1993 Peugeot 405 Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1993 Peugeot 405 GRDT 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Worthwhile buy if your going to keep it for the long haul

Faults:

Engine oil leak from turbo inlet pipe- not terminal, but expensive to fix.

Gearbox replaced @ 180 000 miles. Gearbox not too expensive, but as everything with this car, the fitting of it is expensive.

Radiator replaced @ 175 000 miles, very difficult to fit.

Electric windows & sunroof aren't working at all- from approx 170 000 miles on-wards.

Brakes don't last too long, especially the front pads- been having trouble with the handbrake also.

The suspension bushes can be very costly also.

General Comments:

Engine is awesome, now that I've replaced the radiator & gearbox it should run & run.

Don't get this car unless it's got a turbo- even when fully loaded it works well on the motorway.

Gives decent fuel economy when you're not using the turbo constantly.

It's an estate- loads of room.

Handles o.k, but the steering & suspension could have been a bit tighter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

1993 Peugeot 405 GLX 2.0 from Iran

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

It's a perfect car

General Comments:

In Iran it comes in few options. with a 2000 cc engine and in two models. GL and GLX. The GLX version has A|C and electric front windows and electric mirrors. But GL version has not. they have no other difference. The car will be produced in Iran till 2005.and costs about 14000 US Dollars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

1993 Peugeot 405 Mi-16 1.9 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance91000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Highly underrated sedan

Faults:

No faults so far.

General Comments:

I have wanted to own one of these cars for a while. There seems to be some mixed opinion about them. Mostly due to reliability issues. But so far it has been a joy to drive. They are not startling at lower revs, but once on a winding section of road you will soon be smiling from ear to ear. See the startled looks in the rear view mirror of the Subaru driver when you stick with them. Magic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2002

18th Jan 2006, 15:06

Was it a subaru justy 1.2?

8th Feb 2006, 16:45

Don't think so mate! They guy must have thought it was a waste of petrol to chase you.

5th Mar 2006, 12:39

It's a waste of fuel indeed when you chase and are unable to catch...

1993 Peugeot 405 GLi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

A whole lot of car for very little money!

Faults:

The heater matrix corroded which cost £250 to replace.

General Comments:

Superb car, I love the styling, the interior, the comfort and the handling. Even though I only have a 1.6 which is a little underpowered, the handling is excellent. I am definitely considering an Mi16 as my next car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

1993 Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 gasoline from Dominican Republic

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance142000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

The worst decision of my life

Faults:

Engine block was broken at 118000 kilometers.

Engine starter failed at 135000 kilometers.

Carburetor failed at 137000 kilometers.

Clutch has failed at 138000 kilometers.

Front brakes discs failed at 125000 kilometers.

And more.

General Comments:

It's the most unreliable car that I ever had.

In my country the dealers are thieves, because they sell the parts at the most expensive price and have a bad warranty.

There is not a reason for having a Peugeot in this country, because here Toyota has ten times more cheap parts and is five times more reliable. The Peugeot is a car that you can't trust. I don't know why the people buy a Peugeot in this country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

23rd Aug 2001, 05:19

Hmm, I don't understand how the carburetor on your 405 gave you problems... it doesn't have one, it is equipped with a Bosch injection system.

1st Oct 2001, 15:43

Well, I bought a Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 at 47 000 km on 20 Sept 2001. It's a very nice car and Peugeot make good motors.

25th Oct 2001, 08:03

I have a 1.8i GL and, other than wear and tear, I can't really complain.

28th Oct 2001, 02:50

I have 405 saloon (here in Indonesia we called STI model). It doesn't have carburetor. The really problem is my automatic transmission (difficult to find a good workshop to repair). Overall is OK with its price!

23rd Nov 2001, 16:24

At this age and this milage WHAT DO YOU EXPECT??? Its not going to be perfect with that amount of use especially if it has not been looked after very well. At least in the sunny Dominican republic you don't have rust to contend with.

2nd Nov 2002, 16:10

I think the peugeot 405 GL is one of the best cars I've ever had.

3rd Feb 2009, 16:06

I am going to buy a Peugeot 405 1.6 GR 1994. If anyone can help about how this car is, what has gone wrong with... please... now...

18th Dec 2009, 07:11

Peugeot 405 is a good car. The car has never stalled, never refused to run. It always says yes.

Mine is a GL Carburetor, consumption is satisfactory, 10km/l city drive and up to 14km/l highway drive. The car was well taken care of by the previous owner and I am keeping the legacy.

I have had to keep watch of the suspension system, bushes especially. They wear out quickly on rough road. Other than that, the other things I have changed were due to normal wear and tear with age.

The car is comfortable; even after six hours of driving it feels like I went to the shop and back.

3rd Jun 2010, 03:22

It's funny how you realised years later that the 405 is a very respectful car. Maybe you got one that was poorly maintained by the previous owner. If you had found one that was properly maintained, you wouldn't have even thought of selling it. :)

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 35 reviews