1999 Plymouth Neon Highline 2.0 from North America


If you love your family and like your money don't get one!


Since purchasing this vehicle we have come to the conclusion that it is a money pit.

From the get go it had bad spark plugs, took 2 or 3 times for the dealer to figure it out.

Front brakes were replaced with less than 36,000 miles on it in Year 2000.

In 2001 we had to take it in for an oil leak (O-ring for the oil sensor failed- less than 40k miles.

Now in 2003 is when all the major bad stuff has started, transmission leak X2,

2 stripped transmission pan bolts, front and rear struts replaced, Broken motor mount replaced. And best of all, the cars suspension feels like it's going to fall apart at any time. It's been checked 2 times for the same noises (rattling and popping when hitting even small bumps in the road) but can't isolate the problem.

All this with just hitting 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

If it weren't for the problems with the car it wouldn't be that costly to maintain, but even with all that has been done with the car so far the suspension still rides rough and makes the rattling and popping noises. Unfortunately I feel that my money pit nightmare isn't over yet, so far this year over $800.00 in repairs and maintenance. My wife and I both do not feel very safe in the vehicle especially after reading the crash test reviews form credible organizations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2003

9th Apr 2006, 14:08

You do know that the Neon got a 3 star rating on the front and side crash tests right? (that's from the government) and that's better than some other more "highly" praised compacts...

9th Apr 2006, 17:05

What good is a 3 star NHTSA rating if you're broken down on the side of the road?

9th Apr 2006, 20:43

Because if you're sitting waiting for the tow truck and somebody rear-ends you on the shoulder, you'll be safe. Duh!

10th Apr 2006, 01:08

Exactly. Sitting on the side of the road.

10th Apr 2006, 12:30

Please explain how getting 3-star FRONT and SIDE crash ratings in any way makes a statement about the car's rear-end crash worthiness.

1999 Plymouth Neon Expresso 2.0 4 cylinder. DOHC from North America


Disappointed to have such a big problem with an otherwise good car


Head gasket began leaking at 35,000 miles.

Tail lamps and gaskets had to be replaced due to leaking.

General Comments:

It's a great looking car.

Handles well and is a fairly comfortable ride.

Excellent gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

1999 Plymouth Neon Expresso 2.0 from North America


It looks like a very good deal, but in the long wrong it is the worst vehicle you could buy


By the time I owned the car 2 years, the transmission started to wear out and the head gasket was cracked. Ever since you had to put oil in it every week because it leaked so much. The transmission and engine went bad on the car right after the warranty ran out, and the manufacturer admitted that it was their mistake, but took no action toward compensating for it. To fix the car would cost more than it was worth. Not worth it for a car only four and a half years old that was bought brand new.

General Comments:

It is a very cute car and very comfortable. If the parts it were made with weren't junk, it would be an excellent car. Don't fall into the same trap I did, yes it's a very nice car and works very well for a short period of time, but wears out far too quickly. The engine has blew and is un-drivable, and I still have $2000 left to pay on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

9th Jan 2010, 18:05

I disagree, my wife got her Neon Expresso when she was 16, she drove the car for 100k miles when she hit some black ice and totaled it. The car held up very well for a car that size. I'm sure we would still have the car if it weren't for the accident. We would have been happy to put the next 100k miles on it. Great car for the money.