7th Jul 2004, 18:49

I bought my SE with 7 miles on it and also had a ticking noise from day 1. The dealership said it was the exhaust system. I also have had the transmission replaced at 60,000 miles and it still shudders. I know have 62,000 miles and fortunately I purchased the extended warranty that lasts for 75,000 miles. Overall, I have loved this car. It has great get up and go (or used to!) and outside of the ticking and transmission I have done nothing else except oil changes and brakes! I don't plan on keeping it past the 75,000 because I don't want to pay for anymore transmissions.

24th Aug 2004, 21:48

To the last comment, Chryslers have more transmission problems than all other makes combined!

For the original comment, the problem in your transmission is only a $15 switch that is failing; it happens all the time on the older GM FWD automatics. The shop is just prefering to rebuild or replace the rest of it as long as it's apart. The entire transmission isn't failing at all. The first failure of this switch is usually anywhere from 35-50,000 miles.

19th Feb 2005, 17:43

I have a 2001 Grand Prix GT that sometimes shifts rough. I've taken it to my mechanic and he serviced the transmission (new filter and fluid flush). He said there were no signs of any transmission problems and since it only happens randomly after the car has warmed up, says it's nothing to worry about. I prefer to have smooth shifting at all times and wonder if anyone has had a similar problem and how it was repaired.

I love the way the car handles and otherwise it has been good to me... Great website!

26th Mar 2005, 20:27

Hmmmmm, a ticking noise

Well I'm not fancy southern lawyer, but when you shut off a car aluminum tends to make a nice ticking noise when it cools down.


By the way a car of similar cost the Concorde has been known to slip out of park when on a hill, he a bad shift is the problem consider yourself lucky you don't drive a Chrysler.

9th Apr 2005, 00:46

I would always worry about the gm 3.1. not that it's a bad engine, but the simple fact is why would you buy it when for a few grand more you can get a 3.8 which is buy the way as old as dirt and also as reliable. We're talking honda reliability in an american car which also means it won't sound or drive like a blender. Not to mention the fact that this engine has more low end torque than a 300m with a 3.5 H.O. That things 255 horsepower! I'll take gm any day.

22nd Jun 2005, 11:23

I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT with about 54,000 miles. I haven't had too many problems. The CD player stopped reading cd's and the driver window motor broke. Both of those things happened while still under warranty. Since the warranty is up, my low coolant light has decided to stay lit up, the rear driver side window motor broke and now I'm having transmission problems. This is my biggest concern.

4th Feb 2006, 20:57

I have a 2001 SE and Have not had any problems and I have 110,000.thousand miles. It still runs like it did with 11 miles. One of the best cars I have owned. The ONLY problem is my passengers side rear window motor just went. I need to call the shop!

9th Jul 2006, 22:57

If you had documentation that you complained about the ticking noise BEFORE the warranty expired, GM is obligated by law to repair or replace your engine. That is the law.

My brother had PRECISELY this same problem with his Pontiac and was smart enough to keep written documentation of his visits to the dealership about the complaint. Sure enough, after the warranty had expired he was told he needed a new engine. He presented the written documentation and GM installed a brand new factory engine at no charge. ALWAYS keep written documentation of ANY complaints that occur before the warranty expires. I've also done this with a couple of my cars, and saved myself some hefty repair bills. If the service department doesn't give you written documentation when you take the car in for the complaint, DEMAND it. By law they HAVE to provide you with it, and it WILL save you a lot of headaches later on.

28th Aug 2006, 07:33

My grand Prix has 106,000+ miles and still hasn't had a messed up transmission. So... I really like the car.

21st Jan 2007, 09:23

I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT, and I am having problems with the tranny. It had 81 thousand km on it when I purchased it. After a while, I noticed a whine in the tranny. Then it started to slip only when the car was hot in stop and go traffic. I called GM, and they said that I would have to bring it in. I also asked GM if they had any other complaints; they said no. But after hearing all the problems other people have had, I didn't believe them. I hope that enough people phone GM so that they will finally call for a recall.

18th Feb 2007, 20:12

I have a 2000 Grand AM SE. It has been bad since day one! Finally after countless trips to the repair shop to fix ABS/wheel speed sensors, fuel pumps, motor switches for the windows, gaskets that leak coolant and blinkers that malfunction, the transmission is finally going! It's almost a blessing. I have put up with this car for 150,000 miles (almost all easy highway miles). I wanted to drive this car to 200k miles or more, but it's not worth trying. My coworker has a 1999 Grand Am and has had many of the same issues. Toyota here I come!

23rd Feb 2007, 00:12

Does anyone here have any information about class-action suit against GM?

Take a look at this article, and join the class-action suit against GM if you can.

Link: http://www.canada.com/saskatoonstarphoenix/news/story.html?id=0330d074-e51e-4f7e-adaf-003d612d86c9

I truly believe all those problems with the Grand Prix (particularly transmission and engine) are not problems of normal wear and tear damage.

Come on, you all can read here and see all the similarities of all those problems.

Don't give me that crap saying that we did not take good care and properly maintenance of the car, because that is rubbish.

I have changed oil and done all the maintenance required, and regardless have had the same freaking problems.

This is just ridiculous and unacceptable.

And I'm urging all of you guys to join a class-action suit against GM, because we have to fight for our rights and hard earned money.

GM should not get away with that.

GM is negligent in allowing all those defective vehicles to be manufactured, distributed, marketed, sold and leased.

GM unjustly enriched at the expense of the (plaintiffs). It would be inequitable for the defendants to retain the profits and benefits obtained from its wrongful conduct.

So again I urge you people to take action, please let's do it, because I'm disgusted at all this crap from GM.


30th Aug 2007, 09:22

To add my two cents, the transmission on my 2001 GTP went out at 43,000 miles. Complained to the zone and they "generously" picked up over half of the $2800 repair bill. Cost me $1250. Still, I was not a happy person. Every time I spoke to someone, they said I should have bought the extended warranty. Why should I have to spend an additional $1000 upon purchase to be protected financially from the poor quality of GM components? I love the looks, ride, handling, etc. of the car (it's my 2nd GTP), but I'm not so sure my next vehicle will be another Pontiac (or even GM). And I've been a loyal GM buyer for over 30 years. The Nissan Infiniti looks mighty nice.