1990 Peugeot 605 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Peugeot 605 SV 3.0 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carFord Telstar

Summary:

I'll never buy a peugeot again

Faults:

Power Steering Failed.

Fog Lamps Failed.

Radio Failed.

Dashboard Centre Front came loose.

Auto Aerial Failed.

Electrics Failed.

Indicator stalk broke.

Inside Door Handles broke (both front ones and one back)

HT Leads failed.

Air Conditioning Failed.

Blew Head Gasket.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable and quick considering the weight. Would have been a brilliant family car.

However, after searching the internet, found out they had some build problems with this model, all of which happened to me!

The parts cost more than the car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2005

2nd Sep 2009, 13:27

I covered 47000 miles in my 605. Never any problems. I would have another without hesitation. I have owned 7 Peugeots in 15 yrs. I LOVE THEM!!!

Pete.

1990 Peugeot 605 SL 2.0 from France

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Exceptional and reliable. Refined and rustic (little or no electronics)

Faults:

Starter faulty at 6000 miles.

Fragile lower plastic frame of the front seats.

Door-locks (magnetic) sometimes quirky.

Changed rear wheel brake-disks at 50000 miles.

A few plastic details are fragile and cheap.

General Comments:

Interior: it is as good as new after 14 years of use.

There is huge space with leg-room. It has a huge boot with a regular shape. The driving-position is perfect. Driving long distances is relaxing.

Exceptional road-handling:it is the safest car I have ever had. Wind (or lorries) have no side effect: it is a most stable car.

It is agile in spite of the size.

It has the comfort of a limousine for all passengers.

It is most reliable in spite of the reputation. After 14 years of careful driving, I have, up to now, spent virtually no money on anything.

Most economical on the motorway (less in city) ; it is like a diesel, if you drive smoothly. The engine is like new. It is also reliable despite the reputation.

It is an extremely elegant vehicle despite its age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2004

1990 Peugeot 605 SV3.0 V6 from Hungary

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

It's a high performance car, at a relatively low price

Faults:

There was electrical problem is the electronic suspension system.

Had to replaced the right hand drive shaft.

Fuel pump vent wrong.

I needed to change the ignition module.

Front hub bearings went wrong.

Brake fluid reservoir rubber sealings (4) needed to replace. There was not original available at dealer.

Minor problems at the front suspension.

General Comments:

It's a very comfortable fast car.

Big enough for a family.

Other side I feel I might be in a sport car when accelerating.

It was made from good quality materials inside and outside.

The well working electric suspension system gives good driving performance and stability on the road at extremely high speed too.

It was a good idea to buy it.

It is 14 year old, but looks like a young car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

1990 Peugeot 605 2.0 from France

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Exceptional, it does not deserve the usual criticism.

Faults:

Trouble with the starter (3000 kilometers)

Trouble with door-locks (3000 kilometers)

Plastic frame next to the front-seat is fragile.

General Comments:

This car is exceptional as far as road-handling goes. Never had any car of that ilk.

This car is roomy and superbly comfortable. It is as nice as the most recent limousines. Plenty of leg-room.

The 2.0 liter engine is very economical on the motorway. I would not be so positive in city traffic.

It is still sleek and elegant, with poise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th April, 2003

9th Dec 2004, 07:14

Quite comfortable and stable, maneuvers bends with ease and still stands out among other new brands of cars.

1990 Peugeot 605 SRi 2.0 Injection from Denmark

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Injection Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired226000 kilometres
Most recent distance233000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 305

Summary:

Good-looking executive drive

Faults:

The light is gone in the clock/temperature display. Probably just needs some contact cleaner!

I've had the handbrake tightened.

General Comments:

This is my second Peugeot, and I have just bought a third, this time a 505 V6.

I find the reliability well above reputation. Have not had serious problems with my Peugeots.

The 605 is a great looking car, with plenty of interior space.

Fairly priced, a lot of car for the money.

Handles superbly, and is very comfortable on the long stretches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

31st Oct 2011, 02:38

Have you fixed clock display? If yes, can you explain how you fixed it? Thanks.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews