not care too much about it. Full respray as well as a engine rebuild has been carried out, but I still can't get it to idle right any ideas?

5th Jun 2003, 07:12

Check the valve timing if the car doesn't idle right.

21st Dec 2004, 11:55

Check the supplementary air device on Pug GTis if the idle is unstable. Clamping the air hose coming from it will raise the cold idle speed if it is knackered, making the car driveable when cold. The downside is that the car will idle at 2000rpm+ when it is warm. Alternatively clean/replace the air device.

1991 Peugeot 309 GTi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Fast piece of crap

Faults:

Well I've only had the car three months and its been an absolute nightmare.

All the normal items fuel pressure reg, starter motor, breather hoses, brake pads.

Very noisy rear suspension. Just found out that the engine has been previously modified (different bottom end).

General Comments:

Very heavy on fuel & engine oil.

This car achieves around 25mpg driven sensibly and that's 4 star alternative.

I am now going to cut my losses and purchase a smaller, cheaper to run car.

Don't buy an older performance 205 or 309 GTI with too many owners and too many modifications.

Believe me, it's cost a lot of time and money to find this out.

For me this has been a harsh learning lesson considering this is my 8th car, and I'm over 30 years young. Well I think we all get stung at least once within the second hand car buying market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2001

1st Dec 2001, 10:14

Your problems sound familiar, but 70k is a difficult time of life for any 309. The rear trailing arm bearings and damper bushes are probably gone, the inlet manifold is probably full of oil breather deposits (makes a big difference), the mixture and timing may have been poorly adjusted (crucial on all 1.9's) and the piston rings don't like too many cold starts. All of these things are DIY if you're keen, but if you're not you'll have to turn your back on a great mix of true "handling" and practicality for not a lot of money.

3rd Jul 2005, 15:44

Pity you feel that the modified car you purchased was to blame for your bad purchase in the 2nd hand car market. A standard 309 gti unmodified is a rare car I know, but if you try one they are a fantastic handling and quick understated car. Perhaps get somebody to help you buy a 2nd hand car next time rather than blame you bad judgment on a car that is value for money in sports performance.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews