1993 Plymouth Sundance Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1993 Plymouth Sundance 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles

Summary:

An excellent dependable car fun to drive

Faults:

Headliner material was bad and was replaced.

Water leak around window in hatch. when I got the spare tire compartment was full of water.

Bottom lip of hatch was rusted bad when purchesed and was fixed.

Factory hub caps do not stay on good.

General Comments:

It is a great first car.

Easy to drive.

Fun to drive.

Hatch with fold down seat give lots of cargo room with 2 passengers.

Motor runs great, just reagualar service.

Motor has plenty of power.

Paint is mostly in great shape for its age.

Handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2004

1993 Plymouth Sundance from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Summary:

Acceleration is the best out of the whole car

Faults:

The first thing that happened is I found out that I have a really bad oil leak.

The oil comes out just as fast I put it in.

One day while I was sitting in my house, the tire blew by itself. Acouple of days ago I found a gas leak in one of the gas lines.

About a month ago, me and my brother were driving on a country rode and I was driving to fast so I loss control of it and went into a ditch and poked a whole into the exhaust. So now it's really loud.

I can't find anyone that will paint it because of the door jams.

If it gets painted the interior door panels would have to be taken off.

General Comments:

I love the acceleration on it.

The steering awesome.

The gas mileage is better than I expected it to be.

It's very comfortable.

I don't like the color of the interior though (grey).

I've decided to redo everything (Interior, exterior, and engine).

It's really hard to find custom fit accesories for it (Ground effects, exhaust, spoiler etc..)

Other than that it's very reliable and I don't think I'll be getting rid of it soon. If the engine seizes I plan to put a much bigger engine in it and take it to shows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

1993 Plymouth Sundance Duster 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired115004 miles
Most recent distance116527 miles

Summary:

Awesome first car and awesome for the price!

Faults:

There were three quarter-sized paint chips on the roof when I first bought the car.

Gas mileage can be a bit better.

General Comments:

I'm 16 years old and I purchased my 1993 Sundance Duster back in January as my first car. I practiced driving with my car until March when I got my driver's permit. I have to say that I don't think I could have gotten a better car for my money. It was originally $1,900 but the dealer accepted $1,000 for it because of the three paint chips and because he had the car there for several months. I absolutely love my car!!!

I was going to buy a 1999 Plymouth Neon Expresso instead for $3,000 but chose the Duster after reading the reviews on this web site about it, so my best friend purchased the Neon and he's had problems with it beginning the same week he owned it.

I would never, ever trade my car in for anything. My mom was even a little skeptical about my car and the mileage on it, but now she drives it more than her 2002 Silverado! The 3.0 V6 has a lot of power and I can't wait to see how it performs with my friend's '93 5.0 Mustang.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2004

22nd Feb 2005, 09:49

Good luck with that I have a 3.0 v6 and lost to a 5.0 mustang

9th Jul 2008, 23:49

What! No way, I've smoked Mustangs with mine... it looks like a piece but it's funny when people wanna race it thinking they'll win... and then outta no where I smoke them... I mean definitely off the line I've killed many cars... but I don't know man, with my Duster I've beat a 5.0 Mustang. Dusters are mad quick... and I LOVE it.

1993 Plymouth Sundance 2 Door base 2.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carChrysler Oldsmoble Cutlass

Summary:

Good basic transportation

Faults:

The paint is peeling off all over the top and deck lids. The only problem I have had was soon after purchase, it developed an air leak in the left door, but was repaired under warranty.

I have followed the service procedures per the owners manual, and have had no mechanical problems what so ever.

The valve cover was leaking oil, but was corrected using a real gasket instead of silicone gasket from a tube.

General Comments:

This was my first new car and it does what it's suppose to, gets me from point A to B.

The handling was OK for it's day, but nothing special compared to todays standards.

The performance is creepy off the line and the engine vibrates horribly when pushed hard.

The brakes are excellent, the front has been replaced one time and the rear is original.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

11th Dec 2003, 21:38

I'm the same guy who wrote the review, since that time the headliner has flopped and is now lining my head. The rear springs are sagging, yet the ride height is within spec. The rear end is also creaking, snapping and popping when the body flexes, it is possible the tube running through the u-channel has broken welds. The car has 102k miles and still runs as good as ever.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 17 reviews