2000 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2000 Plymouth Neon from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

Very nice car!

Faults:

There aren't any problems so far.

General Comments:

I don't own the car, but I'm taking driving lessons in it. If Maxwell Driving School trusts this car, so do I. It's comfortable, reliable, easy to use, and attractive. Great car for first-time drivers!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

2000 Plymouth Neon EX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

Good car for low price, but has its problems

Faults:

No major problems yet. The only big problem I have experienced is the passanger and driver door lock broke. You put the key in and it just turns, but the door does not unlock. I took it to a body shop, who fixed it by putting new clips on the inside door.

General Comments:

This car has been good to me. Good for commuter car or college student.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

28th Feb 2005, 22:59

Is it really that difficult to write a good review? What possesses you to make you think people will give the least bit of a single crap about your 3 sentence review? It doesn't critique the car, it doesn't tell anyone anything. It's a moronic statement from a moron! WRITE A REAL REVIEW. DO NOT POST WORTHLESS CRAP LIKE THAT. A description of one problem (described far more than necessary, even if only 2 sentences), and a stupid opinion do NOT make a review!! WHY DO YOU EVEN COME TO THIS SITE? For crying out loud. I, and I assume others, come to this site looking for at least decent, and at most comprehensive automobile reviews! Not sniveling crap like yours! Please, don't write another review until you've recovered from your stupidity. Thank you.

1st Mar 2005, 07:17

Wow, the writer of the above comment needs to chill out.

There are plenty of useless reviews on this site, both short and long ones.

That's what the "second string" category of reviews is for. You relegate the worthless ones there by rating them.

Then you don't have to look at 'em.

2000 Plymouth Neon LX 2.0 SOHC (132 hp) from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC (132 hp) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance37650 miles
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Summary:

Still a great car to drive, 5 years later

Faults:

Since my last review on the car...

The front struts were replaced.

The rear brakes were replaced.

The clutch cable failed.

General Comments:

The car still runs very well; after 5 years, I still quite pleased with it.

There have been no "mystery" problems like oil leaks coming from nowhere.

I'm upset that the clutch cable failed, but that's one of the possibilities one has to live with when driving a car with a manual transmission.

I don't expect to replace the clutch itself for many years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

2000 Plymouth Neon from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles

Summary:

Good for the first 4 years then sell it.

Faults:

The car is 4 years old and is starting to have big problems with the brakes. Looking at a $300 - $400 fix. The dash board is totally sun faded. But good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2004

2000 Plymouth Neon LX 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A cheap reliable auto

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car since I have had it other than front brake replacement.

General Comments:

It is very reliable, runs smooth, and has a lot of power for a small car. I would definitely reccommend a Neon for anyone who wants a cheap reliable car. I use it to drive to college every day and it gets great gas mileage and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2003

2000 Plymouth Neon LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Do not buy a Neon

Faults:

My CD player had to be replaced twice.

The power window stopped working.

My battery died at 25,000 miles.

Plastic gas tank nozzle caves in constantly.

General Comments:

This car is horrible. I do not recommend anyone buying a Neon ever.

Performance is terrible.

Gas mileage is not good.

Car idles rough and the engine sounds like it is going to die at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

11th Apr 2003, 21:46

My God! It sounds like my car!

19th Mar 2005, 14:24

Sounds like the poor neon needs a new owner...lol.

7th Jan 2011, 23:31

I have a '00 Neon, have had it for 11 years, and still running with 160,000 miles, no mechanical problems yet. Just regular tuneups and oil changes.

2000 Plymouth Neon from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43600 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

Nice reliable vehicle

Faults:

I just had the battery fail. I have had the car less than 3 years and 43000 miles and I am told that the battery is bad.

General Comments:

I really like the amount of room in the car. For a small car there is plenty of space.

The back seat is split with access to the trunk, so I can carry extra long items if I have the need.

I have not had any other problems with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 16 reviews