1985 Pontiac 6000 STE 2.8 V6 from North America


Best car I've ever owned!


I had to replace my mass airflow sensor twice, but that was about the only problem I had with it.. a new alternator, rear shocks, ball joint, rear brakes.. that's it.. not bad for a daily driver that I had for about 5 years!! Best car I have ever owned!

Oh.. the AC condenser had a hole in it which I never fixed.

General Comments:

My poor baby! :-( On Oct 8th 2001 I had a major accident and totaled my 6000.. I was heartbroken! I went to the impound lot to look at it and just about cried!

Does anyone know where I could possibly buy another one of Pontiacs finest?? I loved this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2002

1st Sep 2005, 19:09

If your still looking I also got one ill sell for a low price... about half what is worth. email me at chuck_khuck@hotmail.com.

5th Dec 2007, 14:55

Do not lose hope on finding another 6000STE. I have a 1985 STE, and have kept it since I bought it in 10/88, now with 300,000 on it. Recently, I bought another 1985 6000STE (11/07) in fairly good condition with 128,000 miles on it. So, buy another 6000/6000STE as a possible parts car to keep the car you really enjoy alive.

13th Mar 2008, 07:51

The info I read about the '85 STE's is great... I've had mine for 16 years and it only has 123,000..

I've replaced the steering rack, 3 mufflers, catalytic converter, alternator, water pump, fuel pump, ignition coil, rear shocks and radiator... AC stopped working in 1996. And the stock radio has a station drift issue.

All in All I still love this car with the fog lights, self-adjusting air shocks, and the performance towing package. The only issue is the digital speedometer tops out at 85mph. The car has plenty left in it at that point and I've cruised beyond 145 feet per second for extended periods...

Great ride. still alive.

1985 Pontiac 6000 LE Sedan 2.8 EFI from North America


I love this car!!



Ignition module.




General Comments:

I bought this car at auction last year to have a weekend project. I was surprised at what a deal I had gotten. I guess the ugly paint drove other prospective buyers off. I immediately fixed the ignition problems, and the thing just took off like a rocket! I was going to sell it, but quickly changed my mind.

The interior is in pristine condition. I've never had a car, large or small, with more comfortable seats. Most days, my '99 Saturn sits in the garage because this car is more comfortable for my 3 hour commute.

One thing that has really amazed me is that in the 5,000 miles I've driven it, I haven't changed the oil because the dipstick shows very clear. That's pretty impressive for a car with almost 1/4 million miles on it that sits in bumper to bumper traffic twice a day.

Right now, I'm having to rebuild the brake system. But even that is a relatively easy and fun job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

1985 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 V6 from North America


It's a great car


The only things that have went wrong with the car are basic stuff like the tires.

The front seat is a little torn up.

I just put a brand new stereo system in it.

General Comments:

I think it's an all around good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

1985 Pontiac 6000 2.8 from North America


Great deal


Exhaust system.

Basic tune-up.

General Comments:

I bought this car for 400 for my girlfriend, it runs and drives great and for the year, it only has 1 rust spot, but the paint has faded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2001

1985 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 carburated from North America


One of the best value vehicles on the road today


Fuel pump.

Power steering pump.


Timing chain.

Inner tie rod end.

Ball joint.

Water pump.


Gas tank.

Ignition module.



Water pump.


Wheel cylinders.

Brake line.

CV boot.

Fuel leaks.


Cooling fan.

Sub frame fell off but I patched it.

Oil pan.

Motor mounts.



Brake pads.

These are all the things I have fixed.

What I have not fixed are:

Rack and pinion.



Windshield leaks.

A few wiring glitches.

General Comments:

It may seem like a lot of work, but it's not. You just need a few simple skills to repair them. I have just about put 50,000 miles on a 600 dollar car, that has never left me stranded and has taken me on 3 road trips (2400 miles, 800 miles and 1100 miles) it's decent on gas and the parts are cheap. I love my six-grand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2000