Peugeot 807 Reviews

2007 Peugeot 807 2.0 HDI turbo diesel from Belgium

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance99875 kilometres

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

After the first year, we already had major costs.

Generator broke down, engine was making a lot of noise, aircon broke down, and a lot of other issues.

Lately, the onboard computer said there was a problem with the exhaust. The official Peugeot Garage said they would fix it, no big deal.

Now, in November 2009, on a trip to the Ardens during a hill climb, the computer said it again. Few minutes later, during the climb, revs are falling back suddenly, no torque and the moment we come to a standstill, the engine stalls and makes a real horrible sound.

The regeneration valve came loose and the turbo sucked it in. This caused a chain reaction: turbo kind of exploded and timings of the valves disorganised. The crankshaft and camshaft were also damaged. There also was a lot of soot in the engine (I use it for long trips, and from time to time "I give it the beans", carefully).

Costs: +3000 euro.

I'm not the only one with many complaints, it's just a crap car. (search the Internet)

General Comments:

Loads of space, good family car and a lot of comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2009

24th Aug 2010, 18:12

I had a Fiat Ulysee, I am from Ancona and when I was climbing up the Appenines (a couple of hours away) something happened. The cylinders threw their rods and the turbo sucked a loose electric connection, causing an engine fire. The car stalled, then I tried to start it. It miraculously started, but there was no torque above 1200 RPM and the engine would stall above 1300 RPM.

2003 Peugeot 807 SE 1.9 HDI from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 HDI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord Galaxy

Summary:

Great car so far

Faults:

Nothing thank God.

General Comments:

The performance is not as perky as the 2.0 petrol 806 we had nor the Galaxy 2.3 we had, but its just fine.

The economy is well up on the two others.

Family loves the space (and electric doors!)

Runs well, but it has only been 5 weeks so far!

Still in love (with the car) and so is my wife (with the car too)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

2004 Peugeot 807 3.0 V6 from Netherlands

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance44000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Very good family transport, but worries remain about long term toughness and it's not cheap to run

Faults:

Crank for spare wheel carrier broke

A couple of the dash air vents don't direct properly

The illumination for the heating controls has failed.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic family car with really adaptable load carrying space and loads of thoughtful features. With the 3.0 V6 it goes pretty well and the engine is quiet, although the auto transmission isn't the smoothest and could do with a fifth ratio for European motorway speeds. It's heavy on petrol too, but the 4 cylinder versions were such slugs with auto transmission that we don't mind that too much. Build quality is dubious - it doesn't feel like it will last very well and it creaks and groans over uneven roads. We find the seats good for long trips and the kids love the gadgets. The interior style is not matched by the exterior looks. Sevice intervals are long which is just as well as dealers aren't that plentiful and are a bit iffy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2005

2004 Peugeot 807 Executive 2.0 HDI from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Disappointing

Faults:

Intermittent power loss.

General Comments:

Peugeot (after sales) Customer Service is inadequate.

I find the drivers position uncomfortable on long drives due to lack of leg room.

Quite comfortable on short drives.

Could do with seats that provide side support (for those corners).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

2003 Peugeot 807 GLX 2.2HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2HDi Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles
Previous carVolvo S60

Summary:

Great company car, but I wouldn't want to pay to run it myself

Faults:

Grab handle broke far too easily when used for the purpose it's designed for.

Seat runner covers have nearly all broken from one time to another.

The seal between the front doors and the air flow to the rear compartment has never fitted properly. It still doesn't even though Peugeot say it's fixed. They've now agreed it's not as bad on other 807s.

Fuel economy is poor - the trip computer shows 31mpg from the 2.2HDi engine used mostly on motorways.

The rear blinds have both been damaged due to a problematic design feature. Although this damage was my fault it could have been designed out by Peugeot.

The built in hands free car kit that comes as standard issue with the Satellite Navigation system cannot be used above 40mph. Otherwise the road noise for the person who is talking with you on the other end of the phone is unbearable. Peugeot have examined this and found no fault, but have also not been able to make any improvement.

General Comments:

The car is well designed and thought out, but not necessarily well executed.

I like the features such as electric rear opening doors and rotatable seats.

The satellite navigation system is good although not as comprehensive as some of my colleagues - it does not have traffic updates built in, nor can you set a destination by post code. However it gets you to where you want to go!

The seating is tight for 7 people. You'd only want toddlers in the back two seats. Look at the photographs in the brochure and you'll see that the front row of seats are pushed quite forward. This means that with me at the driving seat (190cm) and an adult behind me there is virtually zero, maybe 10cm, of legroom for the back row. Of course with three rows you also have the smallest amount of space for luggage.

The 2.2HDi engine is smooth and strong, but I'm disappointed by the mpg that is reported by the built in trip computer. 31mpg is far from good for a diesel. It's also very poor on the emissions - an important issue for those of you paying company car tax.

Overall I like the car - it's very car, not van, like. But the build quality is more becoming of it's Fiat brother. Don't get me wrong it's reliable and well designed, but I don't know that I wouldn't go for an Espace or even large estate car in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

8th Sep 2004, 09:05

This is spot on.

I've had very similar problems with my 807, especially fuel economy.

28th Sep 2004, 13:54

I too agree to all the comments in review. I had many problem mainly with the alarm. I had approx. 20 different problems. I own a 2.2 HDI. What ever you do make sure you do not get the latest computer upgrade. I have top of the range model and had many problems after the computer upgrade. The head light in one big issues make sure you get a document of what is change and what is not.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 7 reviews