2005 Pontiac Aztek Reviews

2005 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19350 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carGMC Plymouth Breeze

Summary:

I would buy it Again!

Faults:

Nothing! I have not experienced any minor or major problems with this SUV. When I purchased my SUV, the hatchback issues were resolved (thanks to the others who listed that issued on this website).

General Comments:

I really enjoy my Aztek. First and foremost, thanks to all of the other Aztek owners who posted their experiences on this site. Your statements helped me with my decision to purchase my Aztek.

The gas mileage is decent for an SUV and the ride is excellent. I can get about 6,000-7,000 miles before the sensor tells me to get an oil change (with mostly local driving in Charlotte, NC.

This is a great SUV for local and long distance travel.

Being able to take out the back seats allows me to move items without renting a U-HAUL truck.

I would recommend this vehicle without reservation. Too bad GM stopped production on the Aztek :o (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th June, 2007

2005 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance7400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Good car, but company won't stand by its warranty

Faults:

My aztek only has 7000 miles and the rear hatch has never worked properly. I have to hold the remote button in and lift at the same time. it has been to the dealer 3 times and the gm district rep for pa has looked at it. both have basically told me it's a design flaw that can't be fixed and to deal with it. has anyone tried to file a lemon law case for this problem and won?

General Comments:

Rather than that it has been a great car. its very comfortable, but I feel for 20000 dollars EVERYTHING should work all the time on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2006

16th Mar 2006, 07:04

Lemon Law? For the Rear Hatch? Get Real!

16th Mar 2006, 16:48

Why not? If a car has defective parts and the manufacturer cannot fix it the car is a lemon.

In other words, a "lemon" does not simply mean the car won't run.

12th Jul 2006, 06:58

No, a lemon is a car like my old 2000 Explorer, where I had to have every part under the hood replaced that you can think of, then the engine blew at 55,000 miles. That's a lemon - not a faulty lock.

2005 Pontiac Aztek Rally V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11800 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

One of the best cars I have ever had

Faults:

I have had no problems with this vehicle since I got it.

I have no complaints what-so-ever about the car.

General Comments:

The car looks great, both inside and out.

The car rides great and feels comfortable. Rides like a luxury car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2005

15th Mar 2006, 15:57

It is an excellent car, just too unique for the average person. I had it for 4 years, never found more comfortable driver's seat, it is highly practical, turns on a dime!!!

It would've been very clever if PONTIAC did not kill it. If they offered the 275hp concept turbo version engine... Well, too late Pontiac, you screwed up your most unique car in years. (Looks like trash compactor?? ha, ha, you guys must be joking!!!The rally '05was even better) I did have one problem, though, yes, the rear hatch did have to be fixed 2x, after that no problem, all fixed free and fast! Now, BRING IT BACK!! And... improve it, do not change the body, we camped in it many times, we miss it a lot. It certainly turned heads, why... because it was DIFFERENT than the dumb bread and butter cars! Compared to japanese cars? It needed more modern engine, like a good DOHC (MazdaMPV'05) with 200 torque at 3000, yes 3000rpm!!There was nothing wrong with the car at all, Pontiac gave up MUCH TOO SOON!!! Are you going to be smarter next time?? (210 torque was adequate, front and back BEAUTIFULL!!All of you illiterate"designers" learn your stuff first, comment later, OK?

15th Mar 2006, 18:33

Um, well, the term "unique" in car language implies that the car is BETTER than its peers, in this case design.

Even readers of CAR magazine in England, where the Aztek was not even sold, voted it one of the ugliest cars of all time.

The Aztek will go down in automotive history as a mediocre vehicle with a "designed by committee" look. That's all.

4th Feb 2007, 13:34

I bought my 2004 Aztek Rally because I wanted the baddest, ugliest, vehicle you will see in your side mirror. Ugly means no one will steal it if you park in front of the local supermarket. My mistake. This beast is a head-turner. I knew ugly things turns heads, but the majority of the women in my workplace love it. Did you hear that? They LOVE it. They don't see it as ugly. In fact, I see more women driving them than men. Hmmmm, there must be something here that we're missing. I wouldn't even dare getting too ambitious with that babe magnet moniker... but I can't help, but snicker when my Aztek gets more admiring comments in the parking lot than the 2007 Honda CRV. Har-har-har. Ain't revenge sweet.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 3 reviews