1996 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1996 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Nice performance, good value

Faults:

I have had no major difficulties with this car - which surprised me because I bought it used from an auction with 159000 miles on it. Right after I bought it I took it in for a check, and only had to replace the radiator cap.

General Comments:

This is a great car, so far. The Bonnie comes stock with red coolant, but I can't tell why. I took it in for a radiator flush and just had them switch to the green stuff. No problems with this at all. Bonnie looks and handles great, even compared to brand new cars. I'm pleasantly surprised with another GM car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

1996 Pontiac Bonneville from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52350 miles
Most recent distance79850 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

An expensive, comfortable, somewhat reliable car

Faults:

My car has been pretty reliable. We have only had two large problems with the car. The Transmission went out twice and when I called General Motors, they would not stand behind their product. I was very unhappy.

It takes the red antifreeze which is more expensive.

Parts for this vehicle are more expensive than other cars.

General Comments:

I like the way that my car runs and looks.

I don't like the dealership who sold me the car.

I don't like the fact that GM would not replace it for me.

After we bought the car, we found out that 1996 was a bad year for the Bonneville. That year, a lot of that model, had bad Transmissions

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2002

1996 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24500 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Faults:

At 21,000 miles, the dealer replaced the intake gasket due to anti-freeze leaking. 3,000 miles later, the anti-freeze still leaks. $400 to fix a leaking gasket when the car only had 21,000 miles on it is absolutely ridiculous. Then the dealer tells me that it leaks because I don't drive it enough.

This is absolutely the last GM car I ever buy. I was going to buy a Cadillac STS, but if this is any indication of the reliability of GM cars, the Germans will get my money.

General Comments:

When I'm not filling the radiator with anti-freeze, it's generally a good performing car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 11:14

My 1995 Bonneville SE is completely self destructing at 80K miles although it has been well maintained. I also had the coolant leak problem ($1335.to replace upper and lower manifolds, gaskets etc), then the transmission failed ($2,500 to rebuild, without any warning) and the computer prints out every error code and can't be cleared. This all happened within a two week period. Has anyone else had this type of problem? I really liked the way this car drove and handled, and I see a lot of them on the road.

1996 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carBuick LeSabre Limited

Summary:

A comfortable, quick auto, with factory defects

Faults:

Catalytic converter failed at 35000km.

Water pump failed at 60000km.

Consumes (no leaks) 1 liter of oil every 1200 to 1500 kilometers since new.

Transmission failed at 95000kms, requiring complete replacement including torque converter.

Car has a vibration at 100 kms per hour, unable to identify cause. Replaced tires 2 times, balanced on car, replaced rotors, machined new rotor. All repairs have been unsuccessful until now. Still vibrates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2001

1996 Pontiac Bonneville SSEI 3.8 Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

A tad overpriced, needs more horsepower

Faults:

Since day one, my lamp monitor says my tail light is out, it's not.

At 85,000 miles my gaskets leaked, water pump went out, compressor went out. Which actually isn't that bad considering I am heading towards 100k miles.

Dealer says my motor is strong and should last me 200k miles.

Lately, I have felt the transmission slipping a little. But all in all, she's a good car, very pretty, and she'll blow the doors off any other four door car out there!!! And if my transmission goes out, or my super charger, I will invest the money to get her fixed.

She's worth it, I paid good money for her and would like her to stay on the road for a while longer. I would definitely buy another one, Bonneville or Grand Prix SE.

General Comments:

The Bonneville SSEI supercharged ROCKS! People will stare at this car, especially the black ones with gold rims. I really like the leather interior, CD player, and radio controls on the steering wheel. It is a comfortable car to drive on long distances. Smooth...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2001

3rd Aug 2001, 09:41

Please know, although we have enjoyed our Bonneville immensely, at 120,000 miles our transmission blew with NO WARNING SIGNS. $2500 later and a week spent in PA waiting for repairs it is back on the road again.

As well, 2 weeks later we had to replace a broken water pump (tell tale sign - leaking antifreeze from the reservoir).

Good Luck.

20th Sep 2001, 13:07

I love my Bonneville, with the exception of the following:

Paint on rear wing is fading, plastic is trying to come loose on the exterior, annoying squeek that I cannot find, heat/ac controls had to be replaced at 72,000 miles ($400).

I just found out that the Supercharger is going out and the dealer wants to charge me $2,350 plus labor for a new one. Luckily there are spots in the Internet to buy used for $500 to $800 dollars. Other than the above, it is a sharp looking car. Black with the gold rims and leather.

25th Jul 2002, 23:27

Well I have a 95 SSE All Black Bonneville and I don't know about you guys, but my supercharger went out twice already, the first time Pontiac paid for it, but the second time it cost me $2,800 to get fixed. I love this car and I would definitely pay another $2,800 if the supercharger went out again, maybe I won't get the stock supercharger next time, I might throw in a few hundred more dollars to beef it up a little more. =)

26th Oct 2004, 09:42

I have a 1996 Bonneville lately my car won't start. The security lamp would stay on so I took it to a mechanic and he did what he said was a by-pass. So the security no longer works which is fine. Well several months later while I was going to turn my car it would not start. It cranks, but it just won't start. I took it to the mechanic, but he could not find the problem my car has been sitting for 3 weeks in the garage. Someone told me to check out the ignition fuse or switch. PlEASE can anyone out their help me!!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 28 reviews