1971 Plymouth Barracuda Cuda 340 from North America

Summary:

Hot wheels

Faults:

In the year I drove this car very little went wrong that wasn't due to my own tinkering and experimentation. A few loose electrical connections and new front disc calipers, that was about it.

The main problem was rust. Quarter panels, fenders, roof seams and the trunk and floor pans got it bad. Grinding it all out was a daunting task.

General Comments:

There was probably a list of sensible cars for kids just out of high school, and the 340 Cuda was not on it. Big, loud and quick, it was everything a young man could want, but probably not what he should have driven. I loved it.

Straight line acceleration was its strong suit with enough engine and tire noise to turn every head. Handling was above average, braking good, the stark cockpit was actually rather comfortable. This car could turn a late night run to the store into an adventure.

The 4-barrel 340 was rather thirsty and delivered 12 mpg, barely a notch above abysmal, but for a kid with hot wheels this didn't seem to matter much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2006

22nd Sep 2006, 13:52

Got my '71 Barracuda convertible new in its model year. Equipped with a 318 V-8 it was, of course, not a muscle car, but certainly packed enough punch for any highway driving. Engine and transmission were overhauled at 252,000 miles and the car has had several interior and exterior re-dos. It presently looks and drives much as it did 35 years ago and the beautiful, clean design lines turn heads whenever it's on the road. Hats-off to the engineering and design team!

1970 Plymouth Barracuda 340 from North America

Summary:

One of America's true classic cars

Faults:

Replaced ball joints at 91,000 miles.

Starter solenoid bad at 84000 miles, normal for older Chrysler.

General Comments:

One fast car. Convertible top provided much air noise when cruising.

Front ends of Cudas and Challengers are rust traps. Keep them clean, and reduce much trouble later on.

Front ends of these cars need help, and wear out with hard driving, which is what these cars are made for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2005

1970 Plymouth Barracuda AAR 340 6 Barrel from North America

Summary:

A fast car for its time

Faults:

This car was very reliable. I never had problems with the 3-2BBL Holley carbs in terms of synchronization, etc.

General Comments:

A fast car for its time. Few cars came close to its performance until the late 90s, but technology has surpassed the engine output, handling, brakes, and comfort. But I still get nostalgic whenever I see another Cuda or muscle-car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

14th Apr 2006, 21:20

I suggest that you check your pulse immediately. If you aren't excited by a 340 6-pak, then you might be dead.

15th Apr 2006, 05:19

In 1981 found a original white, black stripe 340 AAR with a good running motor, excellent body, but a bad trans for only $500! And I won't even go into other musclecars that I owned in those pre boomer days and didn't realize...

19th Jan 2010, 10:53

It's OK man, everyone has to let things go that in retrospect they would keep. Hindsight is a pain in the a@!

1970 Plymouth Barracuda Cuda 340 Six Pack from North America

Summary:

A sweet, rare muscle machine!!

Faults:

Pushrod wore through the stamped steel rockers. Easy fix.

It is in the body shop getting restored.

General Comments:

It is not the quickest Mopar I've owned, but it will be the nicest when I am finished.

It has a 340 with 3-2 barrels and automatic with 3.91 gears in the rear.

It's Mopar or no car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2002

1971 Plymouth Barracuda 340 4-V from North America

Summary:

Knee-shaking performance and trouble-free design

Faults:

No mechanical problems have ever been experienced with this car.

The deck panel above the trunk lid rusted through underneath the vinyl top.

General Comments:

I have never experienced a mechanical problem with this car, and have needed to make no repairs since acquiring it.

The drive train is very good, and the transmission is very tight.

The 340 gives this car real barn-burning, tire-shredding performance.

The simple design is extremely appealing, with no power brakes, a foot-pumped windshield washer, and easily accessible dash lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

24th Oct 2009, 12:19

340 hay. Sounds like a rocket to me. The lightweight formula is key. Unibody Zbart cars are the light heavyweight champ.

28th Oct 2009, 23:25

You are right about the base models being the way to go. Even if equipped with the factory engine/drive train, they can still be purchased for a reasonable amount, leaving money in the bank for resto plans or performance upgrades.

I still can't believe the last Barret Jackson auction, they sold a 1973 Cuda #'s matching, restored and of course in good shape. when I left the room for a minute the bid was at $30,000 and had only gone up $1,000 by the time I returned with beer in hand. They had trouble prying even a $32,000 bid out. Everything on my car that is white, on it was black. 340 4 gear. Needless to say if the opportunity ever arises again, I will be the proud owner of not just a Barracuda. I don't care what it takes!