1993 Peugeot 405 Mi16 1.9 litre from Australia and New Zealand


An absolute bargain


Cam belt broke, previous owner may not have adhered to the scheduled servicing.

Peugeot recommend the belt to be changed every 80,000K, but I will be changing mine earlier, say every 60,000K.

Leak of brake fluid from the system. Being investigated. First check did not reveal any apparent leaks. To be further investigated at the next scheduled service.

General Comments:

This car is an magnificent example of a high performance vehicle. It is extremely quick, handles like a dream and is very economical (approximately 10.5 litres per 100K in peak hour city driving).

The seats are very comfortable.

The car accommodates 5 adults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

6th Aug 2001, 07:24

Leak in the brake system located. Flexible link, left front, perished. Relatively cheap and easily fixed.

1993 Peugeot 405 STi 2.0i from UK and Ireland


A good, well equipped all round package


Intermitent ABS sensor failures caused by dirt getting in a sensor (apparently also a problem on a friends Citroen BX).

Drivers door seal went.

General Comments:

Another great handling front wheel drive car from Peugeot.

The brakes are sharp and precise, although there are minor issues with the ABS system (see faults).

The STi model is packed with toys, power steering, all round electric windows, electric sun roof, cruise control, alarm, immobiliser, 6 disc CD player, air con, and also electric front seats.

In summary this is an excellent saloon and the only gripe is with minor electrical problems. Apart from that, this is probably one of the all round packaged cars I've driven and in some ways I still miss it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2001

2nd Feb 2005, 09:01

I agree with comments on this review. I have had my Peugeot 405 STI for nearly two years and the only problems have been faulty wheel sensors which caused the ABS light to come on. Otherwise, a wonderful car.

1993 Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 carburator from Dominican Republic


Strong chassis but not so electrically reliable


Engine block broken at 11800 km (over heated), both disc brakes and pads, engine starter failed at 136000 km, water pump failed at 123000 km, and gas pump too.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and handles very well, has an strong chassis and the car height is very good for the holes in the road. This is because the Dominican Republic streets are like a safari rally. But this car is not as reliable as a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2001

1993 Peugeot 405 mi16 Turbo 2.0i DOHC turbo from UK and Ireland


This is the best car in the world and the quickest saloon on the market much, quicker than a Cossie


Nothing apart from a fault in the rear back axle.

General Comments:

This is an excellent driving car, much quicker than my first car which was a Ford Sierra Cosworth.

Leather seats are a pleasure to drive in.

This is the perfect car for any young lad, it can diff very well with its four LSD's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

11th Feb 2001, 13:22

Hang on a minute - you said this 405 is quicker than your previous car, a Cossie, and then you say your previous car was a Toyota Corolla.

A 405 mi-16 quicker than a cossie - MMM yer righty!

12th Feb 2001, 13:21

He said his FIRST car was a Cossie and second it's a mi16 Turbo, not a plain mi16.

1993 Peugeot 405 GLDT 1.9 TD from UK and Ireland


Reliable bargain


Head gasket @ 120,000.

Front discs @ 135,000.

Glow plugs @ 140,000.

Starter motor @ 145,000.

Starting problem: 1 in 10 turns of the ignition produces no start, just a click from the starter motor. This was changed but didn't cure the fault.

Blower motor started squeaking @ 157,000.

General Comments:

Good fuel consumption.

Very reliable car.

Solid engine.

Good acceleration, but a turbo is a must.

Good driving position.

Holds the road well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2001

30th Jan 2001, 05:23

Was the starter motor replaced with a new one???? The problem could be corroded connections or a bad solenoid on the starter motor. The magnets in the starter motor want to turn, but are in a position where they can't move. A temporary solution when this happens is a whack with a hammer on the starter motor.

13th Aug 2001, 02:24

Whack-a-starter-engine is a great game, but I would solve it another way. Check the power cables! One on my car was broken at the neck, so I shortened it because I didn't want to replace it :). An easy DIY job.