1993 Plymouth Sundance Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1993 Plymouth Sundance from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

Spectacular first car!

Faults:

Head Gasket Blew at 80,000m.

Inside Ceiling is falling off.

Had to Replace the Radiator.

Oil started leaking at about 90,000m.

Passenger front Wheel Bearing had to be replaced.

Driver side Back Wheel Bearing is going out.

General Comments:

This was my first car and it has been wonderful! I do not understand why they stopped making The Sundance and Shadow- they were wonderfully built.

This car has been great on gas.

It has been through a lot and has been very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2005

1993 Plymouth Sundance 2.2L 4-Cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4-Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles

Summary:

I love this car and want to give it a complete interior makeover!

Faults:

Brakes are going, after 2 months of hard driving, and people popping out in front of me.

Tires are worn.

Exhaust is loose.

General Comments:

This car is a lot of fun to drive not only because it is quick and maneuverable, but because it is also a five-speed.

I want to put a six-speed in to get it going a little quicker and a v-6 instead of the four-cylinder that is in it right now.

I have been driving this hard for two months now and its still running pretty good, but the brakes are going I'm not sure if its from all the salt and sand on the roads up in nd. its either that or people that think they can accelerate faster than I'm coming towards the intersection. and having to slam on the brakes so the insurance doesn't go up.

But the acceleration is good in this car and drives well in the snow. I have been beating people on the streets with it and the other people are driving suvs or trucks I have even beat a Monte Carlo when it wasnt icy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 2005

9th Feb 2005, 13:01

I am the writer for this review and I wanted to add that I now have to replace all the brake pads. the ones that I am replacing are the factory brake pad after 124000 miles on it.

16th Jan 2006, 17:37

Its impossible for the car to have the factory brake pads after 124,000 miles.

1993 Plymouth Sundance 2-door 2.2 5speed from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 5speed Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

Great economy car, a lot of fun to drive

Faults:

Bought the car with 92,000 miles on it, fried the clutch on the way home.

New drive shafts, new brakes, new camshaft, new head gasket, new tires, new hub in front end.

General Comments:

Great car for the money. NADA isn't even reasonable on the value, and these cars can be bought really cheap for what they are. I feel that mine is worth $2000, even though book says it's worth $800. Won't find anybody to give me that kind of money for a car that I'd drive to CA tomorrow. Have had it 1200 miles from home and back again with no problems whatsoever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2004

1993 Plymouth Sundance 2 door hatchback 2.2 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired101989 miles
Most recent distance105845 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

Nice fast car

Faults:

One day the clutch was thrown from drive to reverse while going 50 mph. The transmission slowly died, and now doesn't work! My own fault.

General Comments:

I love this car. It was fast and has a great design. I will never get rid of my old girl!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

1993 Plymouth Sundance Base Model from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission Base Model Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Budget Mobile At It's Worst

Faults:

The car seemed to be an accident magnet. I had the car for less than 2 years and was in 6 accidents -- none of them my fault. In fact, that's what killed her... the thing got totaled from a freak head-on collision when another driver apparently didn't notice the car and attempted to make a turn -- right into the front of my car. I had the same accident in the same spot only 6 months prior (so that intersection was accidents number 4 and 6).

It also had issues with the catalytic converter more than once.

The car squeaked from the back. I had at least 5 garages look at it and spent -- if you can believe it -- over $1000 to correct the issue. Of course, it never got corrected. One garage suggested completely removing the back half of the car and replacing it.

General Comments:

A fun to drive economical budget mobile. Mine was a white 2-door hatchback. I haven't seen many of those, for some reason. I usually see white 4-doors.

Cheap to buy, doesn't cost as much as an import to get fixed -- especially now when used parts will be running rampant as these cars are not known for their longevity. But, still, the unsolved squeaking really bothered me.

The interior looked a little chintzy, like the fabric had been picked up by Dodge at a second-hand store.

Overall, I did not care much for this car. While it was good on gas and such, it drove sluggishly and the AC was no longer working at the 3 year, 43000 mile mark (when I bought it). It is a budget mobile at it's cheesiest.

It also looked as if it had been in several accidents BEFORE I purchased it. The white paint didn't match from one part to the next... leading me to believe that the car was, in fact, cursed. May it rest in peace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2004

5th Jul 2004, 07:58

If what you say is true then I think your being to hard on this car. Think about it.. You say the SIXTH accident finally killed your car. These kinda cars aren't worth much to begin with so minor collision damage can easily exceed the car's value. The majority of cars in the price range would probably be totalled after 1 or 2 collisions; To survive 5+ accidents and still be fix is the kind of build quality I expect from my dad's $40k Ford F350. How you can complain so much about a Squeak noise from a car that's surpassed what anyone can reasonably expect from it is beyond me.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 17 reviews