1999 Plymouth Breeze from North America


A Lemon, don't even try buying one


The engine blew with 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable.

Not very good performance wise, car is too heavy for a 4 cylinders engine.

Accessories worked well all the time.

The great issue with this car is that the engine is not reliable.

My engine blew with only 120,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

4th May 2006, 11:50

Well, there's no way of knowing if the car was taken care of before you owned it. The engine going with 120,000 miles on it doesn't make it a lemon. It just makes it beat.

11th Dec 2008, 07:33

Agreed. Mine has 165000+ and the engine is original. It was meticulously maintained by the previous owner and it runs great and was kept in excellent condition. This is a great car. =)

1999 Plymouth Breeze Expresso 2.4L I4 DOHC from North America


An excellent car, excluding its faulty head gasket


Head Gasket failed and was replaced at 23,000 miles. (Not covered by warranty!)

Left rear power window no longer works.

General Comments:

The car does not feel cheap at all. Compared to other cars in this price range this car feels like a more expensive sedan.

It has power everything and is very comfortable to ride around in.

The 2.4L 4 cylinder engine is by no means a power house, but the car moves when needed. Passing at highway speeds isn't blazingly fast, but I have been in many cars that are far less responsive and slower to accelerate.

This is a great car all around, excluding the head gasket problems all these 4 cylinder cloud cars have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2005

1999 Plymouth Breeze Expresso 2.4L from North America


SELL, SELL, SELL this car!


Have replaced front driver side Hub Assembly shortly after buying it. I made the mistake of buying this p.o.s. at an auction and had already gone out of warranty. Tie rod ends on the front had to be replaced, brakes and rotors, several times, spark plugs and wires. Thermostat, radiator, top and bottom hoses blew and different times. A slow oil leak between the engine and transmission. Now, a blown head gasket that will cost another fortune to fix. Do not buy this car, whatever you do. It drives OK, but is to costly to own. I could have bought it brand new at a dealership for the money I've put into it in parts and labor. Not to mention tons of oil and antifreeze. All in a matter of less than 4 years. Who knows what the previous owner had to do to it.

General Comments:

Don't buy this car.

Save yourself now if your still lucky enough to not have any problems. Sell!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2005

30th Sep 2005, 08:47

Maybe the previous owner did absolutely nothing too it and that's the problem... just a thought.

30th Sep 2005, 15:41

Our '99 Breeze has 147,000 miles on it and runs perfect. It has had no major problems. It was used as a rental up until the 122,000 mile mark (believe it or not) and rental cars don't have an easy life. I think you just got a lemon.

2nd Oct 2005, 04:46

My Breeze was 5 years old when I purchased it. It was originally used in Texas, but was shipped to the UK with just 22000 miles on the clock. It drives like a dream and is one of the best cars i have had. I also own a 94 Camaro, which is quick and gets plenty of looks, but I always prefer to drive the Plymouth.

4th Jul 2006, 09:05

I just bought a `98 Breeze and it is financed at a hefty price. Actual cost was $4,300.00. The Warranty is about $1,300.00.

In less than two months, the passenger rear brakes had to be completely overhauled; main oil gasket had to be replaced; front-end wheel alignment was way off; gas mileage poor (needed a serious tuneup). Because it is fully warranted though, no cost to me, but the off road time hurt.

Also, the ALB light and Engine light remain on, although I was assured that there is nothing wrong with either.

This was owned by only one person prior to me buying it. No former service record available. OK car; looks nice with no rust; the interior is in nice shape.

23rd Mar 2009, 01:29

Piece of crap. Had for a year, needed tie rod ends, head gasket, brakes, rotors, cam sensor, shocks, gas tank filler tube rotted out, and today I can't turn the wheel at all. I would rather drive a wheel barrel.