1965 Plymouth Barracuda Base 225 Slant 6 from North America

Summary:

Astounding bit of work!

Faults:

Door lock fell apart when I slammed the door, now I can't lock the door.

Water pump died, radiator, hoses.

Fuel filter clogged.

Speedo cable broken, so no speedo or odometer.

All these were because the car sat for 10 + years before I had it.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car! The little Slant 6 is bulletproof, you couldn't kill this car if you wanted to! Of course if you did somehow actually manage to kill it, chances are the parts to fix it would be under $100, seeing as they made a billion of these motors.

More power than I thought it would have. Engine sounds Hoover-like when revved.

Steering has a lot of play, rear end whines, upholstery non-existent.

All these factors, and I still love my car. It's my first car, but I would not get rid of this car for the world. It's so unique and gets so many compliments wherever I go. When you're at a stop light people ask what it is, and in parking lots it's a people magnet since they're not very common.

It's not even restored! It's in beater condition and it still gets all the looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2008

25th May 2008, 20:10

Yeah, these little Plymouth Valiant-style Barracudas are neat little cars.

You might want to do some catch-up on maintenance soon. Check the rear differential fluid, or better yet, change it, to stop that rear-end whine. You don't want metal shavings as lubrication.

The speedo cable is an easy fix in these cars, too. There isn't a lot to go wrong with these.

I don't know if this car might still have the original bias ply tires, but if you put a set of radials on, you'll be amazed at how it suddenly steers much straighter, and doesn't wander into every rut.

26th Jun 2008, 22:39

Does anyone have a guess at how much such a Barracuda would cost?

27th Jun 2008, 15:21

Just go to e-bay and search for similar models to get an idea of current fair market value. I've seen them for a few thousand dollars in running condition.

30th Nov 2008, 18:44

"22nd Nov 2008, 21:37.

One like the reviewer's car is not going to bring "thousands" of dollars, based on its description."

This person apparently does not know what a Barracuda is, or how sought after they are. It's not like assessing the value of a used Corolla.

23rd Aug 2009, 13:16

I had a '65 that was an early factory 273/235 horsepower V8 (before the stripes were painted on the side). It had a 4 speed tranny. Black with tinted glass and a red leather interior. It was fast. I once beat a '64 409 with it.

When I thought I blew the engine a local mechanic said I had to replace the engine.

I got screwed. Found out later that only a lifter broke without damaging anything else.

It was a great car. I still shake my head and my fist when I think about the crooked mechanic. I am a little more mechanical now though..

23rd Jul 2012, 13:17

Yours is the kind of thinking that makes someone with an old beater believe that it is worth thousands of dollars, just because it's, well, old.

It's very easy to find '64-66 Barracudas in the same condition as the reviewed car on Craigslist for anywhere from $650-$1500; well under the "thousands" you claim they are worth.

1971 Plymouth Barracuda 'Cuda 340 from North America

Summary:

Piece of junk that was a great investment

Faults:

This was a 71 Cuda Convertible. Convertible top lines and fittings constantly broke and leaked. I replaced with copper lines.

The car needed restoration when I got it. Front end bushings and ball joints shot by 70K miles, as most of these were by that mileage.

Mechanically, the car was pretty bulletproof.

Doors sagged. Window cranks stiff and noisy.

Windows rattled and leaked.

Frame/Unibody flexed a lot over typical city road bumps and dips.

Everything inside the interior felt loose and cheaply made, like it was going to crack and fall apart.

General Comments:

This was a 71 Cuda 340 Convertible, AT, 3.55 gear, factory air, no rust, mechanically restored, desert car.

I traded a 69 SS 396 Four Speed Chevelle for this car. The Chevelle was superior in every respect to this E-Body junker Cuda, except for rarity and investment value.

Everyone knows the old Mopar drivetrains are pretty strong, powerful, and hold up well. This car ran as good as any 340 did back then.

The body and chassis was junk. Flexy, rattly, and just plain terrible riding, and noisy as hell.

The rear valence panel exhausts direct the spent gas up and toward the middle of the rear, so exhaust fumes and stink somehow get sucked into the car, even with the top up.

Chassis rigidity and ride quality was inferior most any other muscle car of the day that I can think of.

It was, and is, a great looking, cool car. If you are the type that likes attention, distractions, and annoyances everywhere you go, this car will get it for you.

Every time I drove it, it seems it attracted all the freaks, losers, and leftover burnt out LSD hippie freak types from the 60's.

Cars would hit the brakes in front and speed up from behind just to see it, then roll down the windows and shout, "Hey dude, you wanna sell that". What a PITA.

If you want to preserve a rare and important piece of American muscle car history, then this is for you.

However, if you appreciate quality and a finely engineered driving and handling experience, you will be sorely disapointed by a convertible.

I had a 65 Comet Cyclone, 289 four speed, that was way more solid than this heap.

But hey, it looks cool, so buy one now for $75,000 and enjoy the comments as you drive in misery in this leaky, flexy, stinky, noisy rattle trap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2007

1st Jun 2007, 11:27

This review sounds like a load. Either the "reviewer" never actually owned this car, or was never the type of person who should have owned a muscle car in the first place.

As he points out, this was a machine preserved from 1971. You can't compare the ride to a new BMW. If he owned it at all, which I doubt, I hope that he sold it to someone who appreciates the car more than he did.