1999 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1999 Pontiac Firebird ws6 tran am 5.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

The car is a absolute thrill on the open highway.

Faults:

My day time running light on the left front blows every time I wash the left front end of my car.

My trip meter resets every day in cold weather.

Seatbelt guide on drivers seat cracked and fell apart.

The power lumbar will not stay inflated on the drivers seat.

General Comments:

This car is fast right off the show room floor without any mods.

The car is a real head turner.

The hood of the ram air just looks intimidating.

The most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

1999 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A fantastic American muscle car

Faults:

The radio has been replaced due to a failing CD player. The new one is starting to develop problems with skipping.

The driver's side window motor has been replaced, and the replacement has failed recently and needs to be replaced. The passenger's side window motor is currently on the downswing as well.

Driving lights accumulate water and blow out often.

General Comments:

The car is fantastic to drive, except of course in snow. Traction control helps with icy roads a bit. My main complaints deal with the electric system. Drives great, but Pontiac should have spent more time making sure the "little things" like window motors and radios work properly before installing them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

25th May 2003, 18:13

I have a 2000 Trans am it is a power house. I have also been haven problems with driver side window quiting.

9th Jan 2004, 11:24

My car, 1999 Pontiac Firebird, has ONLY 38,000 miles and within the last five months, the air conditioner had to be fixed, the same fog light has been replaced twice, new fuel injectors installed, fuel injectors had to be cleaned two months after they were installed, CATALYTIC converter had to be replaced, ERG engine recirculation gasket had to be replaced, serpentine belt replaced, muffler rattling problem - still can't get it fixed.

The Radio volume button doesn't work on the dash, but it does on the steering wheel.

I liked the car when I first bought it five months ago, now I can't even sell it for nothing. I have written Pontiac several complaint letters. Please never purchase a Pontiac Firebird. Trust me on this one!!.

Passenger side and driver side window motor is getting ready to go out. I don't even roll the window down anymore.

1st Jun 2004, 11:58

I have a 1998 and the drivers side window motor has had it, but I love the car the good outweighs the bad.

14th Aug 2004, 11:16

I own a 1998 Trans AM. It is a great car to drive, however has been plagued with problems.

We have thus far replaced the drivers side window, passenger side window, convertible top system, $4,000 into the electrical system, alternator, 2 batteries, and this month the air conditioning system has moved on to cooler pastures. These are just a few of the problems.

Every other oil change also includes the rear-differential which at a dealership is a cool $250.

1999 Pontiac Firebird WS 6 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance35500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

More money can be spent on much less of an automobile

Faults:

Radio volume control works sporadically.

General Comments:

The seats should be the same as come in the top-of-the-line Corvette.

But, I prefer driving the WS 6 over the 1996 Corvette.

Styling of the WS 6 really garners looks.

Could the engineers find places for maybe two more cup holders?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2001

1999 Pontiac Firebird V6 8.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 8.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Fastest car ever!

Faults:

Well let me see, it's a Pontiac and it's American so that's just a given... of course not. This is the best car you can buy for 21,000. Only problem is I don't as much time to kick butt on the street with it as I'd like.

General Comments:

This is the fastest car I have ever driven in my entire life. I looked at it and knew I had to have it. They asked if I wanted the much better and faster model the "Trans Am" and naturally I told them no. What did they think I was dumb? The V-6 is awesome with the nitrous I put in with my brother. This car is up to like 500 horsepower now. Can't say enough good things about this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

21st Jul 2001, 14:42

Uh yeah... you have a 300 shot of nitrous on a 3.8V6? Ummmm I call total b.s.

25th Jul 2001, 13:43

The nitrous can't boost the 200HP engine in the V6 to 500HP or even close. Maybe it can give a 350HP boost. But why? The V8 makes a lot more sense if you want real power and if you nitro boost the V8 you'll get it to around 500HP or so.

12th Feb 2005, 22:53

I think the nitrous is going to a driver side face mask.

1999 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 LS1 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 LS1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Z28 Camaro

Summary:

A legend in the true sense of the word

Faults:

Nothing at all has gone wrong with this car. It's the most reliable car my family has ever seen!

General Comments:

The car is fast, reliable, sporty, and reasonably priced. There's nothing on the road that compares.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

1999 Pontiac Firebird Formula WS6 5.7 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance4400 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

This limited production and high performance head turner is without equal in performance vs cost

Faults:

Zero defects.

General Comments:

Dark pewter leather seats.

Performance 3.23 posi rear axle.

Electronic traction control.

5.7 litre EFI 320 rear wheel hp.

Ram air induction.

5 spoke 17" high polished aluminum wheels.

P275/40ZR17 speed rated tires.

Tuned suspension.

Low restriction dual exhaust.

Power steering cooler.

Driver 6-way power seat.

Security (anti-theft) system.

Remote keyless entry.

Removable locking t-tops.

Power windows, locks, & mirrors.

500 watt Monsoon stereo with 10 speakers & graphic equalizer with 12 disk CD changer.

1 of 175 total produced in 1999.

This limited production car provides thrilling torque & acceleration, excellent cornering & stopping, a head turning experience for bystanders, with great comfort for the driver on long trips and excellent highway mileage (27-28 mpg) while the sun & wind gush through an open top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

8th Feb 2001, 16:53

27-28 mpg? 5.7L with that high compression, maybe downhill on idle.

20th Feb 2001, 18:15

I also have a WS6. Although a 97 I can say these cars DO get great mileage. I get 26 with mine with about 330 hp.

2nd May 2001, 09:41

For the person who thinks the gas mileage can't be that great. It's called RAM AIR. And believe it or not, most sports cars now-a-days get good gas mileage. I own a 95 Formula V8 and I get 25 miles per gallon.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews