1996 Peugeot 406 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1996 Peugeot 406 LX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

The best car I've driven for ages

Faults:

Leaking coolant hose, which was extremely difficult to replace (one end was right behind the fuel pump. Nimble fingers required!).

General Comments:

Extremely comfortable, especially for rear passengers.

Handles like glue on corners (thanks to Goodyear rubber on all four wheels).

Nippy for a small turbo diesel engine (for a big car).

A better ride and build quality than a Rover 75!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

1996 Peugeot 406 LX TD 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance102500 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

Good car, shame about the backup

Faults:

Air-conditioning ceased to work.

General Comments:

With reference to the above fault, the main dealer could not tell me where the control unit for the air-con is.

This was after having the car in the garage for 9 hours! Neither could they tell me what was wrong with it!

As for performance, it is pretty quick and economical.

Comfort, on a par with a Xantia.

Peugeot really need to look at the dealer network, it is the worst I have ever had the misfortune to deal with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2001

1996 Peugeot 406 LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 216

Summary:

Not perfect, but better than most

Faults:

Rear brake master cylinder failed.

Rear brake compensator failed.

Water pump failed.

Rear nearside door - central locking failed.

Right rear suspension - new bush needed at 54000 miles.

Light in clock failed.

On/off switch on radio broke off.

Immobiliser keypad broke off.

Remote fuel release flap reluctant.

General Comments:

That list of faults seems quite long, but over the life of the car (it's now basically 5 years old) probably not too bad. Drivetrain has been faultless.

Criticisms are the front seats (too soft) and sluggish 2nd gear performance in this 1.8 version.

Still impressed with its refinement, ride, handling, spaciousness and styling.

Dealer servicing is expensive though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

1996 Peugeot 406 LX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Nice car, but keep the cheque book handy

Faults:

Cambelt snapped at 28000 miles/2 years - engine wrecked. Repaired by Peugeot despite being out of warranty.

Petrol leaks (several) causing petrol to be sprayed over a hot engine!

Speedo doesn't work in warm weather.

Worrying noise from the starter motor.

Losing water - head gasket?

Engine management light comes on frequently, accompanied by rough running. No fault found by the dealer.

General Comments:

Well specced for the price.

Nice car to drive.

Nice car to look at.

Dodgy build quality.

Poor reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2001

1996 Peugeot 406 LX (D) 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Stylish, comfortable, economical and a pleasure to drive

Faults:

Anti-roll bar bushings on the back axle needed replacement.

Radio seems to turn itself after traveling a long time.

Leaking radiator, slightly.

Tyres wearing uneven (left) due to pot-hole's in Irelands roads.

Replaced a few bulbs.

Door's need to be adjusted in to reduce wind noise.

General Comments:

Very comfortable on the Irish roads.

Fairly good fuel economy for a TD.

Very reliable (compared to a Renault).

When fitted with spoiler, fog-lamp's and set of alloy's, it's a classy looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

8th Nov 2007, 17:15

Its me again,still have the 406 TD with 192000 on the clock now, replaced that leaking rad at 189000 and a wish bone bush at 187000,Timing belt kit at 185000 and a few rear drop links other than that just serviced the car every 9k and keep filling her it with diesel, the next time I write in the 406 might be heading for the 300,000 miles!!!

1996 Peugeot 406 1.9 diesel from Austria

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance141000 kilometres

Faults:

1) Radio on/off button broke (no replacement available!!)

2) Covering on the airbag cover is coming off at the edges (poor manufacturing quality).

3) Belt drive wheel & screw broke off (happened while driving at 140kph! - went through a lot of trouble!!! Eventually the Peugeot garage covered the costs of a new crank shaft etc).

4) Both rear doors don't open smoothly. I have enquired with 3 different Peugeot dealers but they all put a little grease in it and say it's OK. I still have the problem. Bad service!

5) The auto door lock was getting louder, Peugeot couldn't help, said "I would have to replace it sometime in the near future". I sprayed some silicon lubricant in the rear doors and it seems to have helped.... again, bad service.

6) RUST under the motor hood and boot hood as well as under the rubber around the driver's door!! (is covered by the 6 year guarantee but I will have no car for a week - no complimentary car).

General Comments:

1) Service every 10,000km! ie 3x/year @ 30000km/year!

2) Very disappointed with Peugeot's service.

3) Quality; (on/off button, airbag cover) seems very low/cheaply built!

4) 90 hp diesel is good on the highway but sluggish and thirsty in the city.

5) Spare tire in the boot is strapped down but not fixed anywhere, so everytime you go over a bump it sounds like you have something loose. Very uncomfortable!

I don't think I would ever buy a Peugeot again and wouldn't recommend one!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

6th Feb 2001, 18:16

Must agree with some of your comments, rusty bits and bobs under the bonnet. Any idea on drive belt adjustment for 406 turbo diesel 1996 1.8?

Cheers,

Ron

8th Mar 2004, 07:14

8th Mar 2004 I also agree with some of the above comments, Radio on/off button was broken on my car 406 SLDT too when I brought it, but I didn’t mind too much as I was replacing the radio with a Sony unit.

It’s not the Spare Tire, I think… After a few weeks of driving the car the spare tire was on my nerve too and I put 25mm foam around the tire to stop it moving, but it wasn’t the tire!!! It’s a rubber bush in the rear suspension which sounds like a loose tire in the boot while driving over bumps!

3rd Nov 2006, 14:57

I spray rustproofing spray on my 406's joints on the doors and under the bonnet once a year. Washing your car regularly (particularly in winter when the roads are salted) helps to keep the rust away as well.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 24 reviews