1999 Peugeot 406 Reviews

1999 Peugeot 406 LX 2.0 HDI 110 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI 110 turbo diesel Manual
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Last Peugeot for me

Faults:

List of faults.

Air conditioning failed, rear suspension arms failed.

Front discs and pads twice.

Clutch failed.

Gear change bracket on engine broke, leaving me with only 3rd gear.

Low brake fluid warning always beeping, as switch under handbrake is a regular failure.

ABS failed, needed repair to rear sensor, very costly.

Air bag warning light flashes as driver seat connections are always poor.

The boot fills with water and the only solution is to drill a drainage hole.

Front wheel ball joints failed.

Tyre wear uneven.

Bottom pulley for auxiliary belt failed at £130 for a pulley wheel!!!, and then fitting on top.

Auxiliary belt failed, three different kinds fitted to my year!!

Drivers motorised door lock failed, passenger window winder failed, both motorised mirrors have failed.

There is more, but I have lost the will...

General Comments:

The ride started out as good. The whole car rattles, bits are loose everywhere, basically build is poor.

The tyre wear is high for a motorway drive, 15k if you are lucky, and drive normally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2010

1999 Peugeot 406 V6 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance200343 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Beautiful, yet drives like a demon!

Faults:

Air conditioning not working.

Very bad oil leak.

General Comments:

Very good looking car with great handling ability.

Very quick when you want - but quiet (very quiet).

Most stylish car in the whole family - the leather seats and interior is amazing. This car has loads of toys/ gadgets, very fun car to drive for a twenty year old student. Looks stunning in China Blue and 17in alloys.

Oil leak was only the rocker seals (happens with high mileage cars) cheap and easy to fix.

This car is certainly a keeper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2010

1999 Peugeot 406 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Peugeot 406 is a fantastic, high performance car that is a pleasure to drive

Faults:

My Peugeot 406 is the most reliable car I could have ever hoped for. I have had it for ten years and haven't had any problems.

The interior is in excellent condition, as is the gearbox, steering wheel and everything.

I can make no more comments on what went wrong with my Peugeot 406, as there have been none.

General Comments:

The Peugeot 406 is a fantastic car, fun to drive, high performance, and a real pleasure to drive. However the colour has faded and I am getting it spray painted. It is seriously quick for a ten year old car. Very comfortable, spacious, easy to drive, got all the great gadgets. I want to hold on to it for as long as possible. It is a real pleasure to own, and gives no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2009

1999 Peugeot 406 Coupe S 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired87550 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Sport coupe with Saloon car economics and practicality

Faults:

Mk2 2.0 engine is louder than earlier version. It revs higher.

2.0 engine a bit sluggish due to Coupes greater weight than that of the saloon.

General Comments:

Aside from the noisier engine, what an absolutely fantastic car.

Solid reliability and economy of a family saloon with the looks of a sports car.

The boot is huge.

The Back seats can seat two adults with saloon comfort.

A true 4 seat-er inside, sporty coupe on the outside. Turns heads wherever you go, even in standard trim.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2007

1999 Peugeot 406 Rapier 2.0 HDI from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

I hate it

Faults:

Fuel sender unit at tank went after 3000 miles.

Fuel sender unit at tank went again after 30000 miles.

Loss of power on motorway due to engine management fault at 50000 miles - fixed by an independent garage.

Car went on fire on its own after a fifty mile journey at 125000 miles - front half burnt out - write off.

General Comments:

Don't leave children alone in this car - it may go on fire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2007

22nd Feb 2012, 07:06

I have a 1999 2.0HDi 110 estate, and mine loses power too. I have changed the MAF, but that didn't fully resolve the problem, so can you tell me what do you do to fix the power loss?

1999 Peugeot 406 GLX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance61550 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Great drive and comfortable, but maintenance and unexpected faults are costly

Faults:

The seals on the driver and passenger windows keep lifting, so I have to keep pushing them back down. The passenger side has now split and looks unsightly.

When you have the door open the rubber seal at the bottom edge of the car comes away, I am always putting it back in place.

The electric windows have an annoying habit; when you press the control to close the window, it gets half way up and comes down again. Not fun when it is raining, and to outsiders it looks like you are having fun messing around with the window (up, down, up, down). Sometimes it is a real fight to close it.

There is an knocking sound that comes from the back, but so far the garage has no explanation for it.

The front windows rattle when they are slightly down.

Most recently, the cutout in the dash for the airbag started to raise. I took it to my local dealer, to be told the passenger airbag needed to be replaced and the car was not safe to drive. They tell me it is going to cost £380 labour and £300 plus for the part; can't tell you how upset I was. This seems a real rip off to me, but what choice do I have, they say it is not safe to drive as the airbag could go off at any minute. Seems to me to be a very dangerous fault to occur. The dealer is expensive, but I cannot go to my local garage where I have my car serviced, as they say they cannot do this particular job, it is specialised. I am still a little suspicious though, as my airbag light did not come on. Peugeot dealers can charge what they like, knowing not many of the smaller garages can handle the job. Not at all fair.

General Comments:

Seriously quick in sports mode, and very quiet.

Very spacious and comfortable; great for long journeys.

It is a big and heavy car, but the power steering makes it a dream to drive, and I feel safe in it.

The interior is wearing well, as it is now over 8 years old. The dash is set out nicely; lots to see, but easy to read.

However the control panel for the electric windows are set in the door, and when it is raining, they get very wet when you get in or out of the car. Not sure this is safe.

It has its faults, and I am finding they are usually very expensive, but generally it is a great drive, and I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2007

4th Aug 2007, 10:00

If the airbag is dangerous, discuss with Peugeot-even a 1999 car which is well out of warranty is still their liability for a major safety issue such as this.

If you have a bulging airbag and have been told professionally that it could fire unexpectedly, contact Peugeot Head Office immediately. If it has not been damaged previously, they are liable-the units have a life of 10 years.

This may be a serious safety issue which may instigate a recall for this unit.

Your wet electric window switches are probably causing your unruly window operation!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 28 reviews