1989 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1989 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired197256 miles
Most recent distance200176 miles
Previous carEagle Premier

Summary:

A very distinctive vechicle like no other

Faults:

Well the transmission went after 200,175 miles on its original engine.

The sensors kept acting up. So whenever I push the brake pedal the Driver Info Center brake light would make 5 beeping noises. Which can become very irritating.

General Comments:

This is a beautiful collectors car. You would never expect a car of that year to have so many features. I always get comments on the car, especially the body style. At night it looks like an airplane with all its digitality. What I really like is the control buttons on the steering wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

1989 Pontiac Bonneville LE 3.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A very sturdy vehicle that I would buy again

Faults:

Since I have owned this vehicle I have had to replace the rack & pinion steering mechanism, an alternator, and it appears that a water pump may be next in line.

The front passenger window is often problematic, and that same door will no longer open (these things are understandable considering the mileage on the vehicle).

The biggest problem that I have now is a battery drain, causing me to have to charge my battery every few days or so.

General Comments:

Overall, I like this car a lot and only wish that it didn't sit so low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

21st Jan 2006, 17:35

Hi, I have the same problem with the battery drain. What did you do to fix this problem? I really need the help!

9th May 2006, 16:31

I had the same problem with the door. To fix it, all you have to do is take the screws out, pull off the panel and put the rod back in. It should be fine after that.

1989 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3800 Series I (3.8L V6) from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3800 Series I (3.8L V6) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96293 miles
Most recent distance97706 miles

Summary:

No domestic import can even hope to compare with this superior American made vehicle

Faults:

The computer causes the oil light to stay on most of the time, even though it's fine.

The gas warning light goes on and turns off prematurely (starting at about 1/2 tank.. also because of the computer).

Plan to get the exhaust system replaced even though it's not a problem at the moment.

The oil gasket leaks an insignificant amount, not enough to be a problem.

I was aware of all these problems (except for the gas light thing) before I purchased the car.

My windshield leaks some and has resulted in the steering wheel control buttons not operating at all times, but that's my fault.

General Comments:

The car is model year 1990 but was manufactured in 1989. This is a great car and has not let me down once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2000

1989 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles

Summary:

It never let me down

Faults:

I just recently had the engine and transmission rebuilt. I figured after 200k miles, it could use it. The only other things I have done to it are replace the windshield, struts, mass airflow sensor, and the brake master cylinder. All very easy and inexpensive repairs.

General Comments:

This has been the best car I have ever owned. It's not the newest, or the oldest, but definitely the best. When this one lays its weary head to rest, I will buy a new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

1989 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

In addition to normal wear and tear, have changed ECM, alternatior, and rear suspension once.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car with an excellent pickup and sporty body. Engine has never been overhauled even after 10 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 1999

23rd Nov 2009, 15:23

"Engine has never been overhauled even after 10 years."

The original reviewer wrote this one decade ago today. Do you still have it... does it still run?

5th Aug 2010, 20:34

I am not the original poster, however I am an original owner... bought new 1989.. all the bells and whistles.. no overhaul... plenty of components have worn out and been replaced and regular maintenance.

I love this car... the clear coat is just starting to blister (in the interest of full disclosure, the car had been vandalized with spray paint back in 1994? and repainted).

I use it as a daily driver... only drive it 16-20 miles per day, spouse used to drive it 75-80 miles round trip, then bought another car (gently used Caddie) and I took over driving this one.

Took it in for an oil change, and my mechanics noticed that the engine mounts need replacing @ $350... so she's going to the shop on Monday.

Yeah, it needs parts replaced every so often, but that's to be expected.

I love having no car payment!

1989 Pontiac Bonneville LE 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 3.8L
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

At 160K miles have gone through:

1 starter.

1 timing belt.

4 electronic coil modules (3 replaced under warranty).

When this goes out the car will not to start in cold damp weather.

Normal brake repair/maintenance.

General Comments:

This car has been driven into the ground and still continues to run. Overall a good car that is responsive. Seems that this year has problems with starters/coil modules. Would buy another if the prices of the new models weren't so obscene.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

1989 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3800 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 3800 V6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing, until it was crushed mercilessly in 1993 by two idiot teenagers in a 1974 Mustang.

General Comments:

One of the best cars I've ever driven. A great combination of price, reliability, speed, and clean style. Look for one in good shape, you will be pleased with your purchase. The SSEi trimline just adds more fun to an already good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 49 reviews