1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager Reviews

1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE 3.3 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carPorsche 924

Summary:

Comfy, useful, but not perfect

Faults:

Head gasket replaced at 40k miles.

Starter failed at 120k.

Front rotors warped at 130k.

Transmission failure at 140k.

General Comments:

This van was hauled away to be donated today.

The first Grand Voyager we bought, was brought in for repair of the same 'clunking' sound three times, and was eventually replaced under the WA state lemon law. The second one fared much better.

The ride was extremely comfortable, and you could sit in those seats all day. Power more than adequate, even when loaded with kids. Great for long trips, and for hauling cargo and people.

It survived being used to teach 2 teenagers to drive, functioned as a grocery-getter, soccer-mom-mobile, daily driver and cargo truck.

The transmission failure came on slowly, at first it would slam into gear, then eventually would only allow first and reverse. We decided it wasn't worth fixing or selling due to the years of dents, dings and abuse it had suffered at our hands.

May she rest in peace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2010

1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager 3.3L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Distance when acquired153000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carChevrolet TrailBlazer

Summary:

: (

Faults:

Water leak on Passengers side floor & Check engine light.

General Comments:

I some what reluctantly purchased the van. My wife liked it. The overall condition looked fairly well taken care of and the engine seemed solid. The brakes and shocks seemed worn, but for the mileage and year, it seemed reasonable. The price was just about right.

I took if for two fairly long test rides and another 30 miles home without a problem (in the rain). The next morning the check engine light is on and water is visibly seeping on the passenger side floor.

The van was just meant as a grocery getter and short mileage hops for my wife. We are not off to a good start. We live on the outskirts of town and confidence is a must.

I'll change the shocks, but if it hasn't grown on me by the time the registration arrives, it's gone. I'll be happy if we break even.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2007

20th Dec 2007, 14:52

Well let's see... The van is 11 years old & has over 150k miles on it... It needs brakes, shocks, and has a water leak.

The brakes & shocks are normal wear items, and I've purchased at least 2 brand new vehicles over the years that had water leaks.. sounds to me like you're ahead of the game so far!

1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager LX 3.8L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles

Summary:

Was a good vehicle in it's prime

Faults:

The vehicle had a computer chip issue that would not allow the vehicle to start.

General Comments:

Very nice vehicle for long distance trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2007

1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager ES 3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles

Summary:

I thought this car was better than the prejudiced rants against it

Faults:

The water pump failed after 75,000 miles.

The transmission failed after 100,000 miles.

The transmission failed for the last time after 175,000.

General Comments:

This car handles very nimbly and quick. The turning radius has been unmatched.

It's more comfortable than any other minivan I've been in; foreign or otherwise.

It's has a very attractive styling.

It has been no more unreliable than any foreign car I've owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2007

1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

A/C

Transmission failed

Heater Core

Brakes constantly need replacing.

General Comments:

Don't buy one! In fact, all the people on this page should band together for a class action lawsuit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd June, 2007

1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE 3.3 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles

Faults:

Wipers do not work well when using intermittently.

Have changed the front rotors twice.

Had problems with the inner tie rod ends.

Transmission is leaking oil.

Very tough to change the spark plugs behind the engine.

General Comments:

With some TLC, I believe the van will work another 100k miles. But some problems I will not touch like the wipers. Not really worth the hastle

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE 3.3 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Pitiful

Faults:

Transmission exhibited problems at 20,000, failed catastrophically at 39,000. Dealer wouldn't acknowledge complaints leading to the failure. Replaced transmission. Replacement transmission failed catastrophically at 52,000 miles. Cost to me $3,000 for a substandard product, unless you consider transmissions non-durable expendable.

Brakes replaced prior to the cars first birthday.

Electrical problems with sensors, and accessories (lights, windshield wipers).

Air Conditioning that never worked properly. Although repaired multiple times at a cost of roughly $3000, never became fully functional or reliable.

Did I mention, brakes, brakes and more brakes.

Makes more noises, from day one, than any car (regardless of age and wear) I ever ridden in.

The sliding rear doors and gas door have also been a constant problem (functioning) and have required multiple repairs.

To top all this off, Chrysler Corporation treated me poorly and didn't back their inferior product. Interestingly enough, as more problems mounted and it became a National distraction for Chrysler, they began offering the new drive train 10 year warranty. Of course they just wrote off those already suffering.

I will never purchase another Chrysler product. The product is inferior and more importantly, the Corporation is worse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews