1997 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Pontiac Firebird formula V8, 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8, 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance54800 miles

Summary:

This is what I call a muscle car

Faults:

I needed a new motor for the headlights.

I had a anti-freeze leak.

The car ran very hot, had to have the timing fixed on the fans.

General Comments:

This was my first car I had and I still have it, and besides the few problems I had with it, I love the car and I wouldn't trade it for anything else.

The car has a lot of power and the suspension is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

1997 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 LS1 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 5.7 LS1 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

HIGH PERFORAMCE

Faults:

Seat backing blew out.

General Comments:

Awesome car, no one beats you in a drag race!and turns lots of heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

1997 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

One tough looking and performing car

Faults:

The rear intake gasket leaked a little oil. I got it fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

This has got to be one of the best looking cars around for a reasonable price.

It always turns heads and gets positive comments.

It has awesome acceleration and handling.

I've never had any problems at all, except for the minor oil leak.

It has cup holders!

It has a lot of rattles.

Tires didn't last too long.

I wish it had the LS1 V8 which is even faster.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

1st Dec 2001, 11:38

The monsoon stereo system is not the best. I had 4 speakers blow, and replacement speakers can only be purchased at the dealership.

1997 Pontiac Firebird Coupe 2 door 3.8 liter V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

High performance, lush comfort, bargain prices - say no more!

Faults:

Rear window defogger relay went out and would only stay on for 30 seconds.

Muffler rusted out and needed to be replaced, but hey - it's Wisconsin.

General Comments:

This is a really great car. Even without the performance package, this car has plenty of "pep". It handles like it was made for the road, no matter what road you're on.

The seats are incredibly comfortable on long drives. I just can't say enough about this car!

90,000 miles for other cars would be a lot, but not this car. I can't tell when it's running or even when it shifts like other cars. Very smooooooooooothe!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

28th May 2001, 22:55

That's good to hear about it being a good car. I have found a '97 with 61k miles for $8000 and think it would make a good car for my son. You don't think that a Firebird is too much for a 16 year old, do you?

10th Mar 2005, 12:13

My Car is a 1997 with almost 99,000 miles and it runs great for the v6 it have a lot of pick up and t-tops makes the car a classic.

2nd Mar 2006, 06:58

The first thing I looked at was the crash rating for this car before I purchased mine. For 97 it had a five star driver and passenger crash rating. Nothing wrong with that one bit.

25th Jan 2007, 22:16

To the poster of the last comment -- you put 90,000 miles on your car in 2 years?? wow you must really love to drive!!

3rd Nov 2013, 01:01

Don't rush into a buy like that. I just bought a 97 Trans Am with 83000 for 27000. 8000 is a lot, but for the price it would have to be perfect.

1997 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 Ram Air 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord SE

Summary:

Batmans toy car on the weekend!!!

Faults:

Had the car for about 10 months now and the only problem I have so far is the window motor burning out.

Water pump needed to be replaced at the time of purchase.

General Comments:

For the bang for the bucks this is the car to get. Although there's only a few thousands of these WS6 made, it's is very very fast!!! Especially when the weather is cool and the ram air doing its job.

Too bad they're gonna discontinue this car soon. You got the looks and power. All you need to do is get better mods to make this baby run harder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2000

19th Apr 2001, 17:01

Everyone knows that the real Pontiac Firebird performance deal is the Firebird Formula with the 1LE package. What makes it so is the fact that it weighs considerably less, approx 500lbs and is 5000 dollars cheaper than a loaded WS6 Trans Am. I personally own a 1997 1LE and a 1987 GTA 2 1979 Tran Am, I guess you could say that I am die hard F-body fan.

I attended the GM High Tech performance nationals and had an opportunity to run the 97 1LE around the high banked oval at Bristol Tenn. With the 1LE suspension I was able to click off some 100MPH laps in completely stock form If you ever get a chance to put your WS-6 on a real race track where you can really stretch it out without fear of the police, I highly recommend that you do so.

Thanks,

Hard core Firebird owner

P.S my e-mail address is RDHTMM1@aol.com please feel free to coment or whatever.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews