1986 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1986 Pontiac Bonneville from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

Any car for 500$ that runs/looks/feels good... is worth buying

Faults:

- Holes in backseats (from having TVs).

- Gas gauge broke.

- Needs new tires.

- Needs back brakes.

- No radio/CD player (taken out).

- No heat/air conditioning.

- A little rust... barely noticeable.

General Comments:

It drives very nice, drives comfortably... even though there's much wrong with it, I've just gotten it. And I got it for 500$, and the mileage is incredible for being such an older car.

Plus the heater/air conditioning can be fixed; I just don't know where in the car the blower is located.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2005

1986 Pontiac Bonneville 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres

Summary:

I want to drive my Bonneville forever

Faults:

The exhaust system had to be replaced.

It needed a new battery.

The windshield is cracked.

One of the springs is broken so it tilts to one side at the front.

General Comments:

I think my car is the greatest even though it's so old.

I bought it for 300$ and put 1000$ into it, but now it will last awhile, hopefully for many years. My car came with a CD player and very good speakers. It's so comfortable and I always look forward to driving it. There's hardly any rust and it's a good quality old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2002

13th Dec 2004, 21:51

I to as well own a 1986 Bonneville I paid 1200 for it with not a bit a rust on it. I found a real gem in this old car. I plan on having this one for awhile.

Dave Hooper

Cape Breton.

22nd May 2005, 14:36

I still have the '86 Bonnie that my parents bought new. 242,000 on the odo and we're still rolling. The only problem I have had is with the headliner falling down, I think that's related to the leak that has developed at the top of the windshield. I used some bathroom caulk as a stopgap measure 'til I can do a new windshield and seal. Tranny rebuilt once. Radio still works. It's impossible to put into words the thrill I get when I punch that ol' 305 V8 and chirp the tires! She's still the ONE!

15th Nov 2005, 12:12

Well I have a bonneville 86, I actually found this page looking for a back passenger panel because it got ran over by a bus. damage isn't too bad and now its being fixed up. My parents actually had that driver side leak as well as a leak on the rear driver side door panel.

31st Jan 2006, 08:14

I have a 1984 Pontiac Bonneville as well, and never have I once had a problem. I think that this car is better than all the new ones that are coming out. Everything in this vehicle is still working like the day it was new when we bought it 22 YEARS AGO!!

20th Jul 2009, 19:23

Hey, can anybody help me. I need to buy a new exhaust system for my 1986 Bonneville (3.8 V6), but I don't know of anyplace that has parts for my car.

Any ideas?

Please email me with any help you guys have.

djholman31@gmail.com

Thanks.

25th Mar 2014, 04:21

March 2014, I still have the Bonnie. The crappy Mr. Transmission trannies failed two times, so I have it garaged until I can get a good new tranny instead of a reman. Otherwise the car is fine. This one is a keeper.

1986 Pontiac Bonneville LE 5.0 Liter 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 Liter 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100936 miles
Most recent distance115500 miles

Summary:

I shouldn't brag... really

Faults:

The headlights needed re-wiring.

The alternator needed replacing.

I have replaced two tires.

The tail pipe fell off.

Later, the muffler fell off.

The brakes need to be replaced.

General Comments:

My 1986 Pontiac Bonneville is a show winner. I purchased this car from a friend on August 19, 2000. It is my first car and if I can help it, I will never part with it. When I bought it, there was not a thing wrong with it other than the headlights needing rewiring. It was a regular nice and nice looking sedan. Brown, no problems, ran fine, looked pretty good.

Recently, I have painted it black, added mag wheels, shined up all the chrome, and pimped it out. I have converted it from a nice grandma car to a black clothed, silver plated beast. She sounds good, looks good, and runs perfectly. I receive all kinds of complements (None bad of course, though I used to get told; "It's brown..."). Now they can't say that. As a matter of fact, most are very surprised at its transformation. It has been a nice car, I have added my touches, and hope to keep the behemoth under my reins for the rest of my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

5th May 2005, 05:44

That's cool that you had no problems with it:-) Mine needs a little work because of what I want to do to it. But after its all done I will love it! It seems like evry1 here loves there 86' Bonneville and I'm one of them! cya.

1986 Pontiac Bonneville LE 5.0 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100936 miles
Most recent distance113700 miles

Summary:

There is not enough room for praise!

Faults:

The headlights needed re-wiring.

The alternator went out.

The tail pipe fell off.

General Comments:

The car has only let me down once. It is cold-blooded, but is dependable as all get out.

I got it with low miles as my first car, and is still young and strong.

It handles well, but has a short turning radius.

It runs great.

The whole car has remained immaculate and strong against the elements. No rust!!

It is very comfortable, not a Cadillac, but suitable for my needs. There is plenty of room.

It is a good-looking car. Later on, I plan to paint it only for a change.

I have received hundreds of compliments on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2001

1986 Pontiac Bonneville 4 door V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Replaced alternator, power steering pump, window on drivers' side, brakes, and it currently leaks oil out of rear engine seal. I get 12 to 16 mpg in the city and 19 to 20 mpg on highway.

General Comments:

The body lines still excite favorable comments. Tires, oil and regular lubes keep it humming. I'm proud to be driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews