2002 Pontiac Aztek Reviews - Page 2 of 7

2002 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54 miles
Most recent distance102800 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

If you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all

Faults:

Sunroof motor blew at 1,200 miles.

Ball bearings blew at 18,000 miles (both sides)

Car interior came apart at 20,000 miles.

Hatch back stopped opening with the key-less remote at about 21,000 miles - Pontiac unable to fix.

Air blown at 63,000 miles.

Manifold gasket blown at 65,000 miles.

Head gaskets blown at 101,000 miles.

Cooling fan blown at 102,800 miles.

The main brain computer melted at 102,800 miles.

General Comments:

In general, the motor/cooling system is not good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2008

2002 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance93341 miles
Previous carChrysler Fifth Avenue

Summary:

Love Affair

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Love this car, best car I have ever owned. What a ride. I have all the bells and whistles except for the Towing package. Drives like a dream. Plenty of room, And the compressor in the back to pump up my tires - well that saves me money! I camp in mine (although I don't have the camping tent that attaches to the vehicle), and I go over some really rough terrain. Have I said I love this car?

Talk about a smooth ride! Absolutely the best vehicle I have ever owned. Why did they stop making these? The cooler console comes in very handy, not to put drinks in, but to store my junk (on my old car the junk just sat in the passenger seat). The six way seat makes adjusting a dream. The separate environmental controls for the back seat ensure my dogs ride in Comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

2002 Pontiac Aztek 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32800 miles
Most recent distance64200 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Caravan

Summary:

IMHO GM gave up too soon with this vehicle

Faults:

Instrument cluster: tach, speedometer, fuel gauge, but not odometer, stopped working in August 2007, after I changed out the battery. Its replacement was fully covered by extended warranty.

While in the shop for the IP, the Pontiac dealer went ahead and changed out the intake manifold gaskets. I personally did not see any leakage and had not been having to add antifreeze or oil, but the dealer's service department said that some seepage was evident on the firewall side of the engine, where I couldn't have easily seen it. I understand that these OEM gaskets are a problem with many GM 2.8/3.1/3.4 V6s built through 2003. Warranty fully covered that repair, too.

Other than these two repairs, this has been a "fill the gas tank, change the oil/lube chassis when the little light says to and enjoy" type of vehicle.

General Comments:

For empty-nesters wanting an economical step-down in size from a big Grand Caravan/ Odyssey type vehicle, this can't be beat! It was much cheaper than any of the late model SWB Caravans we saw, and better-equipped, too.

The Aztek has a much tighter body than a Caravan, doesn't roll in the corners nearly as much, and has a tighter turning radius.

And, you can find it in Wally World's parking lot with ease!

Fuel economy generally beats the "old EPA" estimates of 19/26.

I average 22 in town, with a low of 17.8 in below-zero weather;and 28 on the highway, with an all-time high of 29.3.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2007

2002 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carPontiac Aztek

Summary:

If Pontiac would join forces with the imports, the Aztek would be #1

Faults:

Okay, I just received a letter from Pontiac regarding the front wheel bearings... I have 61000 miles & am finding the rear wheel bearing going... any news on this?

General Comments:

I really enjoy this car. The interior space is awesome. I have intermittent problems with the rear hatch. Overall I like the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2006

2002 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Extremely dissatisfied with GM

Faults:

I own a 2002 Aztek. As soon as it hit 74,000 miles the air conditioning quit. Took it to the repair shop, found out the condenser was cracked and paid $700.00 for the repair after first calling the dealership and being told it would cost me at least $960.00 if not more. Wrote to GM about getting reimbursed after seeing several complaints about Azteks with the same problem with the a/c. Of course they aren't interested because I didn't pay the $960+ at the dealership. It's not a "safety" issue so they won't issue a recall. I certainly won't purchase another GM product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2006

16th Aug 2006, 11:05

What would make a person purchase one of those? I am a hardcore pontiac person, but come on now... they easily took the cake for the ugliest auto on the road. why would you buy it?

12th Mar 2007, 14:00

People should now be educated not to buy American cars; especially a GM. If you don't have any problems, buy a Japanese or Korean car, otherwise you will be stuck at the garage most of the time...

Take it from experience... Pontiac Sunbird and Sunfire, Dodge Caravan, Ford Aerostar and Explorer. I was at the dealer half the time I owned the cars, and then I bought a Toyota and a Mazda.. hard as rocks.

2nd Jun 2007, 16:21

I too have a 2001 pontiac AZTEC! Never again! I have never had so many problems with a vehicle. the back hatch hardly stays latched, service vehicle soon light sensor replaced several times at my cost and still on! Wheel bearings out 2X, A/C condenser replaced and something else at the same time. Now my fuel gauge sensor is not working and either the tank is full or Not. Very upset with GM and have seen many postings with the same problem, there has got to be something we can do.

Lady in MI.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 23 reviews