1993 Plymouth Laser Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Plymouth Laser from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

My sweet little car

Faults:

The hatchback dosen't stay up on its own, so I leave vice grips in the hatch.

Sluggish acceleration from a stop, especially with the air on. This is definitely not a problem with my boyfriends turbo model. But he has to use vice grips also.

There are serious blind spots.

The backseat sucks, but I don't have to sit there.

General Comments:

This car was the best first car a girl could ask for.

It has been very reliable and a lot of fun. It's a little slow to start, but then it will blow you away.

I don't think ill ever find a car I can afford that will handle like this one. I scare my passengers flying around turns, but I know what she can do.

Sometimes I wish I had bought the turbo model so I could really fly, but girls are more sensible. I just look at my beautiful rims that I practically stole from my boyfriend when he needed money to replace the transmission (2nd time) in his baby.

I will never sell this car, and I know my boyfriend will never sell his no matter how many transmissions he burns.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

22nd Jul 2003, 09:25

"The hatchback dosen't stay up on its own, so I leave vice grips in the hatch."

Ha ha, mine too. I need to get some vice grips as I prop mine open with a piece of wood. I live in constant fear that I'll be decapitated.

~Tina.

27th Aug 2004, 18:22

On my 1992 Plymouth Laser, the hatch struts have been replaced. If you would like to do the same, view this link.

http://www.vfaq.com/mods/hatchstruts.html

23rd Jul 2006, 12:43

Yep, I replaced mine too. It costs, but its worth not worrying about losing a head or badly placed finger.

1993 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Waste of money

Faults:

The hydraulics on my hatchback don't work.

The cigarette lighter doesn't work.

My heat shield on my catalytic converter fell off!

A gasket blew causing oil to leak everywhere, destroying my timing belt.

My oil and antifreeze leak.

My exhaust hose is cracked.

The timing belt has now been replaced twice and the power steering once.

Sometimes at red lights, the engine just shuts off.

And just yesterday something made a horrible sound when I hit 45 mph. I pulled off and oil leaked out everywhere, smoke was pouring from the exhaust, and the engine shutoff (all of this last problem occurred within an hour of getting it out of the shop). I think I blew the head gasket, but have to wait a couple days to see what else is wrong with it.

General Comments:

This car is horrible.

It has no power for a sports car.

I have spent almost as much money in repairs as the price of the car.

The car has been in the shop more times than I have driven it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

1993 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Very quick and smooth

Faults:

Bad spark plug wires needed to be replaced. Hatchback door doesn't hold up by itself. Leaks bad from the roof. All factory speakers busted. Emergency brake light stays on.

General Comments:

This car is great. Aside from the minor issues, this car has had no major problems. I went 1 1/2 years with no oil change and it still performs well. Still has the factory battery/alternator. It's a non-turbo, but a lot quicker than 90% of the 4 cyl cars out there. I've raced it stock and have beaten V6's and tons of Hondas. Handles extremely well and corners like no other.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2002

1993 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

One hell of a car!

Faults:

I am having the fly-wheel replaced.

The transmission was rebuilt.

I have put a new motor in it with 40,000 mile on it.

Its a very fun car to drive.

I also repainted the quarter panels.

It is a very comfortable car.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rail!

Well it is quick!

However the cabin is nice and the seats are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

1993 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles

Summary:

Other than the problems I have had with it, it is very fun to drive

Faults:

Timing belt broke, and had to replace the engine (expensive).

Shortly after replacing the engine, the transmission went, had to replace it (also expensive).

Starter needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

The car is quick and handles well with fairly good tires on it.

Not much room in back seats, but makes the custom stereo sound great.

Very large blind spot.

Paid more to get the car fixed than I originally paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

21st Sep 2001, 08:59

I also own a Plymouth Laser. I too have put more into the engine than I paid for the car itself.

The car has extremely great potential to compete in a car show, but you might be better off buying a new car. I've contemplated the thought and came to the conclusion that I could win in the Plymouth divison of every car show I went to if hooked it up.

But those same type of mechanical problems are always going on. Right now my Laser is in the shop for both front and back engine mounts, and new bushes. But the car really is worth a lot of the trouble you put into it.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews