1985 Pontiac 6000 Reviews

1985 Pontiac 6000 STE V6 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired38500 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles

Summary:

I thoroughly enjoy the car

Faults:

The A/C system failed.

The driver's information module failed.

The driver's seat rail system failed.

General Comments:

I love the car's ability to perform most all performance within a level I can enjoy.

I like how everything I wanted came with the car as standard equipment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2008

1985 Pontiac 6000 STE 2.8 Liter V6 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired127500 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

A fine car for those looking for balance

Faults:

I bought this car back in November 2007 from someone who was wholesaling the car. I paid $650.00 for the car and since then have taken it to the local service station whereby I had them include a tune-up, oil change, new filters (including air, oil, and fuel), O2 sensor, check the compression, replace a burned out headlight and taillight.

I took the car in to have the fuel injection cleaned, using the Motor Vac system, flushed out the transmission, cooling system, and brakes.

Later, I had the steering rack replaced, the only item wrong with the car.

General Comments:

What I like about the 6000 STE is it's overall balance.

Balance in regards to steering precision, braking, handling, and ride.

The interior looks new except for the falling down headliner. The seats are very comfortable, adjustable in 8 ways, manually.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2008

1985 Pontiac 6000 6000STE 2.8 V6 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carDatsun 200SX

Summary:

I like a car that has balance

Faults:

The air conditioner stopped working at 120,000 miles.

The drivers information module quit working at 220,000 miles.

General Comments:

I like the overall balance of the car. It handles well, accelerates well, rides well, stops very well, and is well equipped.

It handles well, such that I can take turns much quicker than many other 'sports sedans'.

The STE came with four wheel disc brakes, so it stops really well.

Inside, the car has plenty of room for five people to sit comfortably.

When I used the cruise control, I got decent gas mileage (28-30), like the time I drove to Phoenix.

The 6000STE is very well equipped; it came with a/c, p/s, p/b, p/w, p/door locks, cruise, and an am/fm/cassette with a graphic equalizer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2007

1985 Pontiac 6000 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carCitroen Visa

Summary:

Good car, too bad its production has been discontinued.

Faults:

Ignition control module went out twice.

Brake lines had to be replaced.

Power steering system leaks.

Occasional carburetor issues. One recent problem: when the engine is cold, when attempting to start the engine, it generally gets flooded, which is pretty annoying. Did anybody else experience this?

Replaced windshield washer fluid pump.

Transmission is getting jerky, probably on its way out.

General Comments:

Cheap transportation.

Reliable.

Comfortable.

Roomy.

Versatile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2005

5th Feb 2006, 02:50

20 years old or not, it IS too bad they've been discontinued. And just because it floods does not make a car obsolete. Many new cars flood as well, the fact of the matter is that just because there are a few flaws with an older car doesn't make it obsolete. It's amazing that so many are going strong after 20 years. It is too bad they've been discontinued, maybe if they were still making cars like the 6000, there wouldn't be so many newer cars sitting in the junkyard.

9th Apr 2006, 00:28

Yeah, my car is doing the same thing and flooding out. Other than that, it's a good car. Anyone know what to do about the flooding?

9th Dec 2006, 17:53

I have a 6000 and got over 400,000 (mks, KS) out of it and the engine finally gave out. These cars were great and I have kept mine because I am going to totally restore this General Motors 'work of art'. I feel as if my old 6000 is an actual family member.

1985 Pontiac 6000 STE 2.8L V6/173 CID F/I W from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6/173 CID F/I W Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance243176 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Alternators - many throughout the years. K code wrong on the car, one even caught fire.

Transmission- rebuilt in 1996 110,000 miles.

Engine short blocked at 50,000 miles.

Engine sensors and switches all have needed replacements.

Seats all deteriorated in front, back is in perfect shape.

General Comments:

This car has been a one owner vehicle. Originally purchased on 17 Aug 1985 and still is running great. Pick up has slowed down over the years and parts are getting hard to acquire, but overall, it will be a very sad day when she finally goes.

I am working a complete restoration and it does cost. Keep it clean, I think that it will last another ten years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

5th Dec 2007, 14:46

I have owned my 6000STE since 1988 and have put on 260,000 miles on the car. Up until I bought an Audi A4 in 2001, it was my daily driver. I enjoy the STE quite a lot and have just recently acquired another one, in overall better shape.

I like how you have kept your car as long as you have, for most cars 22/23 years old have long since been relegated to the wrecking yard.

Keep your STE, buy another 6000 or STE as a parts car, for you are right, the parts unique to the STE model is getting hard to find.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews