2007 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix 3.8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance102400 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Nothing, I'm still on the original brakes!!

General Comments:

This has been a fantastic car. Leather, heated seats, I love the remote start! Comfortable, plenty of room, plenty of power, I average 22-25 MPG overall.

My only complaint is when I go in reverse and put it in drive before it stops, there's a hard clunk in the transmission, especially if I'm giving it gas already. So, I try not to do that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2011

17th Apr 2011, 11:10

You are not supposed to change gears while the car is still moving, this can damage your transmission.

19th Apr 2011, 00:35

Yeah, I know that, but I'm barely moving. I have done it along with countless other people in every car I have ever owned, even my new Focus, and that has never happened in any of them!!! I'll bet you've done it a time or two!!!

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix GXP 5.3 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance15456 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Zoom zoom zoom

Faults:

Transmission, radio lights.

Leather had to be replaced as it started to peel.

All 4 wheels had to be replaced - clear coat was coming off.

Battery.

I'm on my 5th keyless remote.

Rear wheel bearing, driver's airbag, A/C quit working, tires at 13k miles.

General Comments:

Love the car, tired of the problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2009

28th May 2009, 07:12

I used to sell Pontiacs (along with many other makes) starting in the 1980's until just a few years ago. I'm amazed at all of the problems that you have had with your car in such a short time. Has the quality slipped that badly that leather is wearing out in 15,000 miles? If so, it's no wonder carmakers are having such difficulty, now.

It's such a shame.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix Sedan 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired96 kilometres
Most recent distance25700 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

A nice sporty midsize car

Faults:

Nothing - it has been very reliable. All I have had to do is scheduled maintenance.

General Comments:

I leased this car in the Summer of 07 and have been very happy with it. It is comfortable, fun to drive and has excellent performance.

I also like how it is well equipped, especially for the price I got it for - A/C, power everything, OnStar, Remote Starter, Driver Info Center with Tire Pressure Monitor, Steering Wheel Audio Controls, nice throaty dual exhaust etc.

It's also very versatile - when we moved I was able to haul so many boxes with it I couldn't believe how much I could fit in this car! If you have the fold flat passenger seat, you can fit a 9ft kayak in it.

I don't really have any complaints about the car - it's sporty, fun to drive, reasonably priced and has been very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2009

10th Apr 2009, 07:32

Why the negative Icon? This guy likes his car!

9th Feb 2010, 20:42

We bought an '07 GP that was a rental return with 25K miles. The factory tires are 50% and making noise and wearing a bit uneven. We have had no problems and it has 38K miles.

We also have an '98 GP GT and installed Michelin X's on it at 60K miles, and those run quiet and bite the road through Minnesota snow. The Michelins also seem to cause the car to run more stable and hug the road.

Question: Does anyone have experience with the 2004-2008 GP with Michelins? What model of Michelins do you use? How is your gas mileage with the Michelins?

Our 2007 gets over 30 MPG in summer and winter gets around 28 on the highway. City driving less than 20.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix GXP 5.3 V8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.3 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

Transmission at 6000.

Leather seats started to peel at 6500.

Radio lights went out at 3000.

Keyless entry remotes at 5000.

Oil pan started to leak at 8500.

Rear brakes at 4000 (defect).

General Comments:

Love the car, but any more problems and I think I'm going to trade it off.

It's very fast, and even though it's a V8, I get 30 mph on the highway and 24 in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2008

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L Supercharged V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Supercharged V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27994 miles
Most recent distance28303 miles

Summary:

Pretty much the greatest car of all time

Faults:

No problems yet.

General Comments:

Wonderful car; most well rounded, excellent car. The GT package is a must with heated leather seats, Monsoon sound system, sunroof, and sport wheels.

The rack and pinion steering responds exceptionally well, the 260 hp makes the wheels squeel when you get on it. The ride is so smooth that it's comparable to a Cadillac, and the seats are all very comfortable. I love it's aggressive looks and quad tailpipes. I have mine in white with the tan leather.

There is seriously nothing bad to say about this car. The only thing is fuel economy, which isn't bad, but the supercharger does take a little more fuel. And bad reviews about this car must be ignored, do not judge it until you test drive one.

Wouldn't trade my Grand Prix for any car in the world, no lie.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2008

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix Grand prix 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Good looking, overall awful!

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

This full-size vehicle seems to be designed for 170cm- people!

This demo car is purchased by the company. The first day I saw it I felt in love with it's stylish design. Hey man, but from the first second you sit in the car you hope for getting out! Awful handling, and comfort is just a joke! My head, my shoulders and knees all are touching everywhere; it's also impossible to have 3 adult in rear seat. Hey, GM designers: what miracle you've done with all those space?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2008

7th Apr 2008, 20:28

My grandparents have a 2004 Grand Prix and I agree that it is very cramped in both the front and rear. They miss all of the space in their Bonneville. The new G8 is even smaller on the outside, this does not bode well for the interior. I think I've convinced them that their next car should be a Buick.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews