1999 Plymouth Breeze Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Good value, if you are an above novice mechanic

Faults:

Head gasket started leaking at @58,000 miles. Repaired by Chrysler dealer (with $100.00 deductible, of course). Brakes badly worn by 70,000 miles. Smoke from under the hood started with head gasket problem, but still occurs periodically. But no one can find a problem (I suspect it has something to do with the power steering). Battery died at @ 65,000 miles (and took the alternator with it). The odd location of the battery (underneath the engine, near the front driver-side wheel) adds to the labor for installation.

General Comments:

While in general it's an OK car for the price, it proves you get what you pay for. What you gain up front, you will give back for maintenance.

Nice styling. Plenty of room - it feels more comfortable than the Malibu or Camry.

Value is dropping like a rock, though. Seeing more and more of them on the road, but they must be giving them away at this point.

Bad, bad investment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2004

24th Feb 2006, 07:05

Agree, the Plymouth Breeze has engine and brake issues. Mine is also smoking from under the hood. Believe it is the power steering pump and it seems to eat fluid. The brakes are very minimal at best. I replace the front pads about every 9 to 10 months. Nice car, but you have to be your own mechanic to afford to drive it.

23rd Mar 2006, 15:06

So That's where that darn battery is!!! I felt so stupid for not being able to find it.

23rd Apr 2007, 21:58

Don't feel bad. I couldn't find the battery either. I had to go out and buy the manual.

23rd Apr 2007, 22:01

I replaced the head gasket at 80000.

Brake problems showed up about 1 year ago. I have replaced brakes on all wheels at least twice since last year. Right rear wheel I have replaced four times now. What is wrong with the brakes on this car?

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

The price of the car reflects how much you'll have to put into it

Faults:

I replaced the head gasket at 57,000 miles.

Rear brake cylinders replaced at 115,000 miles.

My outer tie-rod ends were replaced at 115,000 miles.

The spark plug wires were replaced at 65,000 miles.

Front brake disks and pads replaced at 70,000 miles.

The transmission input speed sensor was replaced at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car frame is very rigid and can take corners well under stress.

The cock-pit is arranged very well with everything in plain sight and in easy reach.

The trunk is spacious, but not very tall.

This car needs to have a full size spare tire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2004

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25100 miles
Most recent distance31400 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Overall I am satisfied

Faults:

I had the car for two days and realized that the horn did not work, it needed a new clock spring. (Replacement costs covered by 90 day dealership warranty.)

The lights that illuminate the air conditioning and air flow knobs at night do not work. (Dealership claims to have fixed them.) (They do not work at all)

The mechanism inside the cassette player is offset resulting in sound from only the right speakers.

I have to push the cassette down with my finger or place an object inside the cassette player to get sound from all speakers.

Left rear speaker completely went today. (No sound at all.)

Left front speaker is weak in sound. (Possibly a cheap after market speaker.)

General Comments:

Poor acceleration in comparison to my mothers 1999 Dodge Stratus with a 2.4 Liter DOHC.

A bit loud and shaky when accelerating. (Reminds me a lot of the acceleration in a Neon.)

The interior is very roomy and comfortable.

The stock speakers have good sound.

I like all of the power options. (Power windows, mirrors, locks, steering, and drivers seat.)

I would prefer to have a car with anti-lock brakes. (A little scary when it rains and you need to slam on your brakes for one reason or another.)

Very attractive with the deep amethyst color, the rain guards on the windows and the American Racing rims it came with.

I was less than impressed with the service I got from the dealership I bought it from.

I bought it from a Chevy dealer that also sold used cars. (They had to send me to a Chrysler dealer when the horn was broken, they had no idea what was wrong with it and let it pass inspection anyway.)

I had the car a few hours when I realized the drivers side bottom door panel and the rocker panel were severely dented and the paint was gone exposing metal. (I know for a fact I did not do it and I know that the damage was not there when I first found and test drove the car.)

The dealership told me that I must have done it without knowing it because they certainly did not do it. (I think I would have realized if I had crashed my brand new car.)

After my mother called they finally admitted to letting a friend of an employee drive the car and he indeed did the damage.

They still would not fix it!

They told me it was my problem because I signed all the paper work before I noticed it.

I ended up fishing out $272.00 to have the rocker panel repaired and painted.

But overall I love my car. It drives nice, handles well, gets good gas mileage and turns heads. (I just need to replace that speaker.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2003

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 34 reviews