1988 Pontiac 6000 Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1988 Pontiac 6000 LE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Keeps going, and going, and going...

Faults:

Dead battery (old age).

Clogged windshield wiper nozzle (dirt).

Radiator hose leakage (old age).

Intake regulator malfunction (unknown cause).

General Comments:

One of premier cars on the road! Too bad it was discontinued. Along with the Buick Century and the Chevrolet Celebrity, it was one of the best built models in America. I have had my 13 year old car for 2 1/2 years and have had a total of $150 worth of repairs. That's it! I love this car! And every other 6000 owner I have spoken too loves theirs as well.

When I need to get a new car, I'm gonna look for another 6000!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

13th Sep 2008, 04:39

Yep. I've had my '88 LE 18 months and have only had to replace the alternator. It was easy to find a rebuilt alternator and get it installed. Total was $150. The driver's side door lock has given out, and I'll figure out how to fix it myself.

14th Sep 2008, 07:45

I love these cars - Buick Century, Oldsmobile Ciera, Pontiac 6000, and Chevrolet Celebrity. I've driven all four, both as a taxi driver and as rental cars. Yes we used to use these as taxis in the 1990s.

All are bulletproof reliable, with great outward vision and good handling; while nearly identical the have slightly different styles, some softer and some more sporty. It depends whether they had the 3.3 V6, the 2.8, or the 2.5 four cyl.. the 3.1 which came later wasn't very good. Of course the Pontiac and Chevy had 'euro sport' versions as well.

Personal favorite - the Century with the 3.3.

4th Jan 2010, 23:44

The problem is today, it is difficult to find a 6000 in any condition.

5th Jan 2010, 19:23

Our first "modern" used car was an '89 Pontiac 6000 LE station wagon that was bought for $350 in the late '90s. It was a pretty good car, though the front struts were shot and the front end bounced a lot. My dad loved it because it was the first car we had with intermittent wipers, fuel injection (though our third front-wheel drive car), and got much better mileage than our former full-sized station wagons with big V-8's. The check engine light was always on the whole time -- put a piece of tape over the dashboard. It made several 2,000-mile round trips and was a good runabout for several years until the transmission locked up at slightly over 200,000 miles in the early 2000s. I very rarely see them anymore, but it was a great $350 car!

1988 Pontiac 6000 2.8 6 cylinder multi-port FI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 6 cylinder multi-port FI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired183000 kilometres
Most recent distance225000 kilometres
Previous carAudi 4000 S

Summary:

Excellent if living on a budget, and you like to boot it around once in a while, to surprise others

Faults:

Brake callipers were changed in the front, new muffler and that's about it.

General Comments:

Excellent runner, cheap to maintain, lots of possible upgrades which are easy to fit. Simple, perfect for a do-it-yourselfer.

A lot of guts from an old car, Civic and CRX breaker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

21st Apr 2001, 13:28

I have a Pontiac 1985 full size station wagon and have been looking at getting a second car, a 1988 Pontiac 6000. The reviews here have encouraged me. The car has been sitting idle for six months and has major body surface rust in places. The engine runs good with 160000 clicks on it. the car has 260000 clicks on it. I suspect it will need a new gas tank and the replacement of the brake lines. It is a four door and the two front doors have major rust along the bottom with the outter skin separated from the inner skin, I suspect this is repairable. The tires are in good condition though the aluminum wheels concern me with leaking problems? The trunk seems perfectly okay with no apparent rust in it. The spare tire area is also rust free. The owner has not maintained the car properly, such as no transmission fluid replacement for the last three years. This could be a problem. There is a slight "wirring noise" or rubbing noise when the vehicle is turning. This could be universal joint problems or body part loose rubbing on the inside of the tire?

Comments?

16th Aug 2001, 13:28

I agree they are a quick car {the little Pontiac 6000}, a proud owner.

1988 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 multi port f1 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 multi port f1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

The best workhorse of 1988 and a real performance family car

Faults:

The car is one of the best cars that I have ever driven. We had it since it first came out to now.

The only problem was the rust was taking over the car but I have done some extensive body work to return it back to the colour it was before. I was really surprised to see that there were no holes where the rust was and that we never had a single breakdown on the road.

We've broken one ball joint but like nothing serious with the engine.

General Comments:

This car is great, I've been looking for some ground effects for it and am thinking of lowering it and put some black lights underneath the car.

I've got a new CD player deck in it made by Clarion and two ten inch subwoofers in the trunk where I have lots of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2000

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews