1993 Plymouth Voyager Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Plymouth Voyager 3.3L V-^ from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3L V-^ Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A bad dream I hope I wake up from

Faults:

Transmission started slipping right away. Fortunately I found the leak before any major damage occurred.

I just bought the van and have very little information on prior work done to the vehicle.

General Comments:

The water pump just went out. I'm into my 2nd day working on that. Who's idea was it to drive the water pump off the timing belt anyway? What a horrible design. I have the new pump installed... but the timing is totally f.u.b.a.r. Hopefully I'll get it back together tomorrow.

I also have a 95 caravan in the shop right now having the transmission replaced at a cost of $1900. This after we just had the head gaskets replaced in April 03. A heater core in October 02 (that was an adventure). And I'll never figure out why the stereo cuts off sometimes for no reason. The only fix is to turn the ignition off, then back on again (reboot I guess).

Thank goodness for my 91 explorer... at 210,000 miles all I've replaced is one clutch besides routine stuff, brakes, etc...

I will never buy another voyager/caravan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

8th Jun 2004, 18:56

Hey man I know what you feel,

When I got my transmission rebuilt it cost-ed me $2300.00 and 2000 miles later the head gaskets went and ceased the motor...

And that was at 113,000 miles.

After the motor died I got smart and junked it.

1993 Plymouth Voyager from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carDodge Van

Summary:

Poor

Faults:

In 1998 (5 yrs. old), van put me by side of interstate (I had cancer and didn't have hair either in freezing temperature) - just quit running. Had to have gas line replaced because of trash in line. Cost $350 plus much inconvenience (had to rent car for three days since we were traveling & had to see a doctor)!

Radio speaker on left went out when van was seven years old.

Rear windshield wipers went out around $100,000 miles.

Air conditioner stopped cooling around 75,000 miles. Repaired for $500.

Storage drawer on passesnger's side will not stay shut unless locked. Van only about five years old when this happened.

Today, the paint looks terrible (been in a garage some too). Needs new paint job, especially on top and on front of hood.

General Comments:

This van needs 40 acres to be turned around - no turning radius at all!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

1993 Plymouth Voyager Base 4 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Precis

Summary:

Base 4 engine is a loser, tranny also poor

Faults:

Every transmission seal and engine gasket replaced, some more than once; leaks began within 30 days of purchase, and van was in & out of dealer for major repairs during the duration of ownership.

Frequent factory recalls, miscellaneous everything.

Weak engine, even on this short base model.

I suspect a cracked head or block on this thing was never fixed, just dressed.

General Comments:

Rode very nicely, quieter than a 2001 Montana we now own (and also another potential lemon).

Easy to do basic service (oil, filters) where the Pontiac is a maze.

Lots of loose plastic interior stuff that eventually gave way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

1993 Plymouth Voyager 2.5L 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A great vehicle for anyone to have

Faults:

Only oil changes and a major tune up were needed.

Transmission slips in first and second gear.

General Comments:

This van is a good vehicle for anyone who needs and wants good gas mileage, and more space than a regular passenger car.

However, later model 4-cylinders and early model V-6 engines will eventually lead to major repairs in the future. A used van like this in an early 90's model with a 4-cylinder should bring about convenience and reliability for some time to come

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2001

1993 Plymouth Voyager from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Great family car

Faults:

Transmission went out about 130,000. Have a great mechanic and he told me time and again how to avoid problems with it. The tranny pan is low to the ground and on the front left side. Absolutely cannot run up on a curb or a cement divider. He fixed the tranny pan on four occasions, so I extended the life of the transmission.

Only other problem kept making the engine light go on. Finally determined it was a fuel pump which made me get from 12 mpg to 28 mpg. Now, I've settled back at 18 to 24, and the engine light doesn't go on all the time.

General Comments:

Great van. Probably will try to replace it with the same car, but we tend to drive cars until they die. I think it has another 70,000 miles in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2001

4th Jun 2008, 22:58

Yes I agree I have a 1993 Plymouth 3.3 V6. Sits the whole family nicely and I get 400 miles to the tank full, well that's with a hydrogen generator I built myself. My first hybrid Van. Bought it in 2008 with 128,000 miles on it. Great in the snow too.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews