1993 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 5 of 19

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.3 OHV from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 OHV Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Dynamic, fast, very consistent

Faults:

A couple of years ago, the transmission tended to keep in top gear coming off the highway. need to change the solenoid.

Brakes were replaced last year.

Heating/air ducts need to be cleaned out. Not much air is being pushed through the vents, but it still does its job.

Only 3 small paint chips, 2 on the roof, and one on the trunk

The shocks are starting to show some wear.

General Comments:

The car is amazing. It handles everything we throw at it.

The handling is awesome! suspension is very tight!

The power is very good for a car its size. The engine smoothly revs.

The transmission shifts smoothly, even when flooring it

Seats feel like when we just bought the car. the fabric doesn't even show much wear!

The shocks are making for a stiff ride, but the car is still pretty comfortable. All the controls are always in easy reach.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2004

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3L Quad4 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L Quad4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95500 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

This car has serious potential

Faults:

The door armrest covers are starting to come off of the door panel The check engine light is always on.

General Comments:

For the engine size, it is a really quick car. With a little bit of aftermarket upgrades, this car is extremely fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2004

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice car for the price

Faults:

Just the usual...alternator, shock absorbers, brakes, nothing major.

General Comments:

I do not have any serious problems with this car. It's economic, had enough power for its class and...well work very good for me. I travel in this car anywhere, doesn't consume to much gas. may be you just got bad luck...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Absolutely the best value on the road

Faults:

There was a cooling system failure (coolant leaking into the transmission) which required a warranty replacement of the transmission at 40,000 miles.

At 180,000 miles, problems started to crop up in the steering column electronics, intermittent hi/low beam switch and windshield wiper switch. I repaired myself, and considering the miles, am not complaining.

Air conditioning was never serviced… Ever. Finally quit in the summer of 2003.

General Comments:

This car will not die. It is driven on the freeway daily, at speeds in excess of 80MPH, and it simply keeps going.

At over 190,000 miles, the auto trans is fine (with about 150K miles), power steering, ABS, power windows, and all gauges work like new.

It does not have the pep it had 160,000 miles ago, but still runs very well.

Fuel economy is somewhat below expectations, only about 22MPG (above comment may be effecting this.

The body has no rust whatsoever. Some chips on the hood from freeway rocks are the only problem.

Interior is excellent, fabric has held up well, but I am on my fourth set of floor mats.

I tend to run my cars a bit fast, and this has held up incredibly well. I bought it used in 1994 for about $11,000. I will likely never find that much value in a car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3 liter engine from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter engine Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance58678 miles

Summary:

My Grand Am Se was nice, but not worth $16,000

Faults:

My Pontiac has had many problems. First my bottom motor mount blew, then my top motor mount blew after all of this my head gasket at about 50,000 miles. After that was replaced my engine block went and my 1 of my cyclinders broke now I have a Pontiac that is not good to even run and needs a new engine. It starts and thick white smoke comes out of the muffler it won't stay on unless you give you are pressing down the gas pedal. The whole engine shakes when the car is on. Another thing that bothered me was my alternator kept going bad every 2 years. For some reason my Pontiac wore out the belt very quick within a matter of 5 months. What I don't understand is I took good care of my car had a tune up every 6 months and never ran it dry with no gas and sure enough at about 58,000 miles its unusable.

General Comments:

The good points about this car was it went fast. It was comfortable to sit in. I also liked the fact that it had pretty good handling. The space in the car was OK it wasn't very small and I could fit a total of 4 to 5 people in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th August, 2004

8th Feb 2005, 23:51

My '93 Grand AM has over 155,000 miles on it and it still runs great. I have the same problems with the alternator, but other than that the engine is fine.

1st May 2005, 12:22

I guess I got one of the better 93 SE models head went at 121,000, and its now at 161,000 and still kicking...

19th Feb 2007, 11:15

Wow, $16,000...was it a mod??? That is a lot of dough for that vehicle that is a decade old.

2nd Mar 2009, 16:59

I bought a 93 Grand Am at an auction for 400 (with 150k). I have replaced (within 6 mo. of purchase) the alternator, starter twice, computer, battery, crank position sensor, ignition cylinder, and ignition switch position sensor. I do not 'beat' on this car, has to be a lemon!

3rd Mar 2009, 13:36

"I do not 'beat' on this car, has to be a lemon!"

You are talking about a 16 year old car with 150,000 miles on it, and you bought it for $400? Obviously there was a readily apparent reason it only cost $400. What were you expecting? It is not a lemon, it is just plain worn out.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 68 reviews