1993 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 19 of 19

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2-door 3.3 EMI from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3 EMI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Poor man's sports car

Faults:

Had computer and engine fan problems with the car.

General Comments:

Car is no joke. Very powerful and quick for the money.

Great cruising car, rides smooth.

Has uncommon power on hills and when towing for this class of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3 Quad 4 OHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Quad 4 OHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

An awesome, reliable, fast, car!

Faults:

Brakes were a little loose, all I had to do was get them tightened.

General Comments:

I love this car! It gets up to speed quickly, takes corners good, brakes are nice and responsive, burns rubber when you want it to!

Loud stereo (no static)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2001

22nd Aug 2001, 16:48

Good luck... my 93 Grand Am SE 2.3 liter was running great... until I hit 100 thousand miles...

I replaced all three motor mounts, totalling about $350, new struts, new cat. converter, now the rotors are torn up and need to be replaced.

Who knows what else is in store for me... oh yeah - new bushings and bearings in the front... not to mention, even after replacing all three mounts - the transmission mount, top motor mount and the strut mount, my engine is STILL flopping around under the hood... that I believe is a bad mechanic problem or mis-diagnosis, but I am warning you - be careful... I loved my GA until it hit 100 thousand miles, and then it all went to hell.

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Good outer shell, but then it's rotten to the core!

Faults:

90,000 replaced head gasket.

115,000 had to replace the whole engine.

116,000 had to replace the transmission.

These are the major repairs we won't even get into - the water pump, and the brakes issues.

Right now the car has 140,000 miles on it and it hesitates after you start driving it, have had 15 different mechanics look at it, NO SOLUTION YET!

Car has been nothing but a money pit, thank goodness I finally have it paid off and can pass it off to some poor unknowing car buyer.

Would never recommend any kind of Pontiac to anyone! I believe I will go foreign next time. Every mechanic knows that Pontiac has a head gasket problem on the quad four, but yet nobody goes after them, no recall and everybody complains about this same problem, and yet Pontiac says they are not aware of any kind of a problem on this motor. I guess they are happy making their money off all of the replacement parts they are selling.

Probably the least reliable car I have ever owned!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

25th Apr 2001, 22:43

About the hesitation, get the coil packs looked at.

24th Jul 2001, 09:49

I have a 94 Pontiac Grand Am and it has given me not just a headache BUT FEVERS.

25th Aug 2001, 02:22

Maybe you just got bad luck, I got a 93 SE 2-door and I just hit 193,000.miles... still going strong.

26th Aug 2001, 19:18

120,000 miles on my '93 V6. New water pump, rebuilt radiator (crack), replaced all hoses and radiator fan, also thermostat. Sometimes clicks like a dead battery when starting but only takes one or two tries. Other than the heating problems I believe I've finally gotten ironed out, I love this car and hope it lasts longer. Great car, great ride, great acceleration!

1993 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 3.1L
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Brakes - 4 sets so far, only 85000 miles.

Major a/c failure after 65000 miles.

General Comments:

A comfortable car but too hard on brakes!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 68 reviews