1983 Plymouth Reliant Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1983 Plymouth Reliant 2.2 liter 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired132363 miles
Most recent distance134783 miles

Summary:

A piece of junk.

Faults:

Front joint snapped at 132,400 miles.

Alternator is not charging anymore.

Heater core blew.

Alternator belt snapped.

Butterfly flaps in the carburettor are hanging (choke is sticking).

Brake housing went out.

Oil leak.

16 miles per gallon in town. 22 miles per gallon on the highway.

Engine dies in gear after long warm-ups.

Transmission is not shifting evenly.

General Comments:

This car runs good, but has major problems. Everytime I get paid, I have to pump money into the car with parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

29th Nov 2003, 19:52

I'm sorry, but what do you expect from a car that was 18 years old when you bought it? I once owned one of these cars and I hated it too, but I bought it in the 80's and got rid of it in the early 90's.

4th May 2004, 23:02

See that is an illogical comment. Just because a car is old when you get it doesn't mean anything. Should you expect problems, of course, but its not as if the guy was expecting the car to virtually fall apart after he bought it. Look at people with the old Model T's and the Dusenberg's. They are nearly twice as old as the Reliant and hold up better. Given they were hand built and probably went through restoration, but with typical maintenance and a little TLC, what car won't go on forever?

28th May 2004, 10:29

To the reviewer and the author of the second comment: Hello!!! the car had over 130K miles on it when you bought it and you are upset that it needed repairs? That's why you got it cheap (or should have).

And if you want to talk illogical, comparing a restored Duesenberg (not "Dusenberg") to a beater Reliant is about as illogical as you can get!

15th Jul 2004, 00:42

A Reliant with 130K??? It should me in a museum!!!

10th Aug 2004, 22:22

I have a 1981 Reliant K (4-Door, Automatic transmission, 2.2L) with over 350,000 miles on the odometre. I bought it in 1982 with 3 miles on the odometre. It still runs like new. The trick to keeping any sort of Chrysler made vehicle running smoothly, is maintenance. You MUST maintain your vehicle very carefully, if you want to be able to expect the kind of performance, that I have gotten, and continue to get (60 miles to work and back every day). Of course, if you buy a used car, you really have no idea what it's been through.

---Joe.

1983 Plymouth Reliant 2.2 police engine package from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 police engine package Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired235000 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles

Summary:

Good school car

Faults:

Regular things like timing belt, brakes, electrical system. Nothing major that doesn't need to be fixed with regular stuff.

Cruise control quit.

Vinyl seats split... Oh well.

Rust has taken over, but that's because it was a government car.

Power steering stopped working and the power brakes leak.

General Comments:

Good on gas with the 4 speed manual.

Good heating and air.

Lots of space.

Seats nine... not legally, but you know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

1983 Plymouth Reliant 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

Indestructible

Faults:

Steering gear was out when I bought the car.

Very uneven performance and mileage. Runs like new some days, runs rough others. Mileage ranges from 11 to 23, depending on how it is running!

General Comments:

Overall reliable, a good work car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews