1990 Plymouth Laser Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1990 Plymouth Laser RS Turbo 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

A beautiful budget sports car

Faults:

No real problemss yet other than paint oxidation.

General Comments:

This is a very fast car for the money I paid for it. Wheel hops when I burn out, but I think is because I am using hard compound tires. Great gas mileage, especially compared to my 1981 Skylark... Very sporty and hugs the road exceptionally well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2002

1990 Plymouth Laser 1.8L Non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L Non-turbo Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance160568 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

The Plymouth Laser has its ups and downs

Faults:

My head gasket blew.

The Electronic Control Module's processor went bad.

The Rotor for the Distributor cracked.

The Air-Conditioning belt squeals for a little while after starting.

The Laser runs at a 17,000 rpm level at idle. Which is about 16,000 above the norm.

The Water Pump pulley wore down to the point where, the pump itself would shake, because of the vibration of the warped pulley rolling with the belt.

General Comments:

I'm not saying that the Laser is a bad car. I'm just saying that is does not have a very long life. The first ten years of the car's life were great. It ran beautiful. But it seems that ten years must be it's warranty.

The Laser is small in the back seats, but open in the front.

The Laser handles real well, but I think it lacks power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

1990 Plymouth Laser 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles

Summary:

I LOVE this car!

Faults:

I had to get a new starter when I got it.

I needed a new motor before I got it.

I still have an unfixable oil leak.

I go through 4 quarts of oil per week.

I had to have the transmission replaced after 9 months.

Twelve dollars fills the car up, but it also goes through it quickly.

The car vibrates and hums strangely when you start going past 70mph.

With both motors, there has been this loud rattling sound no one can identify.

The hatchback cover never stays in place, I've gone though 2.

General Comments:

This car is fairly economical and fun to drive, perfect for any single or teenager.

It's a "young" car, as far as how it makes you feel.

Slippery roads and bad weather are NEVER an obstacle for this car.

The backseat and its foot-space are AWFULLY small!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

1990 Plymouth Laser RS 16v DOHC non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 16v DOHC non turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

Fast and furious, great and reliable

Faults:

- Right headlight light burnt out twice in a year.

- Power windows are stubborn in cold weather.

- Fan belt fell off, whines in winter.

- Could have more room for the back seat passengers.

- It's broken right, now I have no idea what it is, it turns over, but won't start.

I rev-ed it up too high up an icy hill, over heated and screwed something. It still turns over though so hopefully it's not serious.

General Comments:

- It drives awesome, it's quick.

- Shifts good, could burn gas better.

- Exellent car for a stereo.

- Great for street races off the stop lights, pretty good jump ahead.

- Great in any weather conditions.

- Spend some money and it's a sweet racing car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

5th Jun 2003, 01:03

Sounds like your timing belt and tensioner have slipped. hopefully it hasn't bent a valve or two since these engines are an interference type engine, meaning when the timing belt slips it could damage the valves and or pistons.

Same thing has happened to me on a snowy day in January. I was lucky it didn't slip one more cog, it would have been time to rebuild the engine.

1990 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

I don't need a Porsche, I have a Laser!

Faults:

Headlights must be manually opened/closed

Frequent brake repairs

General Comments:

Has blind spots and not a lot of room for rear passengers.

It has the need for speed.

Handles like a dream in any weather conditions.

Makes this over 40 owner feel 25.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2002

1990 Plymouth Laser from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Duster

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

The transmission went out in late 2000. The cost was a tremendous $2000. The transmission is again going out. I am taking it back to the repair shop where he gave me a one year warranty to get it fixed again.

The overdrive went out and I had that fixed.

The sleeper headlight system is out. It will cost $60 to replace the unit.

The hydraulics in hatchback went out. Will also cost around $60 to replace.

There is a big blind spot in both the front and back.

There is not enough room in the backseat area for passengers. Either they have no head room, hitting their heads against the back window, or there is not enough leg room.

The rubber trim along sides of car keep coming unglued and fall off. I have had the driver's side fixed twice, already awaiting a third time.

General Comments:

All in all, I love this car. I have put a lot of money into it, but feel it was well worth it.

The car rides well and is very reliable.

I had found out a few weeks ago that my cousin in California owns the exact same year, model, and color as I do. We compared notes with each other, and both have had the same problems, especially with the transmission. And she feels the same way I do about keeping the car and fixing it instead of trading it.

I am very happy with this car. I love the looks of this car and the way it drives.

Everyone has repairs when they own a vehicle. But it was quite a shock to me when the mechanic told me it had a Mitsubishi engine causing the repairs and parts to be so expensive.

Everyone loves my car. I get a lot of inquiries about it. It is a sporty looking vehicle on the outside, yet has an extremely comfortable look and feel on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

31st Jul 2008, 23:33

I just bought a 91 Laser RS, I don't know if it has a turbo in it or not, it's in the shop with fuel pump problem, but could you tell me how to tell if it's a turbo or not?

Let me know at bigleeman1981@yahoo.com thanks.

1990 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

I will never sell or get rid of this car

Faults:

I had to replace the passenger side CV joint at 60,000 miles.

I had the fuel injectors cleaned, and the fuel pump replaced at 62,000 miles.

General Comments:

With a stock engine it is pretty slow.

I put a bunch of after market products on my car and now it performs like a dream.

I would recommend this car to anybody. Especially if you are looking for a cheap car that will last, looks sporty, and to hook it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews