1993 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 240 sp charge from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 240 sp charge Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Great high price cars

Faults:

A few interior problems: the roof covering in the car is falling down, the radio on the steering wheel doesn't work, and the back seat window sometimes doesn't work.

General Comments:

Great car, fast and reliable.

I wouldn't buy this car new because it's like 33,000 dollars.

The 17" wheels are great, you can go up steep hills, but buy an economy Kia, Hyundai or something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SSEI 3.8L supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance245000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Wagoneer

Summary:

Luxury with attitude!

Faults:

At 25000 kilometers the alternator went and had to be replaced.

55000 kilometers, the tachometer, speedometer, and fuel, amperage, and oil pressure gauges stopped working until I brought it into the dealer to get re-wired.

Drivers side power window shorted out and stopped working at around 125000 kilometers.

General Comments:

Even though I have to replace and repair some things on this car, it is still a great car to drive everyday, excellent on the highway because I do live 50 kilometers out of town and I drive that twice everyday. Gas mileage is around 38 miles per gallon on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2002

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 3.8 L supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 L supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Best car I have ever seen

Faults:

Water pump at 85000 miles.

General Comments:

A good combination of performance and comfort. Sporty enough for the young and comfortable enough for the old.

By far this is one of the best cars on the market.

Equipped with a one of a kind "heads-up display", Pontiac spear-heads innovation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 3.8 Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Great all around car

Faults:

110,000 miles new RACK & Pinion.

125,000 Replaced noisy Supercharger, wasn't bad just noisy. Easy rebuild.

150,000 New Struts.

170,000 New Alternator.

174,000 New Water Pump.

General Comments:

Luxury with attitude is correct. This is one of the best cars out of the 20 some cars I have owned. Very reliable and highly recommended.

I pulled my 17' boat with this car no problem. Would beat most trucks pulling their smaller boats out of the water.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43500 miles
Most recent distance73700 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

A sleek luxury sports sedan

Faults:

Fuel pump at 58,000.

Master cylinder at 60,000.

Alternator at 65,000.

General Comments:

I highly recommend buying a Bonneville, not only is it comfortable and very reliable, it has lots of pep and can hold its own on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A great car for the money

Faults:

The anti-lock brake system went out at about 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car handles very well.

I feel very safe driving it when my kids are in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2001

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60600 miles
Most recent distance89500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

General Motors answer to luxury and performance

Faults:

The car's seats cloth is showing some wear.

General Comments:

Totally impressed with this car's appearance and performance.

For the money compared to luxury cars in line with this model, you cannot beat it.

The design and overall performance of the 3800 V-6 is superb.

Total comfort comes in handy for long drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance120252 miles
Previous carChevrolet S10 Blazer

Summary:

Lots of bang for the buck!

Faults:

Nothing until it got totalled. I wanted to kill my insurance adjuster!

General Comments:

The car is (or was) amazing.

It handled like a dream.

Very sporty!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

14th Aug 2004, 19:14

I agree! I've loved driving my 93 SSE Bonneville for 11 1/2 years and planned on keeping it longer. Sadly, It was rear-ended and totaled. It had only required new brakes, tires, battery and brake lines in all of the years I owned. Solid car! R.I.P my Bonny!

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance194000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro CS

Summary:

A reliable and fun car to own and drive

Faults:

This car was owned before by someone who could only polish it and in the mess it was, I was able to bring it back to near mint. Recently had an accident with it and only body damage. Held up very well for what happened.

General Comments:

Sporty with low insurance, yet affordable. My dad likes it better than his car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2000

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

If you can afford one it's worth the money

Faults:

I have only had this car for six months but nothing has gone wrong with it. I couldn't go a month with my old car without something happening.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I've ever owned. It is amazingly comfortable (leather seats are nice), has lots of room, and I love the power the engine delivers. Handles well for a bigger car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

1993 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A disappointment

Faults:

Transmission failure at 78,000 miles.

Alternator failure at 80,000 miles.

ABS brake module failure at 80,500 miles.

General Comments:

Very disappointed at the high cost of maintenance for this car. I purchased it for the "reliability" and low maintenance costs. In less than a year I have spent over $2100 in car repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

3rd Mar 2001, 15:34

The alternator life expectancy on a Buick 3.8L is 100,000 miles. An after market replacement can be baught for around $100.00. I have replaced two and it only takes about 10 minutes to do yourself. Forget dealers.

17th Feb 2006, 13:11

I agree, my '93 SSE is a very big disappointment. I bought it last May and since then, the O2 sensor went, the alternator failed, heads-up display works when it wants to, and the driver info center disappears at times. Now the blower motor is going. I plan on selling the car ASAP.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 51 reviews