1998 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 from North America


Chick magnet


The only thing that has gone wrong with the car were the window motors; they still work and go up and down, but very slowly.

So far so good. There is a little bit of squeaking coming from the back though.

General Comments:

This car is a beast!! Take it easy on the pedal or you will burn out. It accelerates like there's no tomorrow; stock this car does 0-60 in 5.1 seconds, and with a few mods no doubt under 4 seconds.

Overall this car handles great, and has not failed me, even with 132k miles. Nothing at all has gone wrong mechanically, and it still performs at its best. The t-tops make it look awesome, and it's very easy to pick up girls in this car. Turns heads everywhere I go.

Plus, since production was stopped in 2002, this car will be worth a lot more in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2008

1998 Pontiac Firebird 3.8 Series 2 V6 from North America


Buy it, it's definitely worth it


Well besides being t-boned by a Camaro and a deer, the only problems I've encountered with the car, are the headlights make a very loud grinding noise when they go down, my heater blew just entering the winter, the t-tops leak (you get used to it), and it's probably more me, but the tires tend to wear quickly.

General Comments:

Overall, I think it's a great car. I own a V6 auto, fully loaded with everything but the V8, ram air and leather.

It's a very flashy car, great to drive, and very powerful for a V6. I know that the pre-2005 Mustangs don't have a chance, even with a V8, and it's always funny having a Civic with a fart can on it pull up next to you, because you know you're gonna win.

So for looks, power and reliability, the car is great, and the 3.8 liter engine under the hood is bullet proof; you can beat the hell out of it all you want, and it's always gonna start up the next day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2007

23rd Jan 2012, 15:19

LOL fully loaded 3.8. That's funny.

1998 Pontiac Firebird Coupe 3.8 V6 from North America


The Pontiac Firebird is the king of the pony cars


Replaced alternator at about 75,000 miles around $125.

General Comments:

This car is suprisingly fast for an automatic V-6 and can take on many cars.

I was surprised when it out ran a 1996 Ford Mustang GT when the only performance part I have added was Flowmaster American Thunder exhaust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

11th Nov 2006, 09:26

You didn't outrun a mustang GT... he simply wasnt racing.

20th May 2007, 04:51

To the last comment. I'm sorry Ford Mistake owner if logic escapes you. A 96 Mustang GT had a 215 hp v8. A whole 15 more than the GM 3800. In reality a tired out or poorly drive 96 Ford Mistake GT could easily be handled by a 3800 f body. Especially if the f body has mods and the Mustang is stock and an auto. Wait, you probably think a GT could take an ls1 Trans AM too??

1998 Pontiac Firebird 3800 series 3.8L V 6 from North America


Like it, it cries subtle seductivity


The brakes started to grab about a month after I bought the car.

The passenger window rolls up a lot slower than the driver side.

The brakes started to squeal about five weeks after I bought the car.

I have noticed many scratches on the doors from getting in and out of the car.

Right after I bought the car, my check engine light came on. I took it in, and the dealers told me I had a small leak detected. Now I have to order a new gas cap.

The most recent; now an injector is going out, and that is going to cost me a LOT of money to have that fixed!

Pontiac should make T-tops standard on all of the Firebirds!

My car doesn't have T-tops.

This car is not made for tall people.

General Comments:

I love to drive this car despite the problems I have had with it. It would be perfect otherwise.

It is very sporty, and if you are a woman like myself, you will attract a lot of attention in a car like this!

The 3800 series makes for a nice combination of horsepower/speed, and its traditional eye catching killer looks.

The car handles like no other I have ever driven.

Its wide body frame, and low profile allows it to have the maneuverability that it does.

That is a good thing to know, if you have ever hydroplaned before.

Although it will not deviate the possibility; it will lessen it to some extent.

The 2nd gear button works very well in rainy conditions, and It gives some comfort.

I like the overall way the car is when you sit in it. It is very user friendly.

I think it is very comfortable if you like a snug "race car" type of feel.

I am a shorter person, so I have plenty of room inside the car.

I really love this car, and for the most part it runs excellent!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2003

8th Aug 2004, 13:06

About the tall person comment, I'm 6'3" and have plenty of room in either the driver seat or the passenger, although the passenger side bulky floor board is a little annoying, but no biggie, its still comfortable.

10th Aug 2004, 11:21

I've had a lot of front seat passengers complain about the bulky floor board in my Fire bird, but I'm the driver so it don't bother me. The most complaints come from the back seat passengers for having no leg room. I don't worry about that since I don't drive from the back seat, but it's a little annoying when you have someone's knee in the back of your seat. I am the 2nd owner of this '98 Bird & it's got 160K original miles on the whole car & still runs excellent. I have to admit, the one & only complaint I have about the entire car is it don't have a cruise control dummy light when you're using the cruise control. That is not a problem at all considering the rest of the car is perfect.