1990 Plymouth Laser Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1990 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0Litre DualOverhead Cam 4cyllinder 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0Litre DualOverhead Cam 4cyllinder 16v Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

An awful car that was an albatross

Faults:

From the time I got this car, all it's given me is trouble. The dealer fed me a bunch of lies about it. I had to replace the timing belt, the cadillidac converter, the throttle body position sensor, and the computer-twice. A week after I got it, it started running badly. And the cieling liner fell off on it's own one day.

General Comments:

As far as acceleration goes, it's a fast car. But that's really it's only redeeming quality. The high-performance Dual-OverheadCam Engine is nothing, but trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2004

1990 Plymouth Laser from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired107312 miles
Most recent distance107312 miles

Summary:

The best deal I ever made!

Faults:

Well when I bought the car I already new what was wrong with it. The front left fender is crushed (not my fault). The factory stereo does not work.

General Comments:

I love this car it is so fast. my buddy has a Saturn SC2 and I smoked it.

The car handles great and if you like racing this car is the one you want, especially if you want to outrun a Camaro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

1990 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56438 miles
Most recent distance60279 miles

Summary:

The Laser is the best car I have owned

Faults:

The owner before me messed the car up.

After the transmission was fixed, it has become a great and reliable car.

General Comments:

The Laser is a light, fast and fun car.

The Laser is safe and reliable too.

The only downside to the car is the back seats are rather non functional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

1990 Plymouth Laser from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres

Summary:

It can be your best friend, or your worst enemy

Faults:

With this car there are a few ongoing problems which I have had to deal with. One of which is a terrible squealing noise from the drive belts. I have replaced the belts with a Napa recommended belt and an original Chrysler belt, and still the squealing persists.

One of the major problems I have run into is the transmission (automatic) for this car. I recently had the transmission replaced, yet the car still has a terrible "thud" when it tries to get out of first gear. I have had numerous mechanics (including the dealership) tell me that it could be an engine mount, or it could be that the new transmission gear ratios were not calibrated correctly, and etc. Frustrating to say the least, but thank God the car can still run, somewhat.

Last major problem and the most recent one is regarding the timing belt for these cars. To all you Plymouth Laser, Eagle Talon, or Mitsubishi Eclipse owners from 1989-1994 be advised that there was a revised service bulletin which was sent out for these cars because the timing belts were notorious for slipping! A whole new procedure for properly calibrating the timing belt was introduced back in 1993. As well, a revised belt was issued because the old timing belts were prone to stretching. I have been told by my mechanic this is a huge problem for most cars of this model range. Talk to your mechanic and get your belt checked. You would be much better of spending $150 for a new belt as opposed to $3000 because of a blown engine due to a timing belt slip.

General Comments:

I love the styling and and this car has some nice kick on the highway. The only issue I have is with the head room, this is definitely not a car for tall people.

The wheel covers were not the nicest of designs, and I have since replaced them with 16' alloy rims, with low profile firelli's, looks great for the summer and definitely draws stares.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

15th Jun 2003, 22:52

The timing belt cannot slip. But it can jump over teeth.

22nd Aug 2004, 21:07

My Talon balance belt shredded and part of it dislodged my timing belt resulting in 16 bent rods. Got to replace those belts every 50k or so!

25th Oct 2004, 16:15

Yes, the "thud" transmission problem is very disconcerting. I drive my automatic very much like a standard, which alleviates the problem somewhat. The transaxle seals are killing me though. Replaced two (passenger side) in one year. Thing leaked more than the Exxon Valdez... very embarrasing...my company asked me to park in the street.

13th Jul 2006, 04:17

All car models made with the "feature" of a bad timing belt destroying the engine should, rather than being junked, be "stolen" by "thieves" who leave it in a manufacturer-franchised dealer's lot.

On fire.

12th Sep 2006, 18:54

The above comment is completely wrong. They are called "interference engines" for a reason. I USED TO work at a Honda dealership, people whine and cry when they have to pay 500 dollars for a timing belt/water pump. It`s just the nature of the vehicle - these are pentroof combustion chambered, high performance engines. The superior engine design is how they make power from such a small displacement... You ARE getting your money`s worth from these vehicles. Let`s see you get 200k miles out of a junker domestic and spend less money on maintaining the vehicle...It`s not going to happen. In fact you`ll probably spend a lot more money on some junked out domestic.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews