1994 Peugeot 405 Mi16 2.0 16v EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

High performance

General Comments:

The car has some mods to it.

The car is a high performance car and loves to be driven hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2002

4th Jul 2002, 12:10

Wow! A short review! Come on, more details please, the car can't be perfect?

I have a 1.9 405 MI16, which is soon to be dead due to having the engine transplanted into a 309!

1994 Peugeot 405 GTX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Superb bargain

Faults:

Only fault was rear caliper at MOT time £80.

General Comments:

Very quick, but very thirsty, not sure if this is just because mine has aircon, but love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2002

1994 Peugeot 405 STDT 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good when its not broke

Faults:

Crankshaft Oil Seal needed replacing soon after buying the car.

Bad Starter in cold weather due to a split in injector pipes letting air in the fuel system.

Glow Plugs needed replacing.

Oil filler pipe to rocker box cover split.

Bulb blown in back of clock/temp gauge.

Headlamp Jets stopped working.

Creaky door panel.

Creaky, Stiff Doors.

General Comments:

Has good looks, square, but still pretty fresh and modern.

Excellent Cabin, loads of extras, such as Electric seats, Windows, Sunroof, air con etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

1994 Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 petrol injection from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good solid performer. Ideal family car

Faults:

Both CV boots split, which resulted in the drivers side CV joint becoming worn and noisy. The remote control locking has failed several times.

General Comments:

Very good fuel economy. Cheap to run.

Very comfortable to ride in, unless you're over six foot tall, then head room does become a problem.

Good acceleration for the engine size. But the top end speed is a little disappointing.

Very small glove box and not enough space to put items down in eg. tapes etc.

Good all round vision from the driver's seat.

Lots of space in the boot. Can fit a very large amount of luggage into it and still have room to spare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

1994 Peugeot 405 GL 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

More smiles per mile than a taxi ride with Chubby Brown

Faults:

CV joints exposed - rubber came off.

A water hose burst, spraying water everywhere and cutting the engine power when it was needed.

Both fixed by the dealer free of charge.

General Comments:

Not perfect but as close to it as I'm likely to find I think - fast, powerful, refined, comfortable, reliable, good-looking... but enough about me!

Seriously though - only had it 1 week and I like it that much that I've done over 1000 miles in the space of a week! Cheaper than I expected with regards to petrol - average about 35-40mpg although it had gone through a major service before we brought it. Keeps Mondeo and

Vectra man off my back. Also keeps Fiesta XR2 and Nova GSi boy off my back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

1994 Peugeot 405 GL 1.4 petrol from Poland

Faults:

After I bought this car I had to exchanged the clutch, but now everything is all right!

General Comments:

It's very comfortable car, inside is a lot of place and the baggage locker is big too. I would like to buy a Peugeot 406 for my next car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2000

18th Mar 2001, 17:43

8/10 for performance on a 1.4? Try a 1.8 and then come back.

8th Sep 2001, 20:39

Maybe he meant 8/10 performance for a 1.4 in a big bodied car?

1994 Peugeot 405 GLDT 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Bought with just over 109k on the clock and at first, spent £300 on new starter motor and brake discs. Noticed rust on tops of doors and this was fixed under warranty, as the dealer said it was a design fault. Since then it's been very reliable, although now at 136k, it needs new shocks.

General Comments:

A very responsive and sporty car and very economical (40mpg around town). I'd have another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2000

1994 Peugeot 405 GLDT 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Took over at 109k. Now on 125k, and so far, exhaust and battery have had to be replaced. Also, starter motor went at 110k. Doors had rusted at the top near the seal (a design fault I'm told) but other than that, fine.

General Comments:

Has been faultless since 112k - fast, spacious, economical (42mpg). Very nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 1999

1994 Peugeot 405 Break GLX 1.8 petrol from Finland

Faults:

Dashboard lights have burned out. Nothing serious. Lots of inside noise, meaning pops & crackles that come out of the interior. Otherwise a silent car.

General Comments:

Fantastic car. Big for a mid-sizer, great fuel economy, no rust whatsoever, great winter car for Finland's cold climate. I am the 3rd owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1994 Peugeot 405 GTX Automatic Estate 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Tailgate once mysteriously opened by itself while driving through town, but otherwise no faults in the 6 months it was owned from new.

General Comments:

Pinnacle of the species. Had everything you could want - electric everything, air con, automatic, alloys, chrome roof rails, metallic paint, airbag, excellent stereo...went like a rocket, well-allied to auto 'box.

Very roomy for the size. Quality build for a Pug. Remote locking has poor range. It's very easy to dent the rear quarter panel getting the jack out. Redundancy made me give it up, but 3 years later it came back in the shape of a GRDT. Happy days are here again

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 1998