2002 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 Pontiac Firebird WS6 TA 5.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22169 miles
Most recent distance22999 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

My First and Last Car

Faults:

I wish the skip-shift wouldn't function.

General Comments:

Very fast, very cool.

Great 6-way power seats, 6-speed V8 is a blast.

Awesome handling, easy to smoke those expensive tires if not careful.

Automatic V8 is fine too, just as long as you got one with a V8, if you got the V6--I pity you when a mustangGT pulls up by you at a stop light.

If I'd change anything--I'd lose that damned skip-shift.

This car is too much fun; It's the first car I've ever owned, I used to drive trucks, my V6 dodge dakota doesn't quite turn heads like my black WS6--I cannot ever bring myself to sell it.

Lets face it, not everyone that wants a firebird is going to get one, that's a hard fact of life, especially the 1999+ models. They are going fast.

Get your bird before it's too late.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2004

7th Jun 2004, 10:10

There is no shortage of late model Firebirds on the used car market.

19th Jun 2004, 01:01

A firebird is a litttttle bit different than a Trans Am.

20th Jun 2004, 14:56

Gee, thanks for that tidbit of information.

You must be an automotive writer to have that inside info!

7th Aug 2004, 15:56

I have a 2002 Trans Am Convert with 800 km. on it and just love it to death. I have put 19 inch chrome wheels and rubber on it to start with because I felt the blacks were an understatement. I will save the originals...

What I would like is an easy to follow explanation of how to disable the skip shift. I find it very annoying!!!Thanks.

18th Aug 2004, 07:50

Production total for 2002 was 30,690 for Firebirds of all types.

Nearly half of that figure were WS6 coupes and convertibles. This info is from Pontiac Historical Services.

The only reason you would want to get one now is to find one that hasn't had the hell beaten out of it yet.

7th May 2005, 23:57

Why did Pontiac even make the WS6 with an automatic? You might as well have a Sunfire. Real muscle cars have a stick. It makes me sick when I peak into a Corvette's window and I see an automatic, but I guess women like Corvettes too.

21st Jul 2005, 16:02

Are you saying that women can't or don't know how to drive stick? I've driven stick all my life and wouldn't change for anything.

2nd Jan 2006, 20:41

I finally found a mint cond. 01 WS6 convertible LS1 6 speed with 33K. It was extremely hard to find. Found a few decent automatic WS6 converts, but very hard to find a stick in a convertible. After driving the automatic and then the stick, there is no comparison especially in a convertible. Love the car and it's a real head turner. And yes, the next item is to disable the darn skip shift!!

3rd Jan 2006, 14:23

When you have to fart about with a clutch pedal, it helps to have a convertible.

21st Jan 2007, 14:59

I have a 2002 WS6 TA with an Automatic, I got it cause its not a Saturday old man cruiser mobile. It's a night car or strip car, running a 3800 stall @ a modified 498rwhp, the six speed becomes useless. Consistant track ETs are why they sell Automatic versions of these cars, not all of them are for cocky kids who think they know what a muscle car is.

2002 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 5.7L LS1 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L LS1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles

Summary:

A tiger ready to be unleashed into the wild!!!

Faults:

My biggest problem has been with the front blinkers. They go out all of the time because water keeps getting into the plastic housing.

There has been a ticking from the underside of the engine since about 3000 miles. It is said to be normal though.

Both T-Tops rattle and squeak and have done this for quite a while.

General Comments:

I have driven this car almost everyday since I bought it and it has never disappointed me! It's suspension it second only to that of the Corvette ZO6 with independent rear suspension.

The engine performs flawlessly as long as it is taken care of. This meaning all fluids are changed on time or before they are supposed to be. I have driven mine hard and it has kept up the whole way.

I believe it is the last true muscle car, looks wise. The Ram Air system for the Trans Am is completely functional and allows it to open it's nostrils and breath a little! Something all cars want to do. The body is sleek and very aerodynamic producing lots of down-force at higher speeds.

Pound for pound and dollar for dollar it is the best car you can buy today. I just wish they wouldn't have stopped making them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

28th Jan 2007, 18:01

I too have had to change front blinker bulbs every time it rains. I love my trans am, but Pontiac has let me down big time. In taking care of design problems Pontiac has left a lot to be desired. Other problems have been rocker arms falling apart (which Pontiac knows was a problem, but no recall), catalytic converters (no recall). My last e-mail from Pontiac stated they were concerned about my problems and would get back with me in short order. That was 32 days ago.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews