1994 Plymouth Sundance Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1994 Plymouth Sundance 2.2L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired194000 kilometres
Most recent distance202000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

O2 Censors

Fuel Filter (Reg. Maintense)

Rusting.

General Comments:

The Car is awesome when its fully maintained. I got this car from a relative and it was sitting in their garage for most of the time they had it. So it needs plenty of work, O2 Censors and Maintense. The car eats gas more than my Caravan right now. But it needs the O2 Censors for the Ontario Emissions Test.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

1994 Plymouth Sundance 2.5 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing. No problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

This little car is fantastic. I live in the Twin Cities and this car has gotten me from Wisconsin to Lake Superior without a hitch. Gets me to work on time every night, as well.

Doesn't "jump" on to the freeway, needs to ease on, but cruises fine once it gets going. Feels like your pushing it past 65 mph.

Does fine around town, easy to park and good on gas, good cabin visibility and ergonomic controls.

Trunk is very spacious for a sub-compact.

Change the oil and keep it tuned and you've got a little tag-along road pal for a long time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2005

4th Feb 2007, 16:30

I have a 2.2L auto '94 Sundance, dark green 4 door with about 110,000 miles on it. I have a 2 mile commute. ;>

It runs fine. Paint has gone bad. needs a few little things like hatch struts. A/C belt has slipped when hot since I got it at 73,000 miles. I have replaced it twice. Current belt is a little better. Maybe the pump is hard to turn? The head liner is going bad.

I will soon come into a windfall of many thousand dollars and considered getting a new used car such as an 05 Neon.

After what I have read here I may just get the Sundance painted and fixed up a bit. :>

1994 Plymouth Sundance 2 D hatchback 2.2 ltr from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 ltr Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

The Almighty Sundance named Ezmeralda

Faults:

I haven't had many problems with my car in the last 5 years that I have had it.

Timing belt, thermostat, and brakes went at about 90,000 miles.

Normal oil changes.

Full tune up done at about 105,000 miles.

New tires at about 110,000 miles.

That stupid brake pin went 2 times-that switch that turns the brake lights on and off.

Replaced battery a few times, my own fault, I had fog lights put on the car and they hooked them directly to the battery.

Twice a year, she gets a full detail.

General Comments:

I love my car, she has been very good to me.

I paid $4000,5 years ago and was able to do most of the work myself, which saved me ALOT.

It could use a few more cup holders and an ashtray in the back.

I must say, she is 10 years old and still has a beautiful shine to her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

6th Mar 2006, 11:20

Directed at the last comment, not the initial review.

Actually, it sounds like you just had an uncommonly bad run of luck. The Chrysler 2.2L Corporate engine is renowned for its performance and reliability.

I have owned several Chrysler vehicles, and they have never been anything, but capable and reliable. Basically, you're blowing hot air.

6th Mar 2006, 17:39

The only time a Chrysler product blows hot air is when the air conditioner is on max.

27th Jun 2006, 22:29

My comment is geared towards the first comment by the guy complaining how awful Chryslers are and how bad the 2.2L motor is. You MUST have had notoriously bad luck because the 2.2L engine has a reputation for being incredible durable and long lasting. To think that other car makers don't make junk vehicles is just foolish. My Dad's girlfriend has a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox with roughly 26k miles that she bought brand-new and the thing has had SERIOUS mechanical problems already! The stupid thing was loosing coolant and running hot. She took it to the dealer who took the engine apart because they thought the head was warped. It ended up being a leaky gaskets and a bad pump. At the same time the stupid AWD system was staying locked in AWD full time, which it's not supposed to do, causing the rear wheels to skip and squeal everytime she took tight turns. Toyota is good, but far from perfect nor is Nissan. Everyone makes junk. Cars are created by man after all.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 13 reviews