1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP from North America


Great performance, but needs some fine tuning to detail


I've had two major leaks in the front passanger side.

Two major leaks in the trunk.

Stereo replaced 4 times for problems with the CD player and tape deck.

Rear speaker replaced 3 times - making a cracking noise when it rained (probably from water coming into the trunk).

Lost both front headlight covers - they are glued on.

Thin rain guard came off from the front of the car.

Rear bench seat is not set properly, screws are missing on the bottom.

General Comments:

The engine is great.

It runs smooth and sharp.

However the gas pedal is too far to the right, and it's uncomfortable when driving for long distances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2001

25th Oct 2001, 12:27

I would like to know, if it's possible, what was the problem with leaking on the front passenger side in one of the reviews. I have a leak at the front passenger side and nobody can locate it, however when it rains or when I wash my car, water keeps getting in. By the way it's a 1998 Grand Prix GTP. This is the only problem with this car.

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 liter supercharged from North America


Absolutely the best performance bang for the buck available!!!


Windshield needed to be resealed due to a slight leak.

Stereo was replaced when Compact disk player malfunctioned.

General Comments:

Superlative performance. Really a fun car to drive. Extremely responsive engine, the supercharger is a kick.

Handling could be a bit more precise, but really not bad for front-wheel drive.

Traction-control system is very functional in the rain and snow, or even just on loose gravel.

Brakes could be improved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP turbo from North America


Great fun car!


I have salt and road corrosion leaching up through the frame of the car where the seat belts are attached. The salt is all over the seat belts in the back seat. The dealership stated the welds must have separated. Has anyone else had this problem?

Other than this happening, it has been a great car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

5th May 2001, 15:21

Yes, I have had the same problem with salt on the rear seat belts.

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GT from North America


Style, reliability, and relatively inexpensive


Both headlights filled with condensation.

Headlight covers have fallen off. The dealer replaced the first two under warranty, and I have replaced one out-of-warranty.

General Comments:

The car has been relatively trouble free with the exception of the headlight problems, and has provided good, reliable transportation.

I've found the Grand Prix to be a great car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

8th May 2001, 10:58

I am having problems with the head lamp lenses fogging and just recently had one of the lense covers fall off. Where are any of these covers available from? I contacted the dealer, and he stated I needed to purchase an entire new head lamp assembly - for a lot of money.

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 supercharged from North America


This car is hands down the best American bang for the buck!


None, yet!

General Comments:

The reason I am responding is that I read a post by someone who said the car was a poor mans BMW. Well, I just sold my 1997 528i silver with black, I lowered it with an Eibach Pro Kit and put on 18" Fittipaldi wheels and Sumitomo 40 series tires (Sumitomo owns Dunlop!) it was a KILLER looking car.

I can tell you first hand that the GTP is head and shoulders above the BMW in almost every way. When I first got my BMW, it was kinda unique and now there are a swarm of them everywhere you look and they all look the same. I felt like I was traveling around in a school of fish!

The bottom line for the GTP is that is packs a whole lot more bang for the buck, nuff said! Don't get me wrong for all of you Bimmer owners, it is a great car with some great engineering but the GTP is just plain fun to drive. I figure that when I get finished tricking it out, mine will stand out in a crowd and provide the KICK the BMW never had. YES Dad, I have come back down to earth and I am loving every minute of it. What a great car!

If anyone has questions or comments, drop me a line. eric kinziepuppy@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

27th Feb 2003, 19:34

Are you saying you like your Pontiac or not?