1999 Peugeot 406 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1999 Peugeot 406 Coupe Special Edition 3.0i 24v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0i 24v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A real car!!

Faults:

I tried to purchase an original set of car mats from my local main dealer, to my surprise after coughing up more than £70 they wouldn't fit. They advised me to pierce holes in my plush carpet in order to fit the new mats as the plastic inserts were out of alignment on the mats. The badges had also fallen off the mats in transit and looked rather second class, just not good enough sorry.

After several not nice words with the bloke at the parts counter I left with my £70 back in my wallet.

The only fault I have had with the car was a simple replacement of the speed sensor. £26 bought me a new one from my mate at the parts counter and job done.

General Comments:

This car is fabulous to drive.

It has plenty of room for four people to travel comfortably.

Go for the Special Edition as it has all the toys.

I have heard that there are some Limited Editions out there, I will be looking into this when I am ready to purchase my next car.

Top spec.

Top car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2003

1999 Peugeot 406 LS Estate 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Stylish, spacious, and comfortable

Faults:

The only problem I had in 2 and 1/2 years of running this car was the common fault of the airbag warning light flashing. This is quickly solved by removing the connector below the front seats, and soldering the wires together, as the car was outside its warranty period (1yr) this cost £40.00 plus VAT, I would have done it myself had I known!

General Comments:

The Estate is a phenomenal car, extremely spacious, stylish and comfortable. It drove beautifully, easily cruising on the German highways. The LS was a special edition which included 6 CD auto-changer, pearlescent paint, and if I remember rightly, the electric windows and air con were also part of the package. My only problem was the rapid decline in fuel economy if the car was driven hard, but this is equal to all cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

1999 Peugeot 406 LX 2.0 HDI (90) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI (90) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Superb Motorway Cruiser

Faults:

Not faults with the car so far. It runs likes a dream!

General Comments:

Superb comfort, especially on motorways, fuel consumption superb (45-60mpg)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

1999 Peugeot 406 GLX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A great performer with attractive styling.

Faults:

Brake fluid low waring message kept appearing for no reason. Engine ran very erratic on tick over. Exhaust mid section needed to be replaced. And the nearside door hindge needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

I found that the brake fluid warning kept appearing for no reason which was a faulty sensor on the handbrake.

However, this was covered by warranty and was replaced by the main dealer.

The engine ran very erratic whilst ticking over.

After seven visits back to the main dealer, and at least six components changed including the engine management system and with a total bill of £1000. (which was covered by the warranty). The mechanics failed to find the fault and I was told I had to put up with it. But after extensive talks with the dealer, I managed to get them to exchange the car for another 406 GTX.

Although I had all these problems with this one car, I still rate the 406 highly for its styling, comfort and performance and would carry on buying this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

1999 Peugeot 406 Estate 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

An all round top quality roomy family estate car

Faults:

Spare key supplied by the seller was same as the original- they have to be different. This was replaced by a Dealer at a cost of £100 but this was paid for by the seller.

Air bag warning light kept coming on. This is a Peugeot known fault and they have issued a bulletin on corrective action. The fault is with the sensor plugs under each seat. The fix is to cut out the plug and solder the wires together (colour for colour) and insulate them. This does work.

When I picked the car up first of all, the battery was a bit flat so the seller used a booster- this blew the illumination lights on the radio display. Beware of this as the bulbs are not replaceable- only can be done by someone who's good with electronic soldering. Fortunately that me. It took me about an hour, but it was quicker than returning it to the seller.

The remote control arm for the stereo plays up, but not a life threatening thing.

I replaced the brake pads which the warning light had just started to come on, at 85000 miles. The pads were the originals so they had done a good service, were not badly priced and easy to do (I am a technician).

General Comments:

Despite the few niggling things the car is a joy to drive. It is quiet, comfortable and very roomy. A six footer would enjoy this car as the seat positioning caters for all (even my wife who's five foot tall).

For a big car its handling is superb.

Fuel economy both round town and on a long run is excellent. The diesel engine is a bit noisy on start up, but it quickly quietens down.

The cabin is extremely well soundproofed which adds to the feel of high quality. In high temperatures the air conditioning is first class and keeps you cool. It's nice and easy to control too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

16th Jan 2003, 14:44

Hi, I had a problem with my illumination failing on my heater LCD display, it was on a 1999 GLX TD Estate. I fixed the problem by bridging the circuit power supply to the bulbs (which are replaceable) with a small length of wire. The power to illumination for the LCD display is separate from the function buttons that surround the display, they all worked, but the LCD display didn't. By using power from the button illumination circuit I was able to bypass the fault and see my heater settings once more. It is a fairly easy job well within the scope of anyone who can use screwdrivers and a soldering iron.

1999 Peugeot 406 SV 3.0 V6 Quadcam from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Quadcam Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin Ford Fairmont

Summary:

A ferociously fast kick-ass Peugeot!

Faults:

Battery needed to be replaced, problem with alternator drained it.

General Comments:

SV stands for 'Special Vehicle', it should be 'Superb Vehicle'!

It's ferociously fast once revs in 2nd gear reach 2700 RPM.

The vehicle has been factory-lowered & sticks to the road like velcro!

A smart dark metallic blue finish with body-kit & 17 inch wheels gives it a shark-like, menacing profile.

It's a luxurious ride, with leather & a thumping Blaupunkt 6-speaker stereo.

The clutch is too light & easily stalls in 1st, very embarrassing at the lights when you're about to blow-away more expensive cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2002

1999 Peugeot 406 ST HDI 2.0 HDI diesel (110 bhp) from France

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI diesel (110 bhp) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 9-5 V6 Turbo

Summary:

Sensible choice

Faults:

Blown headlamp bulb.

General Comments:

Good value for money.

Regularly drive 1200 kms in a day, and cruising comfort is excellent.

Excellent economy - about 55 imperial mpg (5.5 litres/100km) with very low cost servicing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2000

27th Jan 2001, 16:07

I have the same car, but only a 90pk HDi, it's OK, and drives very good, but what I want is a spoiler that flashes... so that's what I have to change.

27th Jul 2001, 02:58

I have a 2.0 Litre HDI Executive estate which is possibly the best all round car I have ever had. V registration (2000)

Gerry UK.

1999 Peugeot 406 LX Family HDI 90 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission HDI 90 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired674 miles
Most recent distance20778 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

A car for grownups, not for the young!

Faults:

Mirror switch.

Seatbelt.

Rattling from the engine - dealer can't fix, Peugeot don't want to know. Apparently the HDI engines have assorted odd problems.

Weak handbrake.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, great stereo, drives and handles like a really tight new car. Great comfort.

Don't buy the HDI 90 version, it's gutless, very rev limited (above 3000rpm it dies), only gives 43 mpg on motorways.

Good family car. Of the type it's very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

1999 Peugeot 406 GLX 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles

Summary:

Refined, solid, economical cruiser

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Totally reliable. Serviced only every 12k miles. 55mpg in normal driving.

Very quiet and refined. Not a boy racer car but a superb cruiser.

Recent facelift has modernised the looks. Well built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 28 reviews