2003 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2003 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance3450 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Excellent car for all ages!

Faults:

NOTHING!!! This is the greatest vehicle ever made. I recommend you go and test drive one.

General Comments:

This is an amazing car. Comfortable yet sporty! The widetrack suspension is unbelievable plus traction control helps in the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

14th Mar 2004, 17:12

I think the review is good, but the format of the page needs to be a little more professional and organized!

2003 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.8 litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles

Summary:

Pontiac performance at its best

Faults:

The only things that I have found wrong with the car would be possibly the steering. Steering seems a little loose. Otherwise no problems out of the car. That and it red lines a little too easily.

General Comments:

The car is actually really nice to drive. It handles quite nicely, and its rather precise. The performance is exceptional, quite a step higher than the Oldsmobile Intrigue. control at high speeds is also very nicely done as well. Of course performance modifications are to be in the future, that is when I'm done with the Trans am.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2004

2003 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance2600 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Service and satisfaction do not seem to rank high on GM's list.

Faults:

The driver's seat, leather and 6-way adjustable, is mounted too high and my head touches the roof, but GM accepts no responsibility to date.

There is a funny noise in the steering just as you start driving (like rubbing, but not rubbing).

General Comments:

The engine performance of the car is very good.

The handling isn't bad either although it is a bit soft for a "sports sedan".

The interior is quite nice except for the grey, cheap looking plastic on the console, dash, door handles, and window/lock controls.

The driver's seat is not designed properly from an ergonomic point of view. In order for my head not to touch the roof, the seat must be adjusted down towards the back, and the backrest tilted forward. Makes me feel like I'm folded in half, and my back is killing me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2003

1st Feb 2004, 15:00

If you don't like the seat then why did you buy the car?

5th Jul 2004, 06:42

I have the same car. To improve the handling (too soft) consider performance springs. Cost is about $350 CDN for the springs $250 labor and $175 for the alignment. I love this car now, it is fun to drive and performs like it is on rails. This way there is no need to replace the struts, or put on bigger tires and rims. It is the best bang for your buck.

I am only 5'11 and I agree about the driver's seat lack of comfort.

2003 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Costly to maintain but comfortable and fast

Faults:

I have had to replace the brakes 4 times, they seem to have constant problems and that is why I am selling the car. The computer went out causing my car to stop in the middle of the road and was very expensive to fix. The passenger window came off the tracks.

General Comments:

This is a fast comfortable car. Very expensive to maintain. The brakes seemed to not be so great. Other reports I've read on-line say the same thing. The ABS light is on all the time even though I just replaced the braking system seems to be a short somewhere because when I go trough water it comes on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

20th Feb 2004, 11:09

I've actually never heard of any brake problems on an 03. Are you using O.E. pads? This is a must; the pads have been updated numerous times by GM, and are usually improved compared to what your car came with. 33,000 on mine, the pads haven't worn at all.

9th Jul 2006, 22:36

As I commented on one of the other reviews, it blows my mind to read of people having to replace brake pads before 60,000 or 70,000 miles at the very earliest. I've owned a lot of cars (I'm 58) and I have NEVER replaced the brake pads on any of them before 80,000 miles. One of my cars went 240,000 miles with just two brake jobs during that time. I just checked the pad wear on my 2001 Grand Am at 51,000 miles and they have at least half of the pad material left. I don't anticipate having to replace them before at least 90,000 miles, probably 100,000. I honestly think shops and dealer service departments are telling people they need new pads when they don't in order to bilk them out of more money. The only way I could even imagine wearing even a cheap "soft" set of pads out in 20,000 miles would be driving at all times with your foot on the brakes.

24th Feb 2008, 17:07

Yes, I second that opinion.

Seems as though a lot of people can't get the foot off the flipping brake pedal, doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that one out! Maybe that is why so many people have burnt out brake lamps and poor gas mileage. Uhhhh...yeah.

2003 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 kilometres
Most recent distance5700 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Performance, not comfort

Faults:

Sunroof Module had to be re-aligned at delivery.

Center console had to be adjusted after 1000 km. Problem was never corrected. Dealer stated that this was a "fit and finish" problem and was due to the materials used (i.e. cheap plastic).

General Comments:

Great Performance, well worth the price.

Strong acceleration from a stand still.

HUD is very cool.

Great exterior styling.

Cheap interior quality, much of the plastic creaks or makes noises. Centre console is made of cheap materials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2003

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews