1988 Peugeot 505 GR 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A comfortable workhorse

Faults:

The cental locking is intermittent in behaviour.

My car is fitted with a Magnet Marelli distributor, I lost all power to the coil and after much searching this turned out to be a relay wire corroded away underneath the distributor plate. The relay sends a demand to the coil for the pulse. A replacement cost £52.00 inc VAT and took 15 minutes to fit.

The petrol tank dropped out from the bottom of the car. The tank is held in place by a cradle similar to that of the spare wheel, it is secured to the frame by a single bolt and metal plate, the plate had broken away. Potentially lethal as you can imagine.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent work horse and very comfortable, ideal for a large family or, like me, for someone who has to carry large loads for my job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

31st Oct 2002, 15:28

I've experienced the exact same problems with my own P 505 GR Break; worn wire inside distributor and broken bolt/plate that holds the petrol tank cradle. But a reliable workhorse - though thirsty!

19th Feb 2003, 15:22

This has been a great insight. I have a 505 GR 8 seat estate. 13 years old 118,000 miles. I'm the second owner from new, I've had the pleasure of owning her for three years. (its the third one I've owned) It's got a few general problems. Recently broken down, no spark, so points to the pick up in the distributor Magneti Marelli, new part is on order from local pug dealer Bristol UK. about £50 inc VAT. I should be back on the road by the weekend! I have to be I've got six kids and a Springer Spaniel!!

1988 Peugeot 505 STX 2.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

If it wears out I will get another one

Faults:

Alternator failed.

Seat heat switches stuck on.

Water pump started leaking, and normal maintenance.

General Comments:

This is the best driving car I have ever had. I like it better then the Alfa ut replaced and it is much more fun to drive then my new Mercedes Benz E-class. I use it as my daily driver and will be bummed out when it wears out. The most comfortable seats in the world bar none. I installed a elite suspension kit from Europe and it is a Handler. I could go on forever, a neat car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

1988 Peugeot 505 Turbo S 2.2 turbo from North America

Summary:

A very quick, super tight car

Faults:

Cylinder head cracked, turbocharger defective, many electrical problems, speedometer/odometer, transmission torque converter, alternator, water pump, radiator, catalytic converter.

General Comments:

When the car runs, it is very fast -- outpacing most other cars with more advertised horsepower. Turbo engine with automatic transmission is very smooth. The car's maintenance history is deplorable -- likely the cause of the engine and transmission problems. It is very fun to drive though -- the engine produces an incredible amount of torque at low RPM. The suspension system is perfect, and the ABS brakes are super at any speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2000

25th Oct 2001, 10:36

Does anyone know where I can purchase a new or late model Peugeot in California?

Thanks,

Robert vpconst@mcn.org

11th Jun 2005, 00:13

You'd have to import one from Europe, and I don't think that's possible due to custom laws.

29th Jan 2006, 22:56

No new cars can be brought into the US unless they were certified for sale here when new. The only exemption is for cars 25 years old or older (so 1981 in 2006), which are not required to comply with NHTSA/EPA standards. That, however, would defeat the purpose of buying a Peugeot for everyday use rather than as a collector car. The other option would be to find a really nice late 1980's/early 1990's Peugeot of the same model sold in the US during the same period, obtain a letter from Peugeot SA stating that the car can be brought into compliance with NHTSA standards without destructive testing, and pay a certified importer to modify the car. This again defeats the purpose, as cars of that age are readily available in the US.

There are some new 2006 models in the country though. Peugeot maintains a North American purchasing office in New Jersey and brings them in as company cars. They can stay on a temporary import certificate, but have to be shipped back to France after 6 months or else be confiscated and crushed.