1989 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1989 Pontiac Firebird GTA 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Awesome car!

Faults:

Alternator when it was around 5 years old.

Trunk lid.

AC after 10 years, a lousy AC unit (only 2 tune ups in 10 years)!!!

General Comments:

People told me not to buy a Pontiac GTA!!! People in the car biz told me not to buy a GTA, they said they were temperamental, expensive to fix... etc. THIS CAR HAS BEEN AWESOME!!! Knock on wood, I have run this car up and down the length of california and in SF and LA traffic since I bought it and it has been 100% exceptional!!!

I actually never even thought about tuning it up, until about a year ago when people "again" were laughing at me for not doing so and saying I was neglecting it so I took it in to Monty Wards (RIP!!!) who did a lousy job setting the idle and installed a lousy AC unit (They went out of business just after... go figure) But wow, I can't believe this car... It just turned 12 and it needs a paint job but heck I would have expected much more... (PS I read the review here about the guy who had bad luck/replaced his engine etc, and I had a friend who bought a GTA and replaced 3 engines THEN he found out he was putting the wrong gas in the car all along!!!

$11k and 2 new engines later her put in 79 regular and the problem never came back - I am not a tech so don't guarantee this result just relaying. Now that my GTA is approaching "classic status" people are following me into gas stations and making wild U-turns to catch up to me to offer to buy it!!! HAHA I tell them "Sure thang dude, $24,000 and it's yours!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

19th Feb 2004, 00:51

I'm about to own this car and was wondering - after getting a bad tune from Monkey Wards (RIP) where did or do you take it? I too live in L.A. and am not sure about the gas. What do you put in yours? 87, 89, 91? Can't wait for her to arrive.

23rd Aug 2010, 09:23

Or buy a 5.0 Mustang, go faster AND use 87 octane fuel while doing it to save 20 cents per every gallon you burn!

1989 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Wouldn't hesitate to buy another Formula

Faults:

Routine maintenance items... brakes, exhaust, tune-ups,and oil-changes..

General Comments:

Hot car, fun to drive, fantastic looking car, lots of power when you need it, very reliable, use the car all year, always starts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

1989 Pontiac Firebird 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVolvo 340DL

Summary:

Fun at first... nice looking... letdown in the end

Faults:

Name it...

Complete engine for one...

Head gasket...

Alternator x2...

Pop up headlights a complete disaster...

Computer...

Airconditioning...

Stereo...

Plastic moldings..

Water trasfer valve....

I should have listened to the warnings but it was such an aesthetically pleasing car.

General Comments:

Biggest piece of SSSSS I ever owned. I promised myself never again to own an American automobile. Have had two Japanese cars over 200,000 miles.

Firebird looked nice but was a reliability nightmare. Would never suggest owning one unless you had a reliable back up. Way to go USA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

2nd Dec 2000, 10:35

Firebird is a great car to me, I also own an 89 Firebird except that is a 5.0. But I have owned it for 5 years and it has 156,098 miles and I have not had any major problems with it, I also store it winters and drive it safely (and the previous owner - my Dad did so also).

I have owned two Firebirds and both have been great, I guess sometimes you can get the rotten apple just like any other car out there.

1989 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord Grand Marquis

Summary:

Head turner

Faults:

The only thing I've had to replace on the car is the exhaust system and that was this year. I also have to crank the engine for 3-5 sec to get it to start.

General Comments:

Besides the starting problem it's been a great car for me. It's very fast, handles pretty good also. For a high performace car it's decent on gas mileage too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2000

27th Jun 2002, 14:55

I have a '90 Formula that also takes about 3-5 seconds to start. I really don't think that there is anything wrong though. Just takes a little for the fuel pump to kick in.

My '90 is totally restored and even smells like new with the new carpet. The car has never seen snow and is straight and tight. The '90 is named Sara and with T-Tops and new Teal Paint she is a head turner still today. She is Pretty quick, but I also have an '89 Firebird SE that came with a little 2.8, But is now a true Pontiac with a 400 Big block and lots of goodies, just in case Sara gets beat-up... Big Sister "Sheila" can Always take care of it!!! I also have an '79 Trans-Am with another 400cid. His name is "Maxx" and is just plain bad. I love all three of them and detail & drive them all Daily. I lost my safe driver status a long time ago and the insurance agent loves me. You can't have too many Cars... especially FireBirds!!!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 30 reviews