1996 Plymouth Voyager Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1996 Plymouth Voyager 3.0 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carSaturn Ford LTD

Summary:

A high price loser, needs lots of maintenance

Faults:

Immediately upon purchase, The check engine light started flashing intermittently. The dealer said it was nothing and reset the van so that the light was off. The problem returned after only a few miles. It turned out to be 3 broken exhaust manifold studs.

Next, the head gasket blew at 60,000 miles.

The wheel bearings on the right rear went out at 75,000 miles.

The water pump blew at 90,000 miles.

Next, the intake manifold gasket on the 5th and 6th cylinders blew, and a crack in the rear head appeared resulting in only 30 pounds on the compression stroke.

The cruise control has been unreliable since the purchase of this van.

The the rear windows sucks in the vehicle exhaust whenever they are open. This is not due to a break in the car, it is due to a design flaw.

General Comments:

If you are considering buying a 1996 Voyager with a 3.0 liter Mitsubishi, don't do it. Run away and don't look back. This van is currently on blocks waiting for a new engine. I only still have it because I have to be honest with potential purchasers. They always thank me and drive away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

7th Sep 2008, 17:01

I feel your pain. My experience of steering my Voyager under moderate to heavy braking is that it's a bit like having a fight with drunk pig.

1996 Plymouth Voyager Sport 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

It's a good car if you have money to put into it

Faults:

Clock spring went bad, which controlled the horn and cruise control.

I have changed the brakes ten times since owning the vehicle.

Back door doesn't swing open anymore.

Water pump went bad and caused the timing belt to break while I was driving.

General Comments:

Overall the car has ran like a champ until it hit about 125,000 miles.

Basic maintenance required every 2,000 miles if you want it running properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

1996 Plymouth Voyager SE from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carGeneral Motors Saturn SL1

Summary:

A very bad buy

Faults:

This is the worst vehicle I have ever owned. Bought the vehicle in 1997 - transmission went in 1998 and again in 2000!!!

Headlights were terrible - very poor visibility - even when high beams were on. Extremely difficult to see at night.

Latch on back door had been repaired several times and was totally replaced once.

Side door on driver's side very difficult to open - has been "looked" at several times by mechanics.

Brakes - both front and back have been replaced far too often.

Windshield washer sprayer in front and back - has been repaired several times - doesn't work in winter.

Hood is literally rotting off of the van - the rust is so bad that there are holes in the hood.

Strut Towers have completely rotted right through - I had to have them both completely replaced - at my cost - Chrysler would have nothing to do with that.

General Comments:

I would never own another Plymouth Voyager or a Caravan. Actually I would not ever be buying a Chrysler product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

1996 Plymouth Voyager 3 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 litre Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Too many annoyances

Faults:

Brakes need replaced every 30,000 kilometres.

Serpentine belt and tensioner have been replaced 4 times.

Replaced clock spring.

Front suspension serviced 3 times for clunking noise.

General Comments:

The vehicle is comfortable, but the constant repairs to brakes and belts are extremely annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

2nd Jan 2005, 18:07

Anyone know the location of the impact sensor for the front end of a 1996 Plymouth Voyager?

1996 Plymouth Voyager 3.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Automotive engineering at its worst

Faults:

Transmission went at 60,000.

Gas tank warped to where it would only hold half its capacity.

Head gasket went at 45,000.

Several electrical problems.

New radiator at 65,000.

Many other small annoying problems.

General Comments:

This van has been much more trouble than it has been worth. The 3.3 liter V-6 has less power than the 3.0 V-6 in my 1993 Voyager. Plus, there have been countless problems with this van from the start. From what I've seen, Chrysler's vans went way downhill after their 1996 redesign. I will never buy a new Chrysler product again after this. Now I can see why the company almost went under in the early '80s, turning out junk like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2003

24th Jan 2008, 11:30

Very bad buy. Transmission replaced at 75,000 miles. Piston broke off crank at 160,000 miles and deemed unrepairable. Many electrical problems as well. Horrible gas mileage.

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews