2000 Peugeot 406 ST 2.0 from Singapore


An elegant roomy mid-size sedan which should satisfy both the driver and the family


Brake Fluid Sensor had isolated glitches when the car was approaching its 10,000km and the 20,000 km mark. It indicated low brake fluid level when not.

At about the 9,000km mark, the car started making metallic droning sound on several occasions when I reversed the car.

Both were fixed by the distributor.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable, roomy and the suspension is very good. It is excellent for long hauls and it smooths out all road bumps with ease.

The chassis and handling is also extremely good and makes driving on twisty roads a real pleasure. Just don't expect it to be a hot rod.

I had niggling doubts about Singapore's hot weather conditions on the car, but it has held up rather well so far although the heat has scorched small bits of my steering wheel from black to a greyish looking hue.

The car's body might not be as tough as probably a Volkswagen or a Volvo, small pockmarks have appeared on the doors due to careless opening in tight parking lots, but its sure tougher than a whole lot of Japanese cars which are the bulk of the cars sold here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2002

11th Apr 2006, 08:40

Hello, I have a question for you. About the brake fluid indication: I have the same problem, and as I understand, you found a solution for this? Can you tell me what to do? I have 406 ST with 75 000 km. I'll check this comment later OK?

Thank you.

23rd May 2006, 02:57

Hello, it's me again! I wrote you the question about the sensor.

I think I found the problem! and really, I resolved it :)

The problem is not the liquid sensor, the problem is the hand braking sensor! there is a sensor like L form there. it's better to change it! because the one came with the 406 is not so good!

Good luck and enjoy your 406 as I am doing!

P.S.: in few days, I am taking it to 5000 km trip! wish me good luck ;)

2000 Peugeot 406 SVDT 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Peugeot should revamp the outside look,didn't change really since the 405


Had a leak with a injector. Back turbo went at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Good all-rounder.

Excellent mpg (800 miles to a 66 litre tank).

Very comfortable ride on long and short journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

2000 Peugeot 406 SV Grand Wagon 3.0 V6 from Finland


It's a car you make easily be friends with


Side airbag indicators lit because of a bad electrical connector under the seat.

Automatic climate control system occasionally does not turn the fan on. In such case, manual operation works all right.

This malfunction has been inspected two or three times, but it still takes place every now and then.

General Comments:

Despite the relatively cheap price, the car has fantastic features:

It's very fast and comfortable, well equipped, looks and sounds great, too!

Newest V6 24-valve engine has very reasonable fuel consumption. Actually; it's practically the same as on 2-liter models.

There is really no competition in this price class what comes to performance, size, handling and looks!

Being quite a rare model (V6) in Finland, most people underestimate its phenomenal potential at traffic lights.

Just remove the V6 badges from the sides and let them experience a big surprise...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2001

2000 Peugeot 406 SRDt 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland


Lots of good car for the money


Vibrating fuel filter, covered by warranty, replaced in 10 mins, no performance problem, just a little irritating!

General Comments:

Very very very happy! Excellent MPG, very comfortable and solid on the open road. I get out after a long journey and feel refreshed. Much more comfortable on the Irish roads than the equivalvent VW Passat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

2000 Peugeot 406 SVDT 2.0 HDI 110bhp from UK and Ireland


An excellent all-rounder


One of the injectors came loose and diesel leaked.

General Comments:

A very comfortable car with good looks and great performance.

Build is good and equipment generous.

Economy varies - 52mpg on a long run, 43mpg on short trips.

Its best point is its suspension. As I drive on some of Europes' worst roads I can assure any reader that the suspension on this car is hard to beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

16th Oct 2001, 14:53

Same problem with the injector. Good car, but boring looking, didn't really change since the 405.